We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is indeed a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bergs to your Saves list
Hotel Bergs
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 / 85 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Ticino
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“This hotel is indeed a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Well, I definitively share the opinions stated by other recent reviewers: in essence this is a wonderful, modern and stylish structure located inside a very quiet courtyard within the Bergs Bazaar complex (the complex has its roots going back as early as 1900 when it was hosting as much as 130 among shops and restaurants). The facts: we booked a "normal" room for 3 nights, checking-in on march 17th, 2012. Well, we were lodged in a superb, comfortable, quiet, large apartment on the 1st floor, facing the courtyard, with lots of space for clothes and luggages. The room was U-shaped (which offered optimal privacy), featuring a living and a kitchen corner. Essential but nevertheless luxurious black-white tones, dark wood floor and really top quality furnitures completed the picture.
On the arrival day we had the opportunity to enjoy a three course a-la-carte dinner at the Bergs Restaurant, hosted by Kaspar Jansons, one of the best Latvian chefs. Well, food quality was exceptional, the price absolutely reasonable, service excellent and the atmosphere intimate and romantic!
Great place, great stay, wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    44
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
67
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I do not have a single negative thing to say about this hotel, not one. I stayed at Hotel Bergs in July 2011 for 2 nights. The location is superb, convenient, close to everything (short walk from 2 to 15 minutes to anywhere you'll want to visit). The hotel is inside a large courtyard and is therefore extremely quiet. The staff is helpful, courteous, smiley, positive, and because they're Latvian: BEAUTIFUL. When walking around the hotel grounds, you'll realize that everything can become a photo opportunity, as the entire space, from the reception to the rooms, has been designed with a great attention to detail. The hotel breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant in the courtyard offers some of the best wine in the Baltics. As for the room, it was extremely modern, quiet, spacious (TONS of storage space). The bed linen was soft, making me want to sleep in every morning. Finally, the gym and sauna were clean and very lit with large windows.

Whether you're traveling for leisure or business, this hotel is definitely where you should stop. If you're on vacation, ask the hotel for large towels and head over to the beach (train station is nearby, takes 20-30 minutes maximum). Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I loved the Hotel Bergs - beautiful boutique hotel, excellent service, great location. Sadly when I was in Riga it rained 3 of the 4 days, but luckily there were several great dining options nearby.

I booked on Orbitz - got a better rate than booking direct!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I spent four nights in this small beautiful hotel during the New Year's Eve. Everything was excellent. The room (538) was extremely comfortable and huge enough to host my wife, my 9 yrs'old boy and I. It was a large studio suite (45 sq. mt.), with all the comfs: TV, DVD Player, sofa, Kitchenette, coffee/Tea maker, PC desk, safety box (big enough to host the iPad), one king bed + extra bed for my child. The bathroom was also perfect. The atmosphere was very warm! Every day, fresh complimentary fruit was added. We also had our breakfast in the restaurant: the people was friendly and kind. Everything was present at the buffet; there was also a menu where you could choose among hot dishes i.e. scrambled eggs, bacon, omelets etc. and different fruit juices.
There is also a small, but equipped fitness center (sauna included).
The staff was perfect: they also arranged us for the new year's eve dinner in a local restaurant.
The hotel is located inside the Berg Bazaar, where you can find several restaurants and shops. It's also 7-10 minutes walking from the old town, 20 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes walking from the railway station. Nearby, shopping Malls and restaurants.
It's a perfect location for a journey to this nice town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Bergs for 3 nights in December just before Christmas. Arrival was seamless with a member of staff meeting our cab with an umbrella and offering assistance in the rain. Check-in was equally as smooth and we where shown up to our room on the 4th floor.

The room itself was beautifully appointed with stunning wooden flooring, large windows which can be fully opened (which I appreciate) and excellent quality bedding. It was wonderful to have a small kitchen area and I appreciated the good quality Bodum tea, coffee and cocoa. Throughout the room, masses of storage are available which is somewhat of a rarity. My favourite touch had to be Pillow Menu, alongside the DVD list, superb!

My only disappointments where with the bathroom; the positioning of the shower made it difficult to get under. The other issue being the seal along the bottom of the shower glass which required changing. The heated floor however is a great touch, especially in winter!

The hotel has free wifi throughout although I struggled to connect using my phone; I suspect, had I had my laptop with me I would have had no problems. Other facilities include a gym with sauna which was great to relax in. The library by the lobby is very elegant along with the computer room. We did not try the dining options although they did look excellent.

Our only issue during our stay was being charged for the use of the audio tours without being advised however this was removed upon check-out which was appreciated.

All staff throughout where warm, genuine and helpful and made good recommendations on dining and sightseeing.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Bergs as likely one of the best options in Riga, especially if your looking for a modern, elegant, boutique property with high standards.

Room Tip: Higher floors enjoy the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This boutique hotel is very nice. The location is perfect, ten minutes to the historical center by foot. Hotel is very clean, beautiful and lovely. Staff are always ready to help you. In front of hotel you can find beer restorant and very nice wine bar with good wine for a good price. Really recommend this hotel for pairs or family visit you will have a nice time..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Absolutely brilliant weekend at Hotel Bergs.

The hotel is just as luxurious and comfortable as all the reviewers say. The staff is friendly and service minded. The decor is stylish. Even the smallest suite was spacious, luxurious and comfrotable. Big bedroom section (with a huge bed!), bathroom with everything you need, LOTS of closet space, living room. Loved it!

The restaurant deserves its own rave review. Stylish decor, good menu, excellent food, good wine and great prices. Overall a very good experience. We would have preferred the tasting menu, but it was not available on the day we were there. The a la carte menu was still very good though.

Location of the hotel is also brilliant, it is in the new city, but just a short walk to the old city and also to the train station.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: 83 / 85 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
#5 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.