We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold rooms!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Square Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalku Street 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Linz, Österreich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cold rooms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed there for one night in january! It was so cold in the room during the night and so I changed the room, which was very easy!
But the new room was from the heating not better the room before. Ok it was winter and outside temperature was - 20 °C, but even in Russian hotels (3*) the room heating is better, then in this 5* Hotel! The whole hotel was not heated enough! Service was very friendly! Next time I will stay some where else in Riga!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
55
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have just returned from the Royal Square Hotel, which is in a very central location, close to museums, beautiful buildings, reastaurants and cafes. The hotel was very clean, and the executive rooms are a good size. Only slight criticism - the choice of cream coloured carpets in the bedrooms.... reason being that with the best will in the world, if you are there in winter it is difficult to get all the snow and ice off the bottom of your walking boots, and if you aren't quick enough in removing them, the melted slush does leave marks on the carpet. You can book the jacussi and sauna for an hour, which we did, and I was surprised to find that the facilities are in a very nicely appointed private area on the fifth floor, again beautifully clean and certainly a good idea if you have been out in the cold for most of the day. We had a meal in the hotel's restaurant which was ok but the food could have been hotter. Breakfast was a little disappointing - a choice of only two cereals and the hot food was all placed in one metal container, and every day we had warm fried eggs, scrambled eggs, frankfurters and quite greasy, fatty bacon, plus the usual bread/toast etc. The alternatives to the hot food were various types of smoked fish, salads etc - would have been lovely for lunch! However this was not as bad as it could have been as it meant one had room for a coffee and cake later on in the day.

Riga is beautiful and the seaside resort of Jurmala - about 20 mins drive away is spectacular. We were lucky enough to find the sea frozen, and this was a sight that has to be seen to be believed. There are several museums and all are worth a visit.

I have no hesitation on recommending either the hotel or Riga itself.

Room Tip: Our friends had a corner executive room with a door that opened onto a 'balcony' - ours didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Nice hotel in a good location(Old town)
Has nice big glass windows in the lobby facing to cute tiny street, makes it nice to have a cup of coffee and watch the street.
Design of the hotel is done very tastefully. We were there during Christmas and I liked decorations and a little candle burning 24 hour in the reception desk.
It is more like a boutique hotel. It has personality.
Breakfast is poor…sitting area is small food is poor.
Rooms are clean and service is good
Great value for the money

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Excellent location and excellent customer service! Rooms are clean and modern, free wi-fi, good transfer service to and from the airport. Also worth to mention the sauna and jacuzzi, also included in the price. We have been there twice, and will be back again. Best choice in Riga.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Pos:
This small almost family Hotel has VERY central location, each historic sign is in max 5 min of slow walk.
In general service was very good.
Each request was served immediately, all stuff was very friendly and helpful.
Neg:
One day room cleaning personal forgot to tightly close door from our room and it was partially opened whole day, nothing was missed but this left unpleasant feeling.
We ordered new year dinner and paid for it in front desk. After finishing our dinner we were about to leave, but one of the waiters ( probably manager) hold us couple minutes with request to pay for dinner - there was no sync between front desk and restaurant.
But in general I WILL recommend this hotel for staying.
It was 5 lovely days we Riga during New Year celebration time and hotel took central part to make our vacation marvelous.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A nice new hotel in the heart of the Old Town of Riga. Excellent service, tasty food. We arrived to the hotel after 23.00 o'clock and were rather hungry, the personnel cooked for us at 03.00 AM. Food was tasty and fresh. We really recommend this hotel. Though standard rooms are quite small but we should admit that they are clean. You will have towels, 2 bath robes, shower gels, shampoo and slippers in the room.
A nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a total of four nights with a break in between so, two nights and then two nights again! The first two nights I was upgraded to a suite with two bathrooms (one with a sauna) and a separate bedroom. In a corner room I had windows surrounding me which bought in lovely natural light during the day, and opening up the doors at night bought the buzz of the great night life into the room. This was all fantastic, until it was time to sleep. Luckily, I am a fan of earplugs so I always travel with them. These are totally necessary in this hotel. I don't think I would have slept a wink if I did not have these earplugs. Its a bit of a let down for a hotel that has everything else going for it. Great staff, food, location, decor. So if you're like me and don't mind sleeping with earplugs, you wont have a problem. I did stay in summer, the busiest time, so busy streets were to be expected. I had room service three times and it was always amazing food and great value for money. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was a drama, even bringing me breakfast at 6am so I could check out early! The second room I stayed in was a standard room, another corner room so I was lucky enough to again have the atmosphere of the streets of Riga flood my room. The live music was a joy to listen to as I sat in the sun and read a book. This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I found the atmosphere of being at the Royal Hotel fabulous. Its not where you would go for a relaxing get away, but definitely the place to go to soak in all that Riga has to offer.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher the floor the lesser the noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalku Street 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#26 Family Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel And Suites
Royal Square Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Square Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.