We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gutenbergs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gutenbergs Hotel to your Saves list
Gutenbergs Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doma laukums 1, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here the night after our wedding because we had to get to airport next day to go to our honeymoon. We only spent few hours there but still was nice.
Everything was excellent. We were in the old wing of the hotel which is more charming and 19th century-ish.The floor was really crooked but it has to do with the building being old and actually it gave more charm and was funny. Might be a problem for people with mobility problems.

Breakfast buffet was quality and plentiful.

Room Tip: Old wing is nicer - the rooms are bigger, more old-ish with more medieval charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    70
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
21
70
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights and I just don't understand the previous reviews or the hotels high rating. It is located in Old Town but Riga is small so you don't have to stay in Old Town. I would say this is an average hotel but has issues.

My first room was a twin room. It was relatively large but so packed with furniture that moving around the beds was difficult. There was a tiny window but no air conditioner. As it was over 25 degrees and only May, the room was hot. Can't imagine mid summer. I asked reception for a fan but they don't have them and they told me to open the window. Gee, why didn't I think of that? I then asked for a room with air conditioning since they do have it. I got moved upstairs. The room is very spacious. The a/c wasn't strong and leaked. I put a glass underneath it but had to empty the glass every 30 min. If I didn't, the cup overflowed and the carpet in the bedroom and hall were soaked. I ended up turning it off and suffering with the just the window, luckily the weather cooled off. I mentioned the issue to the maid but she didnt seem concerned. One note: Old Town is loud in the evening when the bars close so an open window means you need earplugs to sleep - some hotels in Old Town offer them to all guests. Also the walls are thin and I could here my neighbour walking around his room. I could also here him in the bathroom and having sex. Again, earplugs needed. The bathroom was very spacious but could use some shelving. The shower was odd. There was mould. Also, the attachment of the shower to the wall didn't work. The attachment piece was for a different size shower head. Thus I rigged it while using but it kept falling and I had bruises. Breakfast was adequate. I have seen better selection in lower star hotels. But get there early. If you are after 8.30, it is slim pickings and no tables. Overall, when I am back in 2 weeks I am staying elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hotel is situated in a very good location, just in old Riga. The hotel stuff are polite and helpful. The breakfast was tasty.The hotel is cozy and charming. The front desk stuff was very helpful and with good sense of humor.
Most of historical places are very close. Many pubs and restaurants are just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are touring the historic center in Riga, you could not ask for a better location. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the front desk is helpful. If you are looking for a modern 4-star hotel this property is not for you, but we really enjoyed our stay. It has old world charm and everything is in walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were delighted with the hotel (chosen for us as part of a package with Baltic Holidays). The room was spacious and the receptionist very helpful when we asked to move rooms initially based on Trip Advisor reviews about the noise from the bar opposite. She seemed surprised, and there actually seemed very little noise from the bar during our stay, so maybe it is more in the summer that it is a problem. But the room we had (208) was spacious and very comfortable, including heated floor in the bathroom and a bath (which 104 didn't have). The staff were all very helpful about booking restaurants and helping with directions, and location wise it is hard to think of a better place to be so close to everything in the old town. Breakfasts had a good selection of hot and cold food, although an additional or faster toaster would be a good investment. I guess we won't be back in Riga as feel we covered most of it in the four days, but if we did we would certainly happily return to this hotel. The only slightly negative thing was the walls were so thin, we could literally hear every word from the room next door when they were in bed! Possibly this is noise travelling along the wooden beams which run through the rooms...?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent hotel in the historic center of Riga. Perfect service and hospitality.
A good way to combine business and leisure trip to Riga, medieval Christmas. A delicious meal in a restaurant. Large and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly staff , plenty of variety for breakfast good size and clean room , nice and warm in the winter Excellent restaurant especially on Saturday night when there is a live pianist with 20% discount for guests.Well situated. Can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights due to a night club nearby but it did not bother me only my wife. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gutenbergs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutenbergs Hotel

Address: Doma laukums 1, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutenbergs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gutenbergs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gutenbergs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.