We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konventa Seta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Konventa Seta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Konventa Seta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 11 Kaleju st, Riga 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in mid-September. Let's start by getting the "bad" out of the way - the hotel bar was closed for the whole of September. Given that the area is surrounded by bars and cafes, it wasn't a major problem. The location is ideal. Several buildings around a cobbled street/courtyard. Our second floor room was comfortable, spacious, clean and had a lovely view of St Peters church a few metres away. It was cleaned regularly and extra pillows were provided without fuss. Breakfast was the usual continental fayre (which we happen to love) - cheese, breads, cakes, fruit, cereals, porridge, eggs etc. The staff were brilliant - my request for a train timetable to Majori resulted in not only a timetable but also a map (drawn by the receptionist) of Jurmala showing the stations, sea and footpath. The hotel is located in the centre of the old town surrounded by churches, restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. For a budget hotel its location, facilities and helpful staff make it highly recommended and worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Yorkshire-hiker,
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Konventa Seta and for sharing your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by renovation of our lobby bar during September. As you already mentioned a lot of bars and cafes are available around and also our hotel restaurant Ambiente and summer terrace were serving our guests. The good news are that now the Golf Bar is open and welcomes our guests!
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, comfort and cleaness of your room, our breakfast and service provided by our staff.
We hope you will return in the near future to Hotel Konventa Seta!
Regards,
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    162
    57
    22
    6
See reviews for
52
109
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hi
After reading all the reviews before i booked, i was quite positive....but i must admit i was a bit disappointed:(
Pros: In the centre, very convenient, quiet if you get the right room! Breakfast was good. Refrigerator for drinks etc

Cons: though the room with small kitchenette( which had no utensils! - not that i was planning to cook!) was good size, it lacked soul. Furniture was very basic, lighting very poor 3-4 small reading lamps and no central main light.
Bathroom was TINY! Shower was soo awkward, no surrounds! Toilet behind the door, very inconvenient.
BED- bad mattress and pillows just awful- soft and lumpy! Hate bad pillows:((
Very small tele, English channels available though.

All in all, just ok...would definitely choose another hotel, many nice ones around as Riga is fairly compact city, you are never far away from most attractions on foot. Other good hotels were cheap too...there are three Radissons!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruta L, Manager at Konventa Seta Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hottrotter40, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit!
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and breakfast served.
All the negative moments you have pointed out in your review will be discussed with our Management Team and we hope very much that the situation can be improved.
Once again thank you for your detailed feedback!
Ruta Luksa
Reservation Manager
Konventa Seta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was big but not cosy. Few furnitures and a lot of empty space. Some cracks in the white painting on the walls that started turning yellow. Perfect location in the centre of old town. Close by is a nice park area along the old moat around the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Konventa Seta hotel is great. It is located in the heart of the old town, with everything within easy walking distance. Despite the central location the hotel is in a side road that isn't noisy and has a local feel. The hotel rooms are a good size and have an individual charm that you don't get in the main, big, chain hotels. The breakfast was good and the staff really helpful and did everything to make our stay as good as possible. Will be back for sure when we are next in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I think the Konventa Seta is great hotel. Ofcourse you do pay a bit more for it, but I think ranging from the service, to room size and cleansiness of the rooms it's very very good. I couldn't really fault it, maybe the only thing if I had to would be the bathroom could be a little bigger. Though that is just picking on something very small. So 5 stars for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We changed into this hotel since we were cheated by wellton old Riga palace. Here we received excellent service. Stayed 2 nights in junior suite. The suite was spacious and nice. The location in the heart of old town was just perfect. Breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Konventa Seta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konventa Seta Hotel

Address: 9 / 11 Kaleju st, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Konventa Seta Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Konventa Seta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konventa Seta Riga
Hotel Konventa Seta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konventa Seta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.