We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Every Tripadvisor Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Zurich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Deserves Every Tripadvisor Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great cost-benefit ratio !
- very central (5min walking distance to all sightseeing hotspots)
- impeccable service quality
- friendly and very helpful staff
- basic but lovely and comfortable fitness & sauna area
- very good beds (matrasses)
- cosy and comfortable bar with a wide range of whisky brands
- pricing moderate and corresponding to what you can expect

-----> anytime again

Room Tip: Go to the hotel bar and enjoy a couple of drinks !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear LaCenterentola,
Greetings from Riga, Latvia and thank you for your feedback.
It really is music to our ears to hear such a positive review about our hotel and its services. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to be able to do it again in not too distant future.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and have an enjoyable remainder of the weekend.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    73
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
118
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice hotel, good location in old town, spacious breakfast room with Mischca the talking parrot for company, great service standards provided by friendly staff, rooms aren't cheap but you get what you pay for

Room Tip: The basic rooms are quite small so better to upgrade to a superior or deluxe room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear R H!
Thank you for the feedback. I’m pleased to read that you liked our hotel, its facilities and the friendly service. Our Grand Palace team is happy to serve our dear guests and their satisfaction is important to us.

Thank you again for your time to write this review.

We look forward to welcome you back in our beautiful hotel.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked Hotel Grand Palace based on Tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed.
I was very excited to come to Riga and explore my family heritage (my father is Latvian) and Hotel Grand Palace was a great place to do this from.
From the moment I arrived, I was welcomed by lovely, attentive and professional staff. As I only had a short time in Riga (unfortunately!!!), Victor was able to help me make the most of my time by providing me with restaurant recommendations, directions and booking sightseeing tours for me.
The hotel itself is in an excellent location in the Old Town within convenient and safe walking distance from everything. As I was travelling alone, safety was paramount and I felt safe at all times within the hotel and its surroundings.
My room was large, well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was beautiful and it was served in a lovely room - a very pleasant way to start the day.
A beautiful place to stay in Riga - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear bbriedis!
Thank you for such a positive review. We are delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us and that our team members looked after you so well. I will definitely pass your thank you to Vitor and the rest of our team.
Nothing makes us prouder of what we do than a happy guest.

It will be our pleasure to see you here with us again in the future.

With best regards,
Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently for 3 nights and was extremely happy with the experience! It started with a complimentary limousine service to pick us up at the airport. The hotel's location could not have been better! Old Riga is beautiful and quiet.
The rooms were of a nice size and well decorated. The restaurant and the bar were great as well. But the absolute highlight of this hotel is the staff. They were extremely nice and helpful! Could not have asked for more. Definitely a 5 star experience in a lovely hotel. Will stay here again next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Kirill K,
Thank you for your review. It is most pleasant to hear that we have made your stay so great and that it turned into such happiness. I will pass your positive comments to our team members as a thank you for the service they provided.

We strongly believe that people do create the atmosphere of the place and not a look of it. This is a perfect example.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and we all are looking forward to your return.

With best regards,

Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
120 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in an old palace, in the old town.
The common sections and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. There is high speed wifi everywhere (not common in 5 stars, where it is usually charged for a high price).

To sum up, a very good address for a stop in Riga, be it for business or leisure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms lovely and comfortable.
Nowadays Internet communication is the way of life to most of the people and therefore our free internet access serves as an additional benefit to our dear guests.
Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed there in September of 2012 with family.
The hotel gives very good impression overall though there are many things to improve.

Good things first:
+ The location is excellent. Silent but quite central place in the Old Riga. Easy to access and not too noisy with good view on ancient buildings.
+ The price is good. It is really good for all the luxury we got.
+ Staff were very friendly and helpful although they may smile more and smile more openly. Not the thing to demand from North Europeans but please do your best. :)
+ Especially I remember a guy of Portugese (sorry if I am wrong) descent who was just excellent in everything he did and is quite interesting person to talk with.
+ The food was good and its choice was even better.
+ Sauna and its related facilities were brilliant. We lacked some "how to" manuals of using the stuff and rules in general - both written and spoken but somehow we managed to get through.
+ Staff at restaurant were remembering us and our food preferences. I loved it. Thank you, really!

Things to improve:
+ The hotel lacks comfort facilities badly. By comfort facilities I understand any easy way to do laundry/cleaning, have some water/drinks dispenser and so on - just basic things every one wants for comfort. Giving laundry things to staff is not an option - it is slow and for some it is uncomfortable. I understand the hotel is of quite different kind but you cannot have luxury without base values for comfortable living.
+ The staff were intrusive at times. Coming into the room without acknowledging before with "to check the freezer" excuse and things like this. Just not acceptable whatever is the reason.
+ The hotel felt a little like sex resort at times when passing other rooms... Probably sound isolation could be better.
+ Limousine taxi service is beyond any critic. I mean drivers - texting while driving, ignoring any suggestions and just having attitude unacceptable for people on service. I am sorry. Although we resolved the issue the overall attitude of the hotel staff were like "We will return your money" instead of "We are very sorry and we will improve.". We do not need your money, you earned it. But please, be sorry for what is wrong. There are things money can't buy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raivis N, Director of Sales and Marketing at the Grand Palace Hotel at Grand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Grand Palace Hotel. Your feedback is of high importance to us to make sure we stay alert and give our guests the 5 star service we aim to provide.
This also involves our partners and we as the hotel, have to make sure, the other services given to our guests are at least the same level. We are responsible for our partners' services from the moment we offer them to you, so your feedback is very important tool, which will help us to train and educate our staff as well as our partner.

I’m glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our location, value, food, health facilities and the quality of the services received from our staff both good and excellent.

As for the things to improve you had mentioned, I assure you that we will take a note of your suggestions and will apply them where ever possible.
On behalf of our Grand Palace team I apologize for the inconveniences caused by our staff at times and for not handling properly the Limousine Taxi service issue. These issues will be addressed immediately to make sure it does not happen again.
I sincerely hope that the issues you encountered did not take away much of your enjoyment. I also hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in Grand Palace Hotel in not too distant future to show your our excellent service we provide to every of our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Raivis Nikitins
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Grand Palace is a lot smaller than its name suggests. Nevertheless it is lovely. The staff are very helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel is located in Riga old town and so it's very convenient to explore the area on foot. In the basement in a sauna and steam room which can be booked at reception, and is very good after a day's wandering. Breakfast is good too with a large selection of fruit, breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts. They also provide the usual bacon, sauasage and eggs. It's a pity the hotel didn't provide tea/coffee making fascilities in the room (not what you'd expect from a hotel charging minumum 150 euros per night). Apart from that it was great, and i'd stay there again if I go back to Riga.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel
Gallery Park Hotel
#6 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#4 Family Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.