We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room in Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET AN AMAZING 30% OFF
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tiny Room in Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are four Radisson Blus in Riga, three within walking distance of each other. The one we stayed in is located on Elizabetes and is the one with the high tower. The yardstick by which we measured this Radisson Blu is a Radisson Blu that we stayed in when we visited Spit, Crotia in April 2012. By this measure, the Riga hotel is clearly inferior, as the Split hotel room was spacious, modern, and very well appointed.

We stayed in the new north wing on the 4th floor. Our Lonely Planet guide book describes the rooms as "cosy"; I would use word "small," even a bit cramped. My wife thought the counter space in the bathroom was inadequate. The bed was comfortable.

The brakfast buffet was quite good, with options for everyone. The dining room is pleasant with slow service due to crowds of people. (I waited five minutes for the muesli bowl to be re-filled.)

The hotel has a large TV screen in the lobby, giving a four-day weather forecast. Nice touch.

There is a very large park across the street. Please do not walk in the park until it is light. I hit an uneven surface which I did not see, fell, and my ribs are sore to this day.

If there was a "good" category between "average" and "very good", I would categorize this hotel as "good." Since there is not, and given our tiny room, I'll go with he rating of "average."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear VeganChela!

We appreciate your constructive feedback and regret to hear that you were not quite satisfied with the guest room as the room size didn't meet your expectations.

I want to ensure you that we take guest comments seriously as they help us in our plans to further planning of guest room renovation and improve standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we will do our best to make you next visit to our hotel pleasant.

With kind regards,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    351
    113
    25
    16
See reviews for
71
196
46
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were a group of women on a spa holiday and the hotel was the perfect place. The ESPA spa facility was co-joined to the hotel itself, highly recommended. The skyline bar on the 26th floor had an amazing view, great service and a wonderful atmosphere! It was a good idea to have a separate elevator to the bar which went only to the 26th floor and ground floor. This allowed hotel guests to have their privacy getting to their rooms with their own elevators! Great location as it was 10-15 minutes walking distance to the old town! Our rooms were in top form and very comfortable! Breakfast was great, however they could invest more in fresh fruits as some of the fruit selection looked and tasted like they came out of a tin.
During our stay we experienced bad service from the reception staff, not all just one in particular! We felt as we were always a bother to this person and before we could finish a question about something, we were cut off with negative feedback and hardly a smile. Other than this our stay was excellent and we are already considering a trip back to Riga and will be staying at this hotel. However, we will ask to speak to another receptionist if this certain person is still there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Theo_H2O!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija with other travelers.
I was pleased that you were happy with most aspects of your stay and especially that you enjoyed our ESPA Riga and Skyline bar. Thank you again for detailed review.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!

Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away. We found the hotel very busy, with a business conference taking place, however the reception staff were very helpful, and looked after us while we were there.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, its located about 15 minutes from the city centre. Being sistuated a little out of town does allow you to walk through the park, and past the World War 2 memorial. There were a few beggars around the park when we visited Riga, although we never felt intimidated at any point.

We used the Sky Line bar, Reception bar and Casino. We found all the staff helpful and friendly. All the drinks were reasonably priced, Captain's & Coke was a favourite.

The rooms are of a good standard with nice views over the city. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast, however the selection was pretty varied in a morning. The only problem we had was that the small Chipolata sausage's appeared to be made entirely from Salt.

Overall I thought this Hotel was excellent. It ticked every box for us, and we will definately use it again when we visit Riga next.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Edward L!

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice feedback about Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija and Riga with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read about your positive experience during your stay in our hotel and especially that you enjoyed our Skyline bar. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we are glad that the service was on high level.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!

All the best,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed one night in the hotel while we visited Latvia.

The hotel is well located, like 5-10 minutes walk to the city centre and to the shopping mall. The reception staff was very nice and helpful.

We had a room with a beautiful view on Riga. The room as such was average, very clean. The bathroom was very clean although quite boring as it was completely white and reminded me of hospital:)

The breakfast was very good, lot of variety. Capuccino etc. must be ordered but was for free.

We also went to the Skylinebar on Friday night. We found it strange that it was not possible to book a table despite the fact that we were customers. Moreover, we had to pay an entrance fee - although it is not much, only like 4 EUR, we believe that clients of the hotel should not pay as a matter of principle. The bar had a nice view on Riga, the ambiance was so and so, plenty drunk men...but this was somehow expected after reading reviews about Riga. The music the DJ played was good. The worst thing were drinks - we ordered a margharita and some other drink and honestly, these were undrinkable. The waitress, who was not very friendly, brought us extremely sweet liquid with no alcohol...I cannot understand how those men could have got drunk..

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible as you will be able to enjoy a great view on Riga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Myska74!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija with other travellers.
I was pleased that you were happy with most aspects of your stay. Thank you again for detailed review and suggestions.
Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced in our Skyline bar. I can understand your disappointment regarding the Skyline Bar entrance fee and would like to inform you that bar entrance is free of charge for guests of Business Class rooms and Suites as well as for Club Carlson Customer loyalty program Gold and Concierge tier card holders. We will be always happy to offer you complimentary upgrade to Business Class room upon availability during your next stay here in Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija.

