We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilimanjaro

Kilimanjaro
Raina Boulevard 21, Riga, Latvia
+371 27 724 437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 635 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International, European, Continental, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Kilimanjaro, one of the city’s best gourmet restaurants located in the heart of Riga, just opposite the Latvian National Opera. Our cuisine boasts a wide range of culinary influences from South Africa to Northern Europe and our wine list includes a unique selection of fine wines from South Africa as well as the New and Old Worlds. The team at Kilimanjaro is dedicated to make every visit a memorable experience.
oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice restaurant with tasty food. Ok prices and good service. I paid more for the same quality other places. I recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a very good experience here previously. But this time, my experience was quite different. I again had the same dish - the eggplant with tofu. This time I asked them to cook the tofu rather than serve it raw. Previously I thought it was some creative decision on the part of the chef to not cook the tofu. Personally I had never tried raw tofu before and even raw restaurants do not serve raw tofu. However, now I suspect it was not a creative decision at all, but rather a mistake in not knowing much about vegetarian food. Although in photos it may look like the tofu is raw, when the tofu looks like it is raw in a dish in photos, usually it means it has been steamed. The eggplant which had been cooked well before, this time was not cooked well and was bitter. The tofu was soft tofu and I prefer firm tofu that does not break up when it is cooked.

The service was also not as good this time as previously. Perhaps it was an off night, but it will be a while before I try it again. I also recommend that they start cooking the tofu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful, delicious surprise cuisine in Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One would not expect to fins a restaurant named Kilimanjaro in Riga, nor the delicious menu with an African flair offered by this establishment. Although I chose the lamb, a variety of African game dishes are offered. The lamb was fantastic.
The dinner was to celebrate a birthday after enjoying a matinee at the National Opera across the street. We were fortunate to have the owner and manager, Gatis Banders, serve us, explain the menu and share the enthusiasm and plans he has for his restaurant. Mr. Banders was an attentive and delightful host. His recommendations for wines, dessert and meals were spot on. He even offered a taste of a unique South African sweet wine, whose bottle shape has a history with the Lewes, Delaware area, my home town. Ask him about the Groot Constantia.
As Riga prepares for the Song Festival as well as other major events over the next year, should you visit the city, stop and enjoy Kilimanjaro. You will be delighted.
Prices are in line with downtown upscale restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Waiter/owner not very polite. Food was poor and overpriced. Most of the menu is not African and we ate from the European menu. The decor is nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great welcone, fantastