We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free luxury transfer
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Riga
B
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very nice hotel, even thoug I prefer more modern style hotels. Staff was very service minded and helpful. We had a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    63
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
96
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Everything about my experience at the Grand Palace was perfect. From the airport collection to the drop-off I was in love with this place! Wonderful staff and lovely rooms and a very impressive breakfast offering. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, I felt like royalty here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Grand Palace Hotel is fantastic luxury hotel. Great location. Nothing negative at all in our one week stay. Wish all city hotels were like this! Wish also warmly recommend family restaurant Alibi (near the hotel). Delicious Traditional Grill in Latvian style. The owners Dace and Raivis are fantastic couple.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

More like a grand home then a hotel, the staff of this stylish hotel in the middle of Riga's old make you feel like a VIP from the moment you arrive until you leave. I have seldom experienced such helpful and professional staff.

We were upgraded without additional costs when we arrived and got a fantastic room on the upper floor.

This beautifully decorated and furnished property also has a top-class restaurant where my wife and I spent New Year's Eve with great food and entertainment.

In addition to the restaurant there is a cool bar and lounge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

When you walk into a hotel and are treated with such warmth and grace, you know you are in for a treat. Viktor, the person who checked us in, was so proud of "his" hotel that he made us feel special and wanted us to enjoy as much of the hotel as we could. He also helped arrange a personal tour of the historic parts of Riga that was so amazing that I cannot imagine going to Riga without doing that. The pride and commitment to service was such that when we go back to Riga, and we will, we will stay at the Grand Palace - no question!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Thanks to it’s excellent qualities and service my business trip really felt like vacations. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The location, service and interior of the hotel is something you would experience in the high-end hotel chains. We chose the hotel for a 2 year anniversary and the welcoming was astonishing. The lounge is very sophisticated with a good wine selection. We had dinner in a restaurant outside the old-town of Riga, and once we returned, we found to our surprise a complimentary bottle of champagne and a fruit basket from the Hotel, as a gift for our anniversary.
I was very impressed, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#7 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia’s Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.