We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in location and friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free luxury transfer
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Superb in location and friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

t is located directly in the old city of Riga. Almost anything is within walking distance, ie only a couple minutes walk from the busy square, and 5 minutes walk from the city centre.
The hotel is kinda like a small luxury boutique European property – comfortable and quiet – traditional yet modern. The money-service correlation is very good. The staff were exceptionally friendly, polite, charming and helpful. Breakfast was a wonderful experience and the staff in the restaurant were attentive too. Where else in this day and age do you have beautiful cooked to order breakfast in addition to a full buffet with plenty of variety?
A couple of minor aspects: there is no elevator from the street to the reception and the fitness centre was a joke. Apart from that, I’ll recommend to give this a try if you are passing through Riga.
(www.perfyi.wordpress.com)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    63
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
96
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel, with great location, first class staff and service, stylish decor, and excellent bar, restaurant and breakfast rooms. There is of course free internet in the lobby and wifi in the rooms.
On the hotel website you can order a 2- or 3-day package which comprises everything you need for a perfect stay, starting with limousine pickup from the airport.
This was our second stay and it was even better than our first. We hope to come back to Riga and if we do it will be mainly to stay at the Grand Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Why can't all 5-star Hotels be like the Grand Palace Hotel in Riga?

From the moment you step in the door it simply oozes class, elegance and luxury.
Warm and cosy, yet seamlessly stylish with all the sumptuous charm of old world glamour.

It is safe to say we were most impressed at the beginning of our stay with a truly welcoming check in and even more impressed at the end of our stay when we enjoyed a really geneous late check-out and an even more friendly send of by the charming Victorio.

The hotel also arranged our pick up from the airport and return and included it on the bil and we were taken in the hotel's very glamerous BMW with very courteous and expert driver.

We had considered staying at the very reasonably priced Europa Riga Royal, but as we were celebrating a special event we decided to splash out.

We also got an incredible deal from fastbooking.com that was almost half the rate of all the other websites at the time of booking - however nearer the time of our visit there did seem to be some more offers available from other websites like booking.com - but nothing near as good as our offer from fastbooking.com.

Needless to say we were delighted that we had decided to treat ourselves to the Grand Palace Hotel as it simply was a joy from start to finish.

Our room was not the biggest we have ever stayed in, but with its own personal computer and broadband connection, it was certainly the best equipped and so cosy and comfortable. I have often stayed in hotels with a keyboard for TV internet, but never one with its own computer - very sleek, black and unobtrusive but just fantastic for checking email and planning sightseeing.

There were also free computers downstairs in the lobby which was a lovely touch.

We also had robes, slippers, large flat screened Tv, minibar, delicious toiletries and complimentary water every night and well as really sweet heart shaped chocolates left on our pillows!

In fact, I think that's what sets the Grand Palace apart from other 5 star hotels - they go the extra mile to please with so many unexpected luxury touches that one just can'e help but be delighted and feel totally spoilt.

Even their sand filled cigarrette disposal stands have the sand levelled off and stamped with a G in the style of a wax seal - now that's class!

On arrival they had a really sweet and generous surprise waiting for us in our room as we had requested a romantic room for our special celebration - and we were so thrilled, it was yet another excellent and thoughtful qualtiy touch that demonstates that unlike so many other hotels they just go all out to show their guests the very best in hospitality.

Our bed was very comfortable and we treated ourselves to the movie collection which was the most up to date selection I have ever seen in a hotel with films like Iron Man 2, The lightning thief and Sex in the City 2 which I did not even know was in cinemas yet!

The decor of our room was also very charming with traditional style handpainted furniture and lovely raw silk, petrol blue austrian blinds, cosy carpet and plenty of pillows including a spare pilow in the wardrobe which is so welcome, yet sadly absent in most hotels.

Our bathroom was sparklingly clean with a supersized basin and large, comfortable bath.

While I am loath to complain, the only thing I could fault them on is standard sized bath towels and bath robes instead of super sized ones, but as most Latvians I saw seem to have enviably slim and trim figures perhaps standard sized towels are XXL ones for them!

Breakfast was a triumph! So elegantly set in the beautiful glass roofed Orangerie Restaurant the buffet sideboards simply groaned with all sorts of goodies and also there was a hot selection available to order as well as a first class omelette bar.

Breakfast included:- juices, fresh fruit, fresh fruit cocktail, plain yogurt, drinking yogurt, fruit yogurt, sour yogurt, kefir, jams, cakes, rolls bread, toast, cold cuts, salad, cold fish, smoked salmon, gravilax, cheeses, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, porridge, cereals and so much more! Delicious.

There is also a steam room, sauna, gym and health club in the basement which must be especially welcome when visiting in the freezing winter months.

The staff could not have been better and in particualr Toms and Victorio were so helpful and kind especially with advice on local attractions, culture and sightseeing excursion advice.

The location couldn't have been any better - just beside Dome Square in the fabulous cobbled old town where all the sights including the river are just footsteps away.

What can I say - amazing hotel, glamour, luxury, super service, wonderful staff, fabulous breakfast, perfect location in a fairytale old town in a facinating and charming historical city - The Grand Palace Hotel has it all!

Thank you so much to all the staff and management at the Grand Palace Hotel for having made our special romantic weekend celebration simply unforgetable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My favourite hotel in the Baltics, maybe in all of Eastern Europe (together with the Hyatt Baku). Perfectly luxurious and cozy atmosphere overall, and in particular in the lobby bar. A little less so in the restaurant. The water in the shower has a smell of honey, that I have not found anywhere else. Very good service for Eastern European standards. Great location in the old town, yet pretty close to the bridge to the airport road. I look forward to coming here again many times. P.S.: I also checked the Hotel Bergs, and although this is a good design hotel on the farther side of Riga old town, I don't feel like this could be an alternative to the Grand Palace.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a very pleasent stay ,the staff is perfect ,always with a smile and a nice comments when you pass them.The breakfast was very good,with a chef that makes perfect omeletts or fried eggs if you like. The hotel is very close to the Dom and all the other places you should see.We had 5 nights there and we will be back in september

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This Hotel is part of the Small Leading hotels of the Worlds group,and it certainly is that
The find dinning restaurant was truely exceptional,compliments to the Chef whos attention to detail,food preparation and presentation was just magnificent,worthy of a michelin star and definatly one of the best restaurants anywhere
All the staff are profesional,efficient,fluent in english,polite and friendly,they make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble,If you have the chance to vist this beautiful town and want the very best then you must stay at the Grand Hotel Europe Riga

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I visited Grand Palace two times on business trips to Riga. The hotel is excellent from every point of view. It is elegant, the services are of the highest standard, the staff is extremely kind, sometimes too kind for me. The restaurant is also good, I can just speak in superlatives. But at the same time it is not cheap, but it not surprising from a hotel that won 4 times in row the Best Hotel in Riga award.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#7 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia’s Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.