We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hotel, Central location and quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free luxury transfer
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Hotel, Central location and quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently refurbished, this hotel is quiet and unassuming from the outside, on a narrow street just off the Dom Square. Inside it is magnificent, with quiet, helpful and friendly service at very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    70
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
112
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As soon as I step into the hotel, immediately I smell a bucket of lilies and feel the genuine 5-star palace mostly because of the elegant atmosphere and luxurious decor which invites you to relax and unwind.

This is a first class hotel with excellent service in an old town of Riga and an exquisite property with the perfect location.

We stayed in a wonderful Deluxe Suite King, so well presented throughout which very impressed us.

This suite has some fantastic pluses: the bed was comfortable, room was perfectly cleaned and equipped.

@jalan2liburan

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Centrally located just moments from the main Cathedral square the Grand Palace is only €10 from the airport in a taxi. Arrival was a bit of a pain since the road outside the entrance was full with parked cars requiring us the wheel suitcases a distance along the pavement. Not too much of an issue but having to struggle with heavy suitcases opening the wooden door and carrying them up the stairs to the lobby was a little disappointing; there was no help in sight. No doubt looking a little lost for a moment we were called through to a side room to check-in. A much improved level of service here, sitting at a table rather than standing at a desk with the member of staff showing an interest in our visit. We arrived quite early, well beyond the stated check-in time, but the lady offered to hurry things along whilst we left our bag and had a drink in the main bar.

The Pills Bar permits smoking but fortunately there is a good ventilation system in place preventing it being an issue. There’s a good range of drinks and spirits behind the long bar although the ingredients of cocktails on the list would have allowed for more informed decision making. Plenty of stools at the bar and comfortable seating around the outside of the room meant there was almost always somewhere to sit. Interesting decor with antler chandeliers and deer heads on the wall it was a pleasant relaxing area, especially during the day, with friendly attentive bar staff. During our stay it appeared a popular place for small business meetings.

Around ten minutes later we were informed that our room was ready and bags there waiting. The size of the room (a deluxe double) was a good size with a ‘hallway’ area with built in wardrobes and plenty of space around the bed in the main area. Frustratingly there was a large high double bed but with two single duvets. Pillows were superbly comfortable though. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobe adequate for a three night stay, well stocked mini bar and snacks, plenty of drawer space, seating area and large working desk made the room very comfortable. The TV was a little on small size considering the distance from the bed but at least it didn’t dominate the room, and had only a couple of English channels and no Sky News for those who prefer it over BBC. There was both useful and interesting reading material in the room including practical guides for tourists or anyone new to the area, and one small but fantastic aspect to the room were mains electric plugs by both sides of the bed! Also worth noting was that the electronic safe was large enough to store a 13” laptop inside.

The bathroom was a good size and complimented the room well. The heated floor was a fantastic touch and certainly stood out amongst other hotels at this level. A proper bath with overhead shower, all the toiletries to be expected, scales, bathrobes etc were present and it was nice to see a few smaller touches such as the potpourri and candle with matches. The shower had decent power, the towels were large and although the toiletry tubes were fairly small at least they were restocked every time housekeeping entered the room.

The room provided great sleep every night. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet and there was absolutely no noise from outside. I could occasionally hear knocking and banging next door (the housekeeping cupboard?) but fortunately this was never early or late in the day. The bed was extremely comfortable (barring the small duvets!), lighting cosy and the decor was particularly satisfying for myself. The wifi didn't require any password so no messing around with landing pages was necessary and was a reasonable speed for standard use. It was also nice to have a proper key rather than card to access the room, even though the large leather fob could get annoying when out and about. Each morning an A3 rundown of the world news was left on the door handle, proactively selected in the most appropriate language. A nice touch but the given the timeliness of the articles it’s usefulness was somewhat questionable for us, especially given the only TV channels in English we could receive were news.

Breakfast was well organised and a great experience. Plenty of seating in the main restaurant for the buffet with plenty of attentive staff taking orders for hot drinks as soon as you were seated. The choice of food was massive with everything from fruit, pasties, salad, hot items, yoghurts, every type of fish imaginable (which is suitable for breakfast!), as well as hot cooked-to-order options being available. Drinks were equally varied with numerous juices, different types of teas and champagne. Tables were large and the food was frequently restocked meaning there was never shortage of a particular item. Wait times for the cooked food wasn’t long and the items were tasty and fresh. the breakfast times ran from 7am to 10:30am which meant having a proper feed after a lie in was still possible!