I would like to let you know that we are very glad that you took your time and effort to write comments about Skyline Bar. This is helping us a lot in order to improve the service and drinks quality in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we will do our best to make you next visit to our hotel pleasant.

Best regards from Riga,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is pretty comfortable and a good option for a business trip to Riga. It is conveniently located, just a short walk from the old town.

I was pleasantly surprised to get breakfast included with my room, and can't fault this at all for the range and quality of food on offer. The restaurant also appears to be open for lunch and dinner and reasonable rates.

My room was not especially large with an uninspiring view, but clean and comfortable enough. The shower, however, needed expert guidance to get an acceptable temperature. When I arrived my wardrobe sliding-door was not properly attached - not a good sign, but it was promptly and effectively fixed when I notified Reception. The free wifi was advertised as being in the lobby only, but seemed to work in all the rooms.

A particular highlight is the fitness center, which guests are allowed to use in the early morning (sadly not all day). The equipment was very modern and plentiful.

I was a bit surprised that although my bed was changed each day, the minibar was not restocked and also not the hotel toiletries (probably because they assumed I wanted to use my own which were on display).

On the first night (Sunday) I went up to the top-floor bar which is reputed to have good views of Riga. I was shocked to see that they charged everyone - including hotel guests - an entrance fee just to get in. Needless to say, I turned straight around and never returned, even on a weekday when the fee is not charged. I have no idea if this policy is to deter non-guests or riff-raff, but it left me with a negative impression. A bar should be open to all.

Overall, a pretty safe bet, even if a little tatty on the edges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Rachel12000!

We really appreciate your feedback which helps us in our plans to further improve the standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests.

I can understand your disappointment regarding the Skyline Bar entrance fee and would like to inform you that bar entrance is free of charge for guests of Business Class rooms and Suites as well as for Club Carlson Customer loyalty program Gold and Concierge tier card holders. We will be always happy to offer you complimentary upgrade to Business Class room upon availability during your next stay here in Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms a very small – they should change the classification from “Superior Room” to “Tiny Room”. Impossible for two people to manage to stay. Probably it was great during communist rule 30 years ago. Today it should be acceptable with the budget tourists from Europe. Regular US hotels have bathrooms bigger than those tiny rooms.

The hotel’s lifts and reception area was not designed to handle hordes of tourists. When a bus arrives it is impossible to get through the tiny lifts and anxious tourists with huge suitcases. This pandemonium is very comical but frustrating since many guests do not know how to use elevators and don’t know the basic elevator etiquette of letting riders out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Misha1v!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija with other travellers.
I was pleased that you were happy with most aspects of your stay. Thank you again for detailed review and suggestions.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again in near future.

All the best from Riga,
Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was our 2nd time stay at this hotel and we weren't disappointed! Great location! About 15 min drive from the airport. Don't pre-order cabs! Just get one @ the airport (they’ll charge you double if you pre-order one on-line). Free Wi-Fi. Our rooms were good size, clean, and quiet. Loved breakfast @ the hotel. It could get a bit crowded but never shortness of food. Visit hotel's Sky bar for a great view! Hotel is about 10-15 min walk from the old town. If it’s your first time in Riga, take a tour of the old town (about 3 – 3.5 hrs). If you need a tour guide, I’d be happy recommend the one we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinsPriedite, Hotel Administration at Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Ella B!

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice feedback. We are happy to read about your positive experience during your stay in our hotel and especially that you enjoyed our Skyline bar. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we are glad that the service was on high level.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best!

Martins Priedite
Hotel Administration
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija

Address: Elizabetes 55, Riga LV-1010, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riga
#9 Business Hotel in Riga
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#30 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, Riga. Offering the most impressive views over both the Old Town and central Riga, this hotel is famous for its lively atmosphere and wealth of entertainment options including the trendy and stylish Skyline bar with its fabulous city views from the 26th floor and the brand new and conceptually unique ESPA Riga spa facilities. 571 comfortable guestrooms including 197 Standard Class, 332 Superior Class, 38 Business Class rooms, 3 Suites and one luxurious Presidential Suite. Many rooms with charming views of the Old Town. The Esplanade restaurant offering one of the best International cuisine buffets in Riga, alongside its a la carte menu. Urban and trendy Skyline Bar with the best view in the city and D’vine Bar offering tasty tapas and wide selection of wines. ESPA Rīga - an exclusive five star spa facility with luxurious interior design. Modern and multifunctional Conference & Event center featuring 15 rooms including largest meeting room Omega with maximum seating capacity of 1100 delegates. 24 hr casino and Latvija Shopping Arcade. Underground parking (for additional fee). Free WiFi - free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reval Hotel Riga
Reval Hotel Latvija

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.