We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Your Head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gutenbergs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gutenbergs Hotel to your Saves list
Gutenbergs Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doma laukums 1, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Watch Your Head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's a great location for a hotel with excellent service and a very good breakfast. The rooms we had were small and had exposed beams that you could easily hit your head on. The rooms were also a bit on the dark side with not much light. Perhaps there are other rooms that we did not see that are nicer. We were moved by the hotel to an apartment across the street that was very nice. This apartment was owned and run by the hotel.

Room Tip: See if you can get the apartment as it is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    71
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
21
71
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I give it a 5-star rating because the hotel was as good as we expected and we had absolutely no problems with anything. You can't beat the location, it's right in the center of Riga's old town. We found the oddities that other reviewers mentioned in our room as well - sloped floor (the cabinet in the corner made it very noticeable), huge wooden beams crossing our room etc. Actually we found that part rather enjoyable. The breakfast was very good and in retrospect I have to say it was amongst the best that we found during our trip through the Baltic countries and southern Scandinavia. The staff was very friendly, professional and spoke excellent English.
Although we weren't affected I want to mention that it is true that the stairs are a problem for wheelchairs. There are stairs from the street to the lobby and the elevator stops a half floor higher than where the rooms are, so you have to get a few steps down to reach you room. It's just the way the old building is. The hotel should advertise this clearly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 so it was midwinter so we sadly didnt get to use the rooftop terrace that they say so much about.
The hotel in itself is down a small back street but still fairly close to lots of shops/restaurants so you dont feel out of the way.
Check in was quick and the reception lady seemed to speak about 5 languages which is always helpful for us Brits who dont. They also let us have a free late check out on the last day because of a late flight which I think goes a long way (try to smile, I think it helps!)
The room is quite small and ours was on a fairly steep slant so if you get out in the night and arent properly awake you go for a sort of jog to keep up with yourself, but that said they are lovely and quirky which I quite liked. I think there is some kind of basement club/disco downstairs as it was fairly noisy until late night/early morning although its not 'rowdy' noise if that makes sense, so it didnt keep us awake.
Lots of nice places to go/see nearby and if you get chance go to Double Coffee, a franchise which blows Starbucks/Costa out of the water and does the most wonderful and cheap food/drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huettenberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch at the Gutenbergs Restaurant with our two children. The food is excellent, as is the view on the roof terrace. The lunch could have been perfect if it wasn't for the masses of bees on the terrace - it was rather unpleasant and we could not finish our lunch. Staff was not helpful at all, and reacted rather indifferent. Coming back down in the lobby we had difficulties carrying the stroller of our child down the stairs. We asked at the reception if there was a lift - but unfortunately there isn't (at least 10 steep chairs to enter from the street to the reception!), so I said:"I wonder how people in a wheelchair can enter in this hotel?" The ironic answer was:"Actually they don't."
Absolutely unprofessional and disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location is great in the heart of riga. A part from that, breakfast just ok. Rooms are quite big but the walls to thin so you'll listen everything at any time!
The best is the bar located in the roof. Good mood and very good service

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here first night in Latvia the night before Ligo Festival. This is a good hotel. If you want to stay in a place that has local character and flavor, this is it. The rooms are neat and nice sized. The hallways have similar Latvian flavor. The breakfast buffet was standard, but the food was tasty. One of the highlights is the rooftop bar - a nice place to have a drink and look at the Dome Cathedral. All of the service was top level. Location down a twisty cobblestone street on the edge of Old City. If you want a modern, cookie cutter hotel, this place isn't for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff really very very kind polite and efficient. restaurant very good with wonderful view. room cozy and well furnished. location is the best to visit the town. breakfast compliant to the hotel standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gutenbergs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutenbergs Hotel

Address: Doma laukums 1, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutenbergs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gutenbergs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenbergs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gutenbergs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.