The same area is used in the evenings for the restaurant but unfortunately this dining experience wasn’t quite as good so we only did so once. There was only one member of waiting staff on that particular evening, and although not terribly busy we were kept waiting a while for drinks and it didn’t feel as attentive as it could be. The menu had a reasonable range of food but the wine list was good with sensible prices. The atmosphere was ok with some ‘interesting’ background vocal music, however as the evening wore on and it turned dark outside the interior lighting turns to a red glow making it quite dark and in fact quite a strain on eyes. There were some white lights along one edge of the restaurant but tables down the centre or the other side remained stuck in the glow. It was also a disappointment that despite requesting a particular dish without a certain item, anchovies, the strong taste remained making it less than enjoyable.

The resident parrot provided the unique and memorable aspect however. With the cage door open it frequently decided to fly a few laps of the restaurant before returning for some more ‘dancing’ on the roof of the cage. If seated at the front of the restaurant and not being aware might make it come as a shock but it was actually a fun quirky element to the evening.

The hotel lounge is an extension of the bar but with a very different feel and atmosphere. Deep purple and red lighting, sofas, low tables and elegant decor make it a very sophisticated feeling bar. Open only in the evenings it was a shame that on all but one occasion we were the only people drinking in there, making the atmosphere a little less than it could have been. Also it was advertised as having a live DJ but we didn’t see this once during our stay; possibly saving us the embarrassment of being the only ones however! Over the course of our stay there were some fantastic servers and staff, recommending new drinks and being fluent in English answering any questions we had.

Overall this is a very good hotel, perhaps being a little let down by us visiting out of their main season, in that it seemed a little lacking in staff; no visible door staff, a single waitress for evening meals and no one behind the concierge desk. None of this caused a real issue but did take the edge off what are standout features for a true five star in my eyes. Also given the lack of any directory for hotel services in the room the odd sign for new guest arrivals wouldn’t go amiss. It took us a bit of a ‘nosey-around’ on our first day to understand where everything was, but without a restaurant menu in the room, explanation of spa services, knowledge of additional services offered etc we still felt a little in the dark. I’d still recommend and stay here again myself, plus given the key location its a winner, however I can’t quite give it the full marks due to a few finer details missing.

Room Tip: Deluxe double on the fourth floor was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, the service is always great & it is difficult to fault the hotel in any way & I am very picky about hotels. The location is great being right next to the centre of Riga, the rooms are spotless & have been modernised recently, the bathrooms are great & the shower is adequate if a little under-powered (although perhaps just the room I was in on my last stay as I never remember this before). I do wonder if they could manage a smoking & non-smoking area in the excellent bar area. This is a lovely hotel & as I said it will always be my choice in Riga.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful friendly reception (although my low chair across the desk opposite the receptionist did make it feel slightly like a job interview, or something from Reggie Perrin!), and impeccable service throughout in this fairly luxurious hotel. Above all else, the location in a side street between the castle and cathedral square makes it a perfect base for exploring the old town. Hardly anywhere is further than a five-minute walk. Not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival I was met at the door by a concierge who offered assistance with luggage (a small suitcase) up a short flight of stairs to the reception area.
The first impression of the hotel from the street was that it was not much to write home about, but appearances can be deceiving.... The reception, foyer and general ambiance when you are inside the hotel is very welcoming and extremely beautiful, immediately relaxing you after your travels to the city.
The receptionist was polite, helpful and the process completed quickly.

My room was a standard double room which was quiet and comfortable although on the 4th floor there was no view to look at from the window. The facilities in the room were plentiful except it would have been welcome to have tea/coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was in the splendid dining room and the food plentiful, with the waitresses very attentive.

I will certainly be returning to this hotel again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for seven nights in this beautiful and romantic hotel in Riga/Latvia. It is located in the center of the city and it's easy to reach the most important sightseeing spots from there within walking distance. Everything was perfect, we can really recommend the Grand Palace Hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riga
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia’s Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.