We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class service, luxury, makes you feel like a royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High class service, luxury, makes you feel like a royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The location, service and interior of the hotel is something you would experience in the high-end hotel chains. We chose the hotel for a 2 year anniversary and the welcoming was astonishing. The lounge is very sophisticated with a good wine selection. We had dinner in a restaurant outside the old-town of Riga, and once we returned, we found to our surprise a complimentary bottle of champagne and a fruit basket from the Hotel, as a gift for our anniversary.
I was very impressed, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    73
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
118
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ventura67
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

At last a hotel that gets it right. From check-in (no long check-in counters but friendly personal desks) to check-out where the bill was dealt with quickly and efficiently the service was excellent. The rooms were well furnished, maintained to a very high standard and immaculate. The staff were courteous and welcoming and extremely helpful. The bar (although a little smokey as we are no longer used to it here in the UK) was a great place to have a drink and relax. The food was good with a great choice at breakfast. The hotel is centrally located in the Old Town and just a 10Lat ride from the airport.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. I booked via Expedia and I don't know how they managed to get a 5* hotel at these rates.

Room Tip: A standard room is just fine - make sure you ask for smoking or non-smoking as there is still a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was my first time in Riga so I don't have any previous experience with other hotels, but I think it's safe to say that we probably did one of the best choices. The Hotel is located in the "Old" town of Riga and there are many nearby restaurants and bars, and the service was what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. If you manage to get a good rate then it's totally worth it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I arrived on the 800th anniversary of Riga, on a sunny august day. The atmosphere was of celebration. The welcome was very professional, the room was perfect. Comfortable, spacious, cosy. The room service was extremely fast. The room was equipped with an LCD screen with internet access and direct access to the restaurant reservation system (very handy). I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here a couple of days, and were very satisfied with the stay. The staff welcomed us and gave us great advice on the city. Our room was very nice but a bit small.
The restaurant was modernly decorated and we were the only guests, the food was good, not excellent. The location is great and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed for two nights. First time in Riga. Location was excellent if you're in for a quick sightseeing trip thru The old part of town

Rooms were large, even by American standards, and extremely well appointed. Entry and lobby both superb

Staff was exceptionally helpful. I had a lot of questions about what to do, where to go, where to avoid, restaurants, bars, etc and they just went out of their way to figure it all out

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Arrived at the hotel by private car from Tallinn.Porter was not in the front door,have to ask at the reception.From the street level to the reception there are 10 steps up.
Check in was normal.

Booked-by the hotel site-and stayed in a deluxe room,4 th floor,no upgrade.In the lobby area there's a beautiful bird.

Reception is always full,no separate concierge area.Daily bottle of water as courtesy.

Small space of the shower,which is in the bathtube.No separate showers.Inadequate pressure of the water of the shower.

Amennities " Aromatherapy".Bar soap have to be asked when it finished..

Housekeeping did not remember the preferences of the guest in making the bed.Turndown service.

Sheets and towels are thin.

Not enough outlets in the room to plug your appliances ( mobile phone,camera ) for recharge .

Walls and celing with no sufficient sound isolation,can hear noise from the rooms above and beside.

Air con sillent.

Check out fast and efficient ( made by Victor )

Breakfast normal,fresh orange juice CHARGED EXTRA.

Have to mention the attention and kindness of Victor,from the reception.Always ready to answer your questions," go for it " when asked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#2 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel
Gallery Park Hotel
#6 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Pils Street 12, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Latvia's Leading Hotel for 8 years, the magnificent Grand Palace Hotel is located in the quiet centre of the historical Old Town of Riga. It is surrounded by prestigious UNESCO World Heritage monuments, central to major tourism objects, shopping streets, offices, embassies and banks. The hotel is the only member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and "Virtuoso" in Latvia. In May 2015 the official rating for the hotel has been upgraded from 5-star to 5-star Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Riga
Hotel Grand Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.