We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above a night club ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Teddy Bear Hostel Riga

Save Saved
You added Teddy Bear Hostel Riga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Teddy Bear Hostel Riga
3, Vecpilsetas, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty lodging in Riga
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Above a night club ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel is clean, cheap, central and friendly. Ordinarily I would have happily given four or five stars.

Sadly it was let down by the nightclub somewhere in the immediate vicinity. On the top floor I could hear head banging, violently loud music every night from ~1 to 7am which made sleep impossible. It was utterly unbearable

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I slept in many hostels in different countries all over the world, but i have to say that this is one of the best i've ever been.

Everything was great already from the beginning: since my flight was arriving early in the morning they arranged a night shift just waiting for me.

Then the place is very good: the rooms are clean, with new furnitures, comfy beds, hot shower, really equipped kitchen, with always plenty of tea and coffee, that can also be a good place to meet and chat with people. They also include breakfast (bread and jam, not a Grand Hotel breakfast, but for 5€/night it's much more than enough).

The girls at the reception are very nice, all of them, always polite and helpful, always trying to arrange a solution.

The position it's perfect, inside the old city of Riga, but at the same time very close to train&bus stations (3 mins walking).

Finally, on the last day, since i had my bus late at night, they kept my baggage stored all the day and they let me use all the facilities in the hostel.

So, what else? If u're coming to Riga and searching for a great place to stay, here u have to go!

Room Tip: I tried both the dorms (4-bed and 6-bed) and they're both good, maybe the 6-bed more bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First of all this hostel has a perfect location close to the bus station and the very city center and the beautiful river as well. Lots of bars and restaurants are near the hostel. Deluxe room is a really big and cozy for a reasonable price. Breakfast is just a bread with jam so better to go out. Door to the toilet ask for repair and not a very clean bathroom were the only one unexpected things.
Overall experience nice and comfortable place in the center of Riga.

Room Tip: I have no idea about dorms, but deluxe room is really big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived late afternoon by bus from Vilnius, It didn't took us much time to find hostel after picking up map from Tourist information office at Station,

Felt dizzy a bit taking spiral stairs four floors up, watching Teddy sings on the way. The Receptionist was friendlier and welcoming to give us time and comfort to check in, We booked twin bed which was another floor up, The room was spacious with three large windows (offering us pretty good view of church and incoming sunlight), a small dressing table, a couch and a coffee Table.

The kitchen is modern equipped with all necessary amenities available in had to prepare a nice meal after tiring journey, The bathroom is closed to kitchen with long tub and hot shower 24x7, It was relatively quiet floor as there were only two rooms.

If you happen to have extra time, take a day visit to nearby city called Sigulda, It's famous for scenic Autumn views, Our receptionist had been there day before and recommended us.

On our last day of check out, Receptionist was really kind to us to leave luggage and allow to use Kitchen and Restroom after checkout.

I hope you will enjoy your stay as we did.

Travelpunter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was my first time in hostel well its realy surprising good ! I was in a six mixed bedroom and the travellers from all over the world gives me a lot of info and where correct. The staff, young woman,are overt here 24/24 h and answerd my questions better than in the books ! My stay was 14 days ! And yes it takes some energy to the Teddy Bear floors , but you do it ones,twices a day ! And yes the breakfast is small, but correct bread toast, confiture and hot coffee! I prepared me crushed agss and fresh salmon directly from 'Stockmans' thats super de luxe and cheap for us from the West ! The sanitiar on the upper floor is picobello and totaly new, on the lower floor its older but ok and all very clean. Its in the center of Riga the Unesco area and I will go back when I am in Riga ! Goodluck Teddy Bear.

Room Tip: If you are alone take the six bedroom! For couples its more couple friendly to take private room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I do fancy a change and time to time opt for youth hostel or log cabin instead of my favourite historical palaces turned to classy hotels. That shift reminds me pennyless backpacking years while on university course and enables to teach class (i.e. social strata) lessons to my children. Cheap stay is not always that bad as it may look from business class seat, it’s often straight different. For nominal money taken by a hostel or Mongolian yurt dweller you get superior experience compared to standard faceless hotel.

Our Riga-based friends suggested we’ll try a Teddy Bear hostel. It was roughly a year in operation and seemed to have interesting theme option, loved by children. Suggestion proved true 101%.
It’s surprisingly
* very clean (strangely for such a budget place, I even saw dedicated housemaid scrubbing a staircase),
* very peaceful (innocent name shags off all but few blind-slipped party animals),
* very friendly (nice staff girls sort out every question and could probably tell you more about modern Latvia that full-time course on social change in post-Soviet society elsewhere )
* And it’s very central and very cheap, as a good hostel definitely should be.

Room. We’d taken deluxe double with stunning mediaeval city view: Sunny, large even for 02 adults and 02 children, real-oak floors, a sofa and - you never guess – authentic Chippendale's theme cabinet; absolutely unique feature for a budget hostel!

Kitchen: small, but adequately stuffed with microwave, kettle, freezer, all adds and odds.

Bathroom: a 3+* hotel standard, - far better then normal hostel, - on 4th floor, but much poorer value on lower floor.

Breakfast: obviously poor. How you can expect Eggs Benedict, paying 7-10 euros per night, already inclusive of tea / coffee / home-made jam / etc ?? Pizzeria Pomodoro just outside hostel door will take that amount for same tea / coffee / home-made jam, but will laugh off suggestion to add overnight’s sleep in cosy secure home-like environs )

What’s bad:
* staircase, no elevator - you need to march 3-4 levels up. That keeps you energy-charged, but may distract someone. Staff say elevators were not invented yet when 17-th century block had been put in use )
* misplaced party crazies may spoil occasionally the atmosphere with blunt complaints like no-table-dancing-after-midnight / no-chance-to-vomit-the bathroom.

Hints.
* Take deluxe room. It’s far better in quality then average 3* hotel and costs twice less.
* Do not rely on local breakfast. There are plenty choices outside for nominal charge.
* Spare time for a talk with different staff girls – they are unique source for all you need in Riga.

Room Tip: * Take deluxe room. It’s far better in quality then average 3* hotel and costs twice less. * Do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The only positive things of this hostel are the placement and the price. It's ugly, dirty, old.. everything is falling to pieces.. the "breakfast" is bread and milk left out of the fridge for 4 hours.. the bathrooms are horrible, the towels are so old that even my granny would refuse them..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teddy Bear Hostel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teddy Bear Hostel Riga

Address: 3, Vecpilsetas, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Teddy Bear hostel Riga" - your Riga home, cozy & cute. Good for safe play, very good for happy nap. Superbly located in the very heart of Old Riga (VecRiga), family owned, very safe and peaceful; Teddy's hostel provide almost every amenity you might be looking for: free wi-fi, free PC/Internet, free tea/coffee unbounded supply, cycles on hire, free continental breakfast, 24-hours reception. As you find yourself in Riga, walk just 06 minutes from Central Bus station (350 metres), or 08 minutes Central Rail terminal (450 metres). See you at Teddy’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Teddy Bear Hostel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teddy Bear Hostel Riga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.