We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be afraid to go to the other side of the tracks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Market (Centraltirgus)

Central Market (Centraltirgus)
7 Negu iela,, Riga 1050, Latvia
371 7229985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 171 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid to go to the other side of the tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

While the central market is "on the other side of the tracks" don't be afraid to go there. This was my first time back to the market in 20 years and not much has changed in those 20 years. I think the only real additions is that they've cleaned it up a bit and also the fact that they have put in grocery stores in the market. My memory may be foggy about that. The market is an interesting place to find a little bit of everything. Food is actually inside and outside of the hangers, but they also offer non food items outside the hangers. The central market is also a great place to people watch and no one has ever been rude in the market during my visits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    119
    34
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food, food & more food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went to the market a couple days ago. The food is in five sheds, or old zeppelin (air-ship) hangers, and the clothing, etc is outside. I believe it may be the biggest market, by area, in Europe. Its only about 10minutes walk from the Old Town so very easy to get to.

I was blown away. We went into the shed with meats first, and as an Aussie, all I wanted to do was buy heaps and crank up a BBQ! But as I'm traveling all I could do was look. The pork is everywhere and at a very good price. They don't have chops of meat in the market, they have slabs of meat. The pork cuts are about 2inches thick!!! And fresh, so fresh!!!

The other buildings house fruit, veg, fish & pastries, etc.

Virtually none of the stall holders speak any English, but that didn't stop us buying some fruit and some pirags, to eat while walking around.

If your a "Westerner" it is a must to do for the experience and the smells... Do it...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“See How the Locals Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The market is not far from old town and was very interesting to see. Basically, anything that you want or need you will find there. The fish and meat sections were what I found the most interesting. It is fun to walk around and watch the local people shop or maybe do some shopping of your own. We ended up buying a couple of pairs of slippers for ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
402 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Worth to have a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice market, so if you have the time, have a look to the local products, stands and people. However, it's not extremely special, just a market with many products mainly for local people to eat and for everydays life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Wander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Only a few minutes walk from the Old Town, this is well worth a visit to take in some real local atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market (Centraltirgus) also viewed

 

Been to Central Market (Centraltirgus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Market (Centraltirgus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.