We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to Riga before Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A trip to Riga before Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were 2 couples who booked a trip to Riga before Christmas, and the choice of hotel was perfect. Radisson Blue Hotel Latvija is close to almost everything in Riga, a little walk straight down the road - and you are Riga's old town. The reception and the restaurants in the hotel was very nice, lots of alternatives to choose from. We were very satisfied with the price we had booked for this hotel, and we were recommended to upgrade to a room with a view. And what a view! We could almost see the whole city. But the weather was gray and snowy, reducing the view quite a lot.
Every morning before everyone else was awake, I went down to the pool in the 2nd floor, enjoying the silence and solitude down there. I also ordered a SPA treatment, and then I got access to the outdoor pool in the 6th floor. Hot water and massaging bubbles everywhere in the small pool, and the winter night was dark - and the snow drifted silently down on my head where I swam around.
Yes, we would like to return to this hotel another time

Room Tip: The room with the view was worth the extra value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonRiga, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

I really appreciate your positive comment about your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, it was real pleasure to serve you!
Looking forward to see you next time!

Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    398
    132
    32
    18
See reviews for
83
216
50
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a business class suite which was very nice and had a beautiful view of the city. The hotel has everything you need and if you don't want to you don't need to leave the premises. There is an ESPA spa, night club, casino, sports bar and a skyline bar - all very reasonably priced.

The hotel is in a perfect position in regards to the city (also not far from the airport). There are lots of parks to walk through, lots of churches and the old town with the cobbled streets is delightful.

There is a real mix of Latvian, Russian, soviet architecture, orthodox and catholic....

I came in jan and it was freezing, colder than freezing -17 but so beautiful. Everything is draped in snow and everything looks very pretty. However I will be coming back in the summer and look forward to seeing Riga in a warmer season and visiting Jurmala on the coast.

All in all a lovely get away and a perfect hotel to do it in!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonRiga, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Nicola,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback about your trip to Riga and so excellent review about your stay at our hotel. I can just agree that there is a lot of entertainment options in our hotel for every kind of taste, which, in so cold winter we had in January, is a real advantage. But indeed, I will be more than happy to welcome you here again in summer!
Best wishes,

Frank Weidlich,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lovely time, the city is beautiful and charming and despite the cold weather we enjoyed the trip very much. The hotel was fantastic, we had dinner at the restaurantand and luch at the bar, both served delicious food and had very good service, I recomend the Caesar Salad. Receptionist were efficient and always treated me well. The best part was without any doubt the room, we had an amazing view over the old town, it was very clean, the mastress was excellent ans the heated bathroom floor was much appreciated!! I would advice a little treatment at the ESPA spa, it is quitte impressive.
I will definetly go back if I ever have the chance to visit Riga again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonRiga, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ardillatraveller,

I am very happy to read such a positive review about our hotel. I am really glad you enjoyed your trip to Riga and liked our hotel. With pleasure I will share your compliments with our reception and restaurant staff, it definitely will inspire them to continue providing the best guest service to our guests. Thanks again for sharing your feedback with other travelers on the Tripadvisor and we all here are looking forward welcoming you again soon – in spring or summer, when Riga is even more beautiful and there is a plenty to do!
With kind regards,

Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have booked the stay with Gold Points and were upgraded to a business class room on the 21st floor, with the view of the Old Town. The view was magnificent, we could plan our sightseeing using the picture guide, which explained what we were seeing out of the window.
The walk to the Old Riga is about 15 minutes, and is quite pleasant.
As we visited during Christmas, there are small Christmas markets here and there, the closest one to the hotel had a Rabbit City built there, which was lots of fun for our 3,5 year old daughter.

The breakfast was good, but quite crowded.

Guests staying in business class rooms have a free access to the top floor /Skyline bar and the SPA. We did not use none of them, though.

The hotel staff were always nice and helped us with arrangements for our next trip, as well as gave good tips and directions to the places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the Old Town, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonRiga, Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to read such a nice feedback about your stay with us, thanks indeed for posting your positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay in Riga.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija and we are looking forward to your next visit in Riga and wish all the best!

Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a business class room located on the 22nd floor with a view on the old town. The view was great and the old city was just with in a short distance walk of about 10-15 minutes.

The room was clean, modern, comfortable with enough amenities and Nespresso machine. There were no charm in design though. Wifi in room was free and fast.

The Breakfast was ok but very crowdy especially when the hotel is full which as the case around new years eve period.

the spa was cool (when it's not crowdy) and the access is free if you stay in business class room as well as the top floor skyline bar.

the service is good enough and staff very helpful.

the hotel is the most suitable for business and tour group travelers but not for couple travelers looking for discretion and romance (but that was expected since the begining so we were not disappointed)

Room Tip: don't hesitate to pay extra for upgrading into a business or suite room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest!

