We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gutenbergs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gutenbergs to your Saves list
Hotel Gutenbergs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Deal! 15% OFF!
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are touring the historic center in Riga, you could not ask for a better location. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the front desk is helpful. If you are looking for a modern 4-star hotel this property is not for you, but we really enjoyed our stay. It has old world charm and everything is in walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    36
    9
    1
See reviews for
23
73
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were delighted with the hotel (chosen for us as part of a package with Baltic Holidays). The room was spacious and the receptionist very helpful when we asked to move rooms initially based on Trip Advisor reviews about the noise from the bar opposite. She seemed surprised, and there actually seemed very little noise from the bar during our stay, so maybe it is more in the summer that it is a problem. But the room we had (208) was spacious and very comfortable, including heated floor in the bathroom and a bath (which 104 didn't have). The staff were all very helpful about booking restaurants and helping with directions, and location wise it is hard to think of a better place to be so close to everything in the old town. Breakfasts had a good selection of hot and cold food, although an additional or faster toaster would be a good investment. I guess we won't be back in Riga as feel we covered most of it in the four days, but if we did we would certainly happily return to this hotel. The only slightly negative thing was the walls were so thin, we could literally hear every word from the room next door when they were in bed! Possibly this is noise travelling along the wooden beams which run through the rooms...?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent hotel in the historic center of Riga. Perfect service and hospitality.
A good way to combine business and leisure trip to Riga, medieval Christmas. A delicious meal in a restaurant. Large and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly staff , plenty of variety for breakfast good size and clean room , nice and warm in the winter Excellent restaurant especially on Saturday night when there is a live pianist with 20% discount for guests.Well situated. Can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights due to a night club nearby but it did not bother me only my wife. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a cheap deal from TravelZoo and Baltic holidays, and what a great deal it was. We loved the hotel, the room was large with two windows and a view of The Dome. It is situated right in the heart of the Ole Town with cobbled streets and restaurants and places to visit only a walk away. The staff were very nice and helpful and the hotel was lovely and warm, essential at this time of the year - we visited in February.

I would have liked tea and coffee-making facilities in the room and the room was not ready for us when we arrived at midday or when we came back at 2p. We had another coffee and returned and it was ready, but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Average hotel in a central location.

Very clean hotel and room.

Beds are very uncomfortable with one flimsy pillow each. Staff were not happy when I requester another pillow but eventually let me have one. Another two couples later asked the same and they were turned away by receptionist who said the hotel does not provide extra pillows.

Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. We liked Charlie's which had yummy fresh food.

If you want a central cheap hotel for a short break this will be fine but beware of the bar opposite on Friday and Saturday nights if you are a light sleeper as you can hear the music in your room til the early hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 12th-15th February 2014 in Riga and stayed at the Gutenburgs hotel. The location you cannot fault as it is literally 30 seconds walk into the main square. and good walking distance to all the main attractions. The Opera house is about 10-15 minutes walk and everything is easy to find. The number 11 tram to the zoo it nearby, the markets etc. The reception is very good. They speak excellent English and are very helpful. The rooms are immaculate however a little dated. There are huge wheels in the rooms which are part of the old architecture which I liked at first as its different but after a while they start getting in the way when you are in the room. The main things that let the hotel down being a 4* is that the beds are not like proper beds they are more like camp bed and are very uncomfortable and ended up with a bad back. They don't provide a proper duvet for the bed they only provide 2 singles which can be small and then a rug over the top which we thought was naff and not 4*. There were only 1 pillow each and no spare. When we asked at reception they said they would see what they could do. Not really what you would expect extra pillows is normal. While there other couples were asking and they were being told there were none left. We didn't eat in the restaurant but we looked at the prices and it is very expensive so would recommend eating out. We can recommend Charlie's in the square as the food is good and very cheap. Don't not go to Steiku Haoss it cost GBP 67 or 80EUR for 2 steak and chips, 2 cokes and an orange. There is a nightclub opposite the hotel and from midnight got very noisy until 3-4am. The breakfast was ok, scrambled eggs, different German sausage, bacon, pastries, cereal, juices, hams, cheeses. Again would have expected a little more choice for a 4*. In all not a bad hotel very clean with great location. I guess it depends how much you pay for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gutenbergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenbergs

Address: Doma laukums 1 | Entrance from Muku street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Riga
#35 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gutenbergs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gutenbergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gutenbergs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.