We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall is good but small details count” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kugu 24, Riga 1048, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #50 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overall is good but small details count”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel has most of what any traveller may need. Decent rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and convenient location. From that perspecitive it can be recommended.

The small details are those which mark the point of having a good impression or not.

The spa is advertised as a facility of the hotel. After trying it, it is not at the level of the hotel. Definitely not worth it considering the cost/service. Laterly I was informed that the spa is independent from the hotel so that complaints are not directly affecting the hotel but, I must say that it has an influence in the hotel reputation.

There was something that might bother travellers. The person attending the souvenir shop spends the day walking around the lobby. At times, it can be disturbing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    210
    126
    42
    11
See reviews for
69
87
39
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel when I was Glod member of Club Carlson program.
We were traveling as a family of 3 (myself, wife and 16yo daughter)

Hotel/Location/Booking
We were traveling in Europe and decided to spend a day in Riga to make an overall impression of the city and then, if we liked it, to return later. Riga is not large city and choice of the hotel that would belong to major international chain (where I prefer to stay) is limited. Interestingly enough, they have 2 Radisson Blu's - one right in the city center and another (the one we stayed in) across the Daugava river from the city center. As all what was needed to get to old city from Radisson Blu Daugava was to cross the bridge (~10 minutes walk) and attractive rate of EUR 95/night (prepaid non-refundable), this hotel was chosen.

Check-in/Out
At the check-in I was offered an upgrade to the "Business class" room as Club Carlson Gold member. Free breakfast in the restaurant was also given, although it is usually Concierge level privilege.
At the checkout I requested late departure at 2pm which was granted without any issues.

Room
Hotel room was larger than usual, being a business class room (an equivalent of Deluxe room in Club Carlson world) - there was enough space to make Junior Suite out of that. Bathroom had shower over Bath and standard for Radisson Blu Anne Semonin toiletries.
There was a king bed in the room however rollaway bed was not ready and we had to wait (which was annoying as we arrived quite late) until the bed will be made. King bed was very adequate in terms of size and feel. Room faced Daugava river with the views of old town across the river, has minibar and the espresso machine.

Internet
Internet access was granted for free as a benefit of Club Carlson Gold program, and was fast and reliable.

Food
Breakfast at the main restaurant was quite good with good spread of international and local cold cuts, usual hot dishes (eggs/bacon/potato/sausages) and eggs station.

There was no ice machine to be found so ice had to be ordered through the room service.

Transportation:
Taxi from the airport was ~LVL 7. Taxi from hotel to the airport was LVL 20 which I believe is a fixed price.

Bottom line - will visit again for a short stay in Riga - there is no real advantage between this hotel and more expensive hotels in the old town - if you are prepared to walk a bit.
If anyone has any questions reated to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Convenient..clean...and friendly.
Walk across the bridge to old town.
But convenient to the highways if you are driving.
Hotel staff were very helpfull with directions..and accomodating any needs during a two week stay.
Breakfast buffet was wonderful..and lounge menu was perfect for a late night drink and nibble.
After an icy days of work..it was nice to return to a comfortable room..and an evening swim in the pool.
If you are used to north american style hotels..then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking t he old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed there several times. Staff very professional. Location superb facing the old town (if you will get a room facing the river). Hotel is kind of split in two parts. One is "old" and the other more modern. Recently I stayed only in the " old" part - which was about 70 EUR or so. They promised me if I will stay there more often they will put me into the " new" part :) Internet is fast, from lattelekom with low latency. 2Mbit in out. Breakfast is something what brings me back to this hotel again and again - it is just one of the best breakfasts I had in any hotels all over the world. There is also parking for cars at about 10 EUR per night which is okay. About 250 meters from the hotel is a bus stop which has bus 22 stopping there and for 1 EUR (70 santims) will bring you to the airport. Same way some there. Rooms are dated but functional and with decent soundproof. Lunch and Dinner is VERY expensive in this hotel even by European standards. Although quality of the food is average (not to be mistaken with breakfast, which is excellent). Area is moderately safe I would say (never had issues there, but I would not say it felt safe at night :) ). You can get into the old town by just crossing the brined - in about 10 minutes. Very good connection to transportation. You don't really need those expensive taxis outside the hotel - Bus to airport 200 meter away. Old talk a walk away, or public transport near by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear FreakWentTraveler,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am especially pleased to hear that you appreciate our service and breakfast offering! You are also right in saying that we have a fantastic view from our river side rooms facing the old town - simply the best view in town.

We are also in a process of re-evaluating our lunch and dinner product and prices, so hopefully you will see some positive changes in that area soon as well.

Once again, thank you for your positive and constructive feedback! It is always appreciated.

I am looking forward to seeing you back in our hotel soon again - this time perhaps in the 'new' part ;)

Best regards,

Mika Virtanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilnius
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the first modern hotels in Riga, but time passes and it's time to renovate if you want to continue charge the prices they are charging today. If you plan to spend time in the old town I would look for hotel closer to old town. Service and food in the restaurant - excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Can not say something good about this hotel,is the oldest one from Radisson and must have a renovation ,is not 4 stars definitely but service in a lobby bar I like ,and food in the restaurant was very very good,only servants not attentive and they moves when you will ask them only ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hotel is a bit 1980s in decor but the staff keep the place clean and go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The pool and gym are decent and there are some good running routes out the hotel and along the river.

The views are good across to the old town which is a ten minute walk across the bridge. Always felt safe even when walking back at night but taxis an option.

A couple of attractions on this side of the river too, state library, a good train museum and the gun club regros down in an old soviet bunker.

Breakfast good, liked the hotel and feel it offers a good value package.

Room Tip: One facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga

Address: Kugu 24, Riga 1048, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
#36 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is conveniently located on the bank of the Daugava River with a breathtaking view of Riga's Old Town. Hotel offers 356 fully equipped rooms, including Business Class, Suites and Presidential Apartment as well as non smoking rooms and rooms for disabled. All rooms are equipped with bathtub, TV, telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioning and have 24-hours room service. Free broadband is available for all hotels residential guests and anywhere in the hotel. Hotel also offers a free shuttle bus service to the city center. The Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel offers secured, on-site parking options both for private vehicles and buses. Self-parking is available on the on the east side of the hotel building. There are two parking entrances; one is on the south side of the hotel directly off Kugu Street, and the other is on the east side of the building directly off Trijadibas Street. Parking space allows to accommodate up to 100 cars and 5 buses. 4.00 EUR per day (12 h.) With limited in and out privileges 8.00 EUR per 24 hours with in and out privileges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga Hotel Riga
Radisson Riga
Riga Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.