We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were told we had a Standard Twin room even though our booking confirmation stated DOUBLE room. I wasn't in the best of moods anyway after having just been let down by Riga Out There on one of the trips we had booked. So after complaining the receptionist said she could upgrade us for a fee of 40 euro's a night to a superior room. which although i though was a little expensive we did. Upgrading also gave us access to the ESPA spa daily during our stay which we otherwise would have had to pay 15 euros each a time for.
Personally i think if they offer a double room on the booking forms then you shouldnt have to upgrade to get what you booked, Also having to pay extra to use the pool area is a bit bad when you are already a paying guest. Breakfasts offered a good choice of buffet style foods and the chef will cook eggs and omelettes to order which were really tasty.
When my partner had visited Riga before he and his friends had been to the VOODOO Lounge which was then located in the basement of the hotel. however this is no longer there and it is now a sports bar on one side and Friends karaoke bar on the other. Gets busy on weekends though usually full of locals. At least entry is free for hotel guests.
The SKYLINE bar on the 26th floor is a nice venue and the views are spectacular. friendly staff although on fri/sat you are charged 2 Lats entrance even if you are hotel guests.
The Lobby Bar was my favourite in the hotel, the barman could make fantastic cocktails and was helpful in recommending bars and restaurants. reasonably priced too.
There is also a Casino in the hotel which is open 24hrs. we went twice but the tables were always full so playing blackjack and poker were out of the question. had a quick flutter on a roulette table but didnt win anything, Bar was cheaper there though and theres a Sushi bar too.

All in all it was a nice clean well equiped hotel and i cant really fault it. My complaints would be the issue with having to pay to upgrade just to get a double bed and also for the charges to enter other parts of the hotel ie the pool and the skyline bar.

The ESPA spa was really nice although i was disappointed on the saturday when i was trying to relax in there and there were two "unsupervised" children making lots of noise and splashing about in the pool and jacuzzi -- had i paid extra again to visit the spa for treatments then i would have been asking for a refund i stayed about 40 minutes and then had to leave.

Room Tip: We upgraded and were on the 15th floor with a view to the front. very quiet and lovely views. Upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback, which will help us in our plans to further improve the standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests.

I am really sorry to learn that you were not pleased regarding certains aspects of your stay, specifically where the Standard room with double bed was not available on arrival. We always are interested in providing a best service for our guests and the Superior room with double bed was offered to you. Your grievance is duly noted and has been taken up with those responsible so that appropriate action can be taken.

We are happy to hear that you liked our ESPA Riga Spa centre and we are very sorry that you couldn’t get full relaxation because of our small visitors. Kids are kids and sometimes it can be difficult to make them behave. To make your next visit more pleasant we would like to inform you that we have special Children Hours in the Spa - from 7.00 to 18.00 in working days and from 7.00 to 15.00 on weekends so if possible we would like to recommend you visit Spa in the evening time to avoid any misunderstandings.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Frank Weidlich
Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    457
    148
    34
    20
See reviews for
100
238
60
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in a room No.1706 and the view was fantastic. The room was a little too small for two and two big suitcases. I had to lay a big armchair to be able to put a suitcase on it and open it. A mini bar was automatic what means that anything removed from a minibar is automatically charged to a room account. We noticed that after removing everything to be able to put our own mineral water inside. At the check-out we explained that and it was OK. There was a kettle with complimentary tea and coffee and mineral water that cost Ls 3 (more than 4 euro) in the room. The bed was very good. The bathroom was clean but the shower too weak and sometimes only cold water, sometimes very hot water came out. There were slippers but towels were too old, cheap towels that are really a shame for such a hotel. Hotel was crowded with groups so there were queues for breakfast. At breakfast bread was wonderful but we missed fruit. Staff was very kind at the reception as well as at breakfast.When you come to your floor you have to open even the entrence of that floor so it means it is safe. So there were good and bad things.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Marjana1952,

I sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback, which will help us in our plans to further improve the standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests.
I am really sorry to learn that you were not pleased regarding certains aspects of your stay, specifically where the shower temperature was concerned. Your grievance is duly noted and has been taken up with those responsible so that appropriate action can be taken. We also are changing all towels according to Radisson Blu standards these days. Your review about breakfast is taken into account by our Restaurant Management. And obviously I am also happy share your compliments with my staff.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regardsfrom Riga,
Frank Weidlich
The Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

A central hotel, near the old town, clean and nice rooms. Reasonable prices. Serviceminded staff. Very good breakfast, butI miss a place to take a evening meal, the lobby bar was.... A lobby bar. Nothing special, and why do they send me to a room as far away from the lobby and the elevator as possible a day with few guests? Safe but nothing extra.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sunnm!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments regarding your stay with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services in general. It was truly the pleasure to serve you. We would also like to inform you that our evening buffet in restaurant Esplanade and D’vine Bar are open till 23.00 and during the night there is an option to order pizza.
We hope that you will visit us again and will try out the variety of outlets and services we can offer.
Looking forward to see you next time!

