We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Update Riga Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel TIA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel TIA to your Saves list
Hotel TIA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K.Valdemara Str. 63, Riga 1010, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicely Update Riga Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Tiaaa is clean and updated loding option close to the old city and art nouveau district of Riga. The cafe/restaurant is busy and utilized by locals - which makes getting a meal there a bit hectic.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
40
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lempaala, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights here at TIA. Our room was ok and quite clean, but beds were hard and breakfast was poor, a disappointment to us even we didn't expect 5-star meal. The walls was like paper, we heard conversations from next room too well. Free wifi didn't work in our room at the second floor but in the lobby that worked well. The customer service wasn't very good, but it wasn't good any other place in Riga.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
582 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,430 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are lovely and very helpful, but sadly the hotel is more like a hostel. Rooms are small and basic, beds are tiny, too soft and the walls are so thin you can hear a conversation in the next room.
On a positive the rooms are clean, but bedding not changed until after 3 days, the water hot and pressure good. The heated towel rail bith positive and negative ... great for laundry, but you can burn yourself sat on toilet and makes the room, which is already hot with no a/c or fan even hotter.
It is noisy, rooms at the front suffer road noise and the back get the courtyard locals and football stadium.
Its about 20 mins to Riga old town, 10 to Art Nouveau district, 5 mins to huge supermarket and a couple of good restaurants close to St Gertrudes church about 7 mins away.
Look like an office block, no facade so you could miss it.
Breakfast is okay, basic but filling.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not in the best part of Riga, but it is not far to the old centre. Do not take the number 3 bus to here (despite what the tourist information centre says) as it does not pass the hotel but the number 3 trolleybus stops outside. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but had a communist 1960's feel to it. The room was was OK and had all the basic amenities. Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and there was a good choice of food served in a safe manner. Staff were helpful. The fire escape doors are attached to an alarm and so are not an alternative to the the old lifts. You need to enter the hotel up quite a few steps - no ramp. The name of the hotel is not obvious from the street especially coming up from the town. It shares the site with some apartments- APDROSINASINA whose signs are more prominent.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We stayed at TIA for three nights. The hotel is a averagre 3-star hotel, nothing more nothing less, with all the fasilities you'll need for a short trip. The hotel personal var nice and helpful when we asked about things, but they do not greet you when you walk by etc. It didn't bother me though.

Our room was a standard double-room, and it was actually larger then we thought it would be, so we were posititvely surpries! The bathroom was OK, but a little tired and had som dirty marks in the shower. Maybe rust or something. The only thing that bothered us was the bed, it was so hard!! Not comfortable at all! But we are students, and it was cheap, so it was what it was. The room were facing the street and it was kinda noisy. As we live in the city it didn't bother us much, but for other peple it might, so bring earplugs! We had the breakfeastbuffet, which was OK. The diningroom had newly been renovated, so that was a nice surprise!

The hotel is located about 20 minutes (walk) outside the Old-town. It was easy to get around, and you get to walk by some amazing and beatitful parks!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

staying for three nights on business. traveled from UK, arrived, everything was ok at the arrival. got to the room, twin room the size of a box. didn't choose a twin room. went down and asked about it, the receptionist said all the rooms are like that. i asked to upgrade for a fee, she told me i couldn't? i thought fine, ill leave it. went to get dinner. ordered salad with chicken, girl comes back says , would you not rather have it with beacon, we can't find the chicken. the girl in the restaurant was actually nice to me. i told her about my room being not what i paid for, and that i was told i couldn't upgrade, she then asked the receptions when she went through, came back and says yes there are many more bigger rooms you can have. my dinner was nice. i went up to the room to talk to my partner on face time, no wifi. i went down stairs and questioned it. the receptionist was blunt and rude and spoke to me like rubbish, saying yes the wifi is down and basically piss off. i wasn't letting it go, it is bad enough i didn't get the room i paid for, now i'm not getting the service that is advertised in the hotels website! i tried to explain to her that i wouldn't have booked this hotel if it didn't have wifi. i then asked if shes gonna get it sorted or she wants me to book another hotel, she then went to the cupboard and got on the phone to someone, going on and on for ages, i waited. she then comes back with "master comes in an hour to fix it" fine (to add to that i also asked about her telling the girl from the restaurant that they did have bigger rooms, she looked at me and said she was lying). i waited and hour and right enough it did get fixed. next day i went and asked if i can upgrade as there was a different receptionist on, its obvious that you can u[grade to another room,. the girl told me to come back at two and see. couple of hours later i had upgraded to a different room, bigger, had to pay obviously ( even know my booking was messed up by them ). it was dinner time again, so i got myself ready and went down. asked the receptions if it was alright to go get some dinner, to which i got "the restaurant is closed" i questioned it and explained that i had dinner here last nigh, also was pretty sure on their website it says in black and white that its opened till 10 o'clock. she was rude, spoke to me like i was stupid and just kept saying "close four o'clock, always four o'clock". i thought fine ill go to the shop and get some food. when i came back i double checked what it said on the website, but it still said the same, 10 o'clock. i got angry, went downstairs and asked her what makes her think i am stupid, and why is she being rude to me when in fact i only expected what i read on their website, nothing more. in the end after telling her everything that's gone wrong i didn't even get and apology. so the manager is coming tomorrow morning and apparently were getting to "chat". ill be ready! maybe i could bribe him with a couple of zeros to get the girls fired!! honestly nothing will surprise me. if anybody was this awfull at their job or at public service they wouldn't have a job! seriously this place is full of fruit loops! not the good kind either. i chose this hotel because of the good reviews, but you never know, maybe they buy them

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice11, Manager at Hotel TIA, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear Inna,

Thank you for posting feedback about your stay at the TIA Hotel.
It is very important for us to hear all our guests opinions to improve our hotel services.
Thank you for hotel reception staff evaluating. It is also important to know hotel guests opinion about our staff. Please accept our apology for definite receptionists attitude. The necessary actions will be made to improve their work.
Regarding the room size, you had a standard room reservation TWIN or DBL. As hotel receptionist had mentioned, all standard rooms are the same size. There are number of rooms, like Suite category in the hotel ,but when You arrived all these rooms, unfortunately ,were occupied. The waitress from the restaurant can not provide any valid information about hotel rooms.
We have a new restaurant and we are in the process of some changes. It concerns menu and working hours. We really apologize for these inconveniences.
As well we apologize for the problem with WIFI. We are planning to renovate our WIFI system in the near future to no longer arise such situations.
Thank you for choosing TIA HOTEL during your staying in Riga! Every our guest is value for us and we are trying to do our best to provide good service.

Sincerely yours, Diana Nekrasova,Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Cozy hotel only 20 minutes on from central station, simple but functional rooms, good and tasty with quite wide choice of food for breakfast, price was worth the staying.Only minus, we booked double bed room while they gave us a twin room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.3 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#50 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#40 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#49 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Teater
City Hotel Teater
#32 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#65 of 103 in Riga
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TIA

Address: K.Valdemara Str. 63, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TIA 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel TIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel TIA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.