We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Riga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free luxury transfer
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First visit to Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us stayed here mid June having selected this excellent hotel from the reviews on this site. My husband and I were very pleased with our room which was quiet, tastefully decorated and overlooked a sunny inner courtyard. Everything worked well in the very clean room and the minibar was well stocked. Room service was prompt and not overly expensive. Unfortunately our friends found their rooms noisy so asked to be moved which was a shame as they had specifically asked for quiet rooms when booking, so I suggest you do what we did, i.e. email the hotel a week before and remind them you need a quiet room (the clubs and streetlife are loud until the early hours).
The hotel itself is very comfortable, especially the main bar where we met up in the evenings before going out. Service is attentive and friendly, in fact everyone we met in Riga was friendly and helpful (with one exception unrelated to this hotel). The bar has the heads of dead animals mounted on the walls which might not be to everyone's taste, I thought it rather sad, but the Latvians seem to be into hunting and there is a hunting price list in the main reception if you are into that kind of thing.
We enjoyed our excellent breakfasts served in a very relaxed dining room where there was a generous choice of fresh fruit, cheeses, hams, eggs done every whichway, toast and delicious jams, cereals and yoghurts. I was not overly impressed by the coffee although compared with the dishwater some UK places serve up I should be grateful really!
Last but not least, the well-trained staff were polite, helpful, relaxed, friendly and always happy to order a cab or offer advice. All spoke good English, as do most people in Riga.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor, ours 418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear RubyGodiva,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay. I completely agree that both - our hotel and the team are unmatched. My sincere apologies for the issues with your friends room location. I will make sure that reservation department don't make similar mistakes in the future.
Please email me before your next visit so I can personally assist you with your next reservation.
I look forward to see you soon.

Bets regards,
Liva Laivina
Guest / Public relations
liva@suitelife.lv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    73
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
118
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln,NE, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, close to everything in Old Town Riga. The staff was very accomodating, kind, efficient. The room was beautiful, very comfortable, and quiet. The breakfasts were very tasty with a wide variety of foods to choose from. It was clear that the #1 priority was our comfort. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. While the price is higher than some other hotels, I felt it was well worth it. We always felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Anita S,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is our pleasure to take care of every guest and give each of you a little touch of "home" feeling.
I have to agree that our breakfast is very tasty with wide variety of food and it's because we still think- that breakfast is the most important meal of the day!
Please email me before your next visit so I can personally assist you with your next reservation.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Liva Laivina
Guest / Public Relations
liva@suitelife.lv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Six of us from Britain stayed here for four nights in June 2015. We all had delightful and well-equipped rooms and superb breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent reception staff and porters - and we did ask a lot of questions. Smoking is permitted in the bar which did not suit us but there was an adjoining room which was smoke free. Bar prices were not much higher than the bars in town and the quality of the Latvian draught beers was excellent. We rate this hotel very highly but you must ask for a quiet room because they do have pre-booked functions with music and dancing. There can be noise from the streets at night but all bedrooms are air-conditioned so you can shut the windows. One thing we would add in the bedrooms - a kettle and some tea which other reviewers have mentioned.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have intrusive music beats from a night club close by and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jonny L,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We were delighted to read that you and your friends had a wonderful stay with us.
I have to agree that the breakfast in our SUITE Restaurant is the perfect way to start your day before heading out and exploring the city.
Regarding your comment about a kettle and tea facilities in the room, we do have this option in our Business, Junior and Deluxe Suite category rooms, rest of the guest can offer kettle with warm water, tea or coffee directly from our room service stuff.
I would be happy to assist you personally, when you will plan your next visit to Riga.
Hope to see you soon back in our wonderful city!

Liva Laivina
Guest / Public Relations
liva@suitelife.lv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff at the reception was very helpful and the rooms were huge. The hotel is well decorated and is truly "Grand". The location is perfect and the area is charming. The food was very good too and I enjoyed the breakfast spread. The place to stay, in Riga!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Vaaridhi,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We love to hear from guests who enjoyed their experience with us, as well as our neighborhood! We look forward to having you back with us.

Best regards,
Liva Laivina
Guest / Public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

The professionalism of the employes made this hotel a 6 star if it was possible, The service and the possition was also excelent, I can say this is a must if you ever think of stating in Riga. I have been here 3 times now and there is no coincidence to that thanks alot Grand palace and see you again in autumn!!!!johan

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2015
Dear johan924,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team is amazing and will be thrilled to know they added positively to your overall stay. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Best regards,
Liva Laivina
Guest / Public Relations
liva@suitelife.lv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

This hotel lives up to its 5-star rating. Staff are exceptionally helpful - of particular note, the barman is incredibly service-minded, rarely met anyone like him. My stay was a mixture of business and pleasure and I would recommend the hotel without hesitation for both these purposes.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2015
Dear David W,
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Liva Laivina
Guest / Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Amazing hotel, great location, perfect for visiting the city!
The rooms are awesome and the service perfect! We felt very welcome.
The bar & restaurant are worth a try too.
Thanks for making our stay so perfect!

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceRiga, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear CeLiDaOnTheRoad,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at Grand Palace Hotel. I will share your wonderful feedback with our team. Our goal is for every one of our guest to walk away with this type of experience.
It was our pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you soon again.
Please let me know when you are next planning a visit so I can personally assist you.

Best regards,
Liva Laivina
Guest / Public Relations
liva@suitelife.lv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#2 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel
Gallery Park Hotel
#6 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Splendia so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.