All the best,
Frank Weidlich
The Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Typical Radisson Blu hotel with small rooms. Very similar to the tall building you would find in Vilnius. Location is perfect. Your right in the heart of Riga. You are next to busy streets, train station, old town, cathedral, etc. Breakfast Ok, not bad, but not amazing. Nice bar on the top floor, but to go there once and just for a view, as the service and prices are awful there. Probably we will experiment another hotel during the next stay in Riga

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of Executive Assistant Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Bjork J!

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay here in Riga.

Indeed our hotel looks quite similar to the one in Vilnius and our location is very convenient, but that is just one of the advantages of the hotel beside the variety of outlets we have here.
You are right regarding hotel standard rooms, which are 20m2, but upon availability we offer guests the upgrade to business class rooms, which are bigger - 40 m2.

We regret to hear that the service in Skyline didn’t meet your expectations and thank you for letting us know about it. We want to ensure you that we always take guest comments seriously as they help us to improve our services. Regarding Skyline prices many guests would disagree with you as the prices are even lower than in some bars in Old town.
I hope you will give us the chance to serve you once again in order to prove that we can do better and even exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,
Frank Weidlich
The Executive Assistant Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Considering the price per night we paid the hotel was decent, but an upgrade of the economy rooms is definitely overdue. The rooms were clean but felt shabby anyway. The lobby is really fresh and clean and the breakfast was good. A couple of my friends got upgraded to a superior room and that looked like what the enitre hotel should look like. The bar on the top floor of the hotel is worth a visit and not as pricey as you might expect given the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear PRB_Finland!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija and sharing it with other travelers on Tripadvisor
I really appreciate your comments about our hotel and glad that you liked breakfast and enjoyed Skyline bar on 26th floor.
Regarding the rooms I just want to add that we just started another stage of renovation in order to offer our clients even more modern and stylish environment.

On behalf of all the team, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

All the best,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel. Very helpful staff. Extremely satisfied. I've been in a lot of Radisson's hotels around the world and this one is with the best service I had. The breakfast is reach. The rooms are big enough. Free internet... Everything was more than fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, On behalf of General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Jzaimov!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija.
We are so happy to be rated so highly by you and thank you for complimenting the staff as well as service and breakfast.

On behalf of all the team, thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With best regards,
Ronaldus Smithjes
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Huge hotel in the center of Riga, close to old town. Standard rooms tiny and very simple, no desk, thus definately not for business traveller. Breakfast good, meeting rooms ok. Probably won't choose again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Purjelentaja!
We appreciate your feedback and regret to hear that you were not quite satisfied with the guest room as the room size didn't meet your expectations.
If guest prefer working in room and need more space for work, then the best option is Business Class room or Suite. We also provide free WiFi internet in all hotel so there are possibilities to work in the sky – Skyline bar on 26th floor or Lobby bar on 1st floor.

Hope you give us a chance to do better next time and we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!

With kind regards,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Ridzene Hotel
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
0.6 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Address: Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Riga
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#19 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#23 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, Riga. Offering the most impressive views over both the Old Town and central Riga, this hotel is famous for its lively atmosphere and wealth of entertainment options including the trendy and stylish Skyline bar with its fabulous city views from the 26th floor and the brand new and conceptually unique ESPA Riga spa facilities. 571 comfortable guestrooms including 197 Standard Class, 332 Superior Class, 38 Business Class rooms, 3 Suites and one luxurious Presidential Suite. Many rooms with charming views of the Old Town. The Esplanade restaurant offering one of the best International cuisine buffets in Riga, alongside its a la carte menu. Urban and trendy Skyline Bar with the best view in the city and D’vine Bar offering tasty tapas and wide selection of wines. ESPA Rīga - an exclusive five star spa facility with luxurious interior design. Modern and multifunctional Conference & Event center featuring 15 rooms including largest meeting room Omega with maximum seating capacity of 1100 delegates. 24 hr casino and Latvija Shopping Arcade. Underground parking (for additional fee). Free WiFi - free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Rezidor, Agoda, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reval Hotel Riga
Reval Hotel Latvija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.