We are truly happy to read such a positive feedback about our hotel. It was pleasure to serve you here and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree with you on many aspects of your comments, however the room design is of course question of taste, our newly renovated hotel rooms have been designed in modern Scandinavian style, I regret to hear it didn’t suit yours but maybe you would like to try one the new “Urban” Radisson Blu styled rooms on the floors 3 to 21 on your next visit.

As you noticed correctly, our hotel is always more than busy at the New Year that can cause slower service for example during rush hour at breakfast and in our SPA. Of course we are trying to do our best to keep our standards of quality and in ESPA Rīga we always limit the amount of guests at the same time.

And last but not least if you are looking for a more intimate and quieter hotel, but still want to enjoy Radisson hotel standards in service and quality, I suggest the smaller Radisson Blu Elizabetes and Radisson Blu Daugava Hotels or the indeed very cozy Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel, which are all located around the city centre close to all tourist attractions.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had heard that this was a former Soviet Intourist hotel and that Latvian hotel staff in general were not very friendly. While I concur, there are some very good points.

First the bad: I got to the hotel at 10:00 a.m. and the front desk curtly told me that I could not check in early because my "rate" did not allow it. If, however, I paid more, I could check in early. In traveling in 62 countries, I have never heard of such a thing. While this is clearly hotel policy, they could have said it in a much nicer way - I guess Latvian attitudes I had heard about are really true.

The second bad news is that the room was small and looked like a college dormitory - very basic furniture.

The good news was (1) there is only a beautiful park between thehotel and Old Town Riga. Probably a 1,000 foot leisurely walk - very nice; (2) breakfast was great. European croissants are better than in the US. Add butter and raspberry jam and it was the best I've had in Europe. Plus, the breakfast buffet was quite extensive and delicious.

The doorman was especially nice and let us store our bags after check out. Unfortunately, the internet in the lobby would not work - although I did get a connection 10 feet outside the front door - curious.

Overall, I would stay there again because of the location and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments regarding your stay with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

Further I would like to explain the situation regarding early arrival you have commented. The check-in time in the hotel is at 3 pm and unfortunately sometimes it is really impossible to provide a room for early arrived guests, because hotel guests are occupying their rooms till 12 pm. Exactly that happened in the morning when you arrived. All standard category rooms were occupied at 10 am and the front office staff offered you a clean room of higher category for extra charge. I sincerely apologize for the attitude of Front Office staff and the way they communicated with you to explain the situation. We always do our best for the hotel guests and allocate guests before check-in time if we have free rooms.

I am sorry to hear that the room didn’t meet your expectations. We agree that the size 20m2 of standard room is quite small, but upon availability we offer guests to upgrade to business class rooms, which are bigger - 40 m2. Also we want to inform you that we continue to renovate our hotel and are planning to have all rooms renovated according to Radisson hotels standards during next months.
We also want to improve the quality of Internet connection this year.

Finally I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services in general and thank you for positive comments about our breakfast, hotel location and some members of our staff.

We hope that you will visit us again and will try out the variety of outlets and services we can offer.

Looking forward to seeing you next time!
All the best from Riga,
Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was located in 22nd floor, clean, well-equipped and comfortable.
Service in the hotel was very helpful and friendly.
Conference room & surrounding suited our needs perfectly (from an exhibitor's view).
Food in the hotel (breakfast & lunch) was fine - comprehensive variety & taste.
The Devine Bar connected to the hotel offered wonderful tapas for dinner.
Location of the hotel is close to the ancient town (10 minutes walk) with a wonderful view from the 26th floor Skyline bar.
So from my point of view there was absolutely nothing to complain about. This in conjunction with the fact that I felt very well there makes me rate RBH Latvija 5*

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and positive reviews about the hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and I am glad that the accommodations and service met your expectations as complete guest satisfaction is our goal.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!
Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Address: Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riga
#8 Business Hotel in Riga
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#22 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, Riga. Offering the most impressive views over both the Old Town and central Riga, this hotel is famous for its lively atmosphere and wealth of entertainment options including the trendy and stylish Skyline bar with its fabulous city views from the 26th floor and the brand new and conceptually unique ESPA Riga spa facilities. 571 comfortable guestrooms including 197 Standard Class, 332 Superior Class, 38 Business Class rooms, 3 Suites and one luxurious Presidential Suite. Many rooms with charming views of the Old Town. The Esplanade restaurant offering one of the best International cuisine buffets in Riga, alongside its a la carte menu. Urban and trendy Skyline Bar with the best view in the city and D’vine Bar offering tasty tapas and wide selection of wines. ESPA Rīga - an exclusive five star spa facility with luxurious interior design. Modern and multifunctional Conference & Event center featuring 15 rooms including largest meeting room Omega with maximum seating capacity of 1100 delegates. 24 hr casino and Latvija Shopping Arcade. Underground parking (for additional fee). Free WiFi - free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Rezidor, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reval Hotel Riga
Reval Hotel Latvija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.