We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but i dont recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viktorija Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viktorija Hotel to your Saves list
Viktorija Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Caka Street 55, Riga 1011, Latvia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Treviso
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cheap but i dont recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

if you are allergic to dust it's not your place: old carpet in the room, and i think the curtains were very dusty as well.Impossible to switch off the heater in the bathroom, so we suffered the heat all night long. breakfast is served in a nearby place where the quality of the food is really poor, so if you decide to stay here i recommed to pay only for the night without b/fast. Downtown is 15-20 min walk, They have a small private car park and we could leave it also after check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
5
15
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

i spent 1 night with 2 friends and surelly i will never go back there . We paid cash and they didnt give us our change. It was less than 10 euros but i really cant accept this "philosophy" of getting "tips". Hotel is a really old style , we asked 3 single beds but we got 1 double bed and one single bed. They asked us extra money when we asked to change the beds

It is located near the city center but avoid to pay by cash unless you want lose your money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Rusia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was the best offer for 3 persons - I've got a family room which actually has two rooms for a reasonable price. Before we arrived I changed my reservation twice and the personnel did their best to help me. The hotel is located a little far from historic center but it can be reached in just 10 minutes and it's not a problem at all. Our rooms were spacious, may be too spacious, because rooms looked a little "empty" - I guess some decoration would make them a bit more cozy. I can't say anything about breakfast as it wasn't included but where is one of the "Lido" restaurants near the hotel.
Generally I was satisfied my stay in this hotel - it was cheap, clean and not far from center, so I can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed in a family room.
It's good that we were not charged for our children.
There was no bed-clothing at one of beds when we entered the room first time.
The parking has a limited number of lots, so don't hesitate to try
to book that in advance. The situation of hotel is quite comfortable
for walks: Riga's old centre is 15 minutes by foot.
It's little bit noisy if you upen the windows looking at the street.
There was no freezer and fan as it was stated during booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was disappointed during my staying in the hotel. Room was not really clean and there were no facilities at all. We also had some problem with hot water. This Russian-style hotel was very scary and I do not reccomend it at all

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our decision to stay in Viktorija Hotel was based solely on its great location and affordable price. We were surprised to see that it's quality of services extended beyond our expectations. Spacious room was cleaned every other day and people working at reception desk were helpful to answer any question we had. I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for enjoyable stay in Riga.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

7 of us stayed at the hotel for a stag do. We had been booked in a 4 star but got bumped due to double booking. We were not happy but we got double/triple rooms and junior suite. I took the junior suite as I snore like a wild boar.

The decor is dated. The rooms were clean. The staff were friendly. We were not rushed to check out. They opened bar for us when we got back in from a night out. It's a 15 minute walk into town. Some restaurants 5 mins walk away. Staff happy to advise and book taxis. And there is free wifi.
Room rates 60 lt for a triple, junior suite 89 lat. you could use this hotel for a cheap weekend away.

Riga was far nicer than I had thought. A friendly place. No experience of being ripped off but check out latest travel advice such as on US embassy site to find out where to avoid.

Bars in the squares seemed best bet for fun, live music, food, friendly staff. We didn't do night clubs so can't give advice. Did go shooting which was good fun; Glocks, AK47 and pump action shot guns. Also Jockey club for gentlemens entertainment. Apparently the only place not to get ripped off. Drinks reasonable price, I didn't want private dance and wasn't pressurised. Sat in smoking room with cigars and beers and seemed like they were happy enough with that.

Room Tip: Tell your mates you snore and get them to cuck you in your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viktorija Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viktorija Hotel

Address: A. Caka Street 55, Riga 1011, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viktorija Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Viktorija is located in one of the main streets of Riga, 15 minutes walk from the Old Town and 15 minutes drive from Riga International Airport. Jugendstil architecture, cozy atmosphere, classic design gives the hotel special charm. All rooms are decorated in a classic romantic style in the best European traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Viktorija Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viktorija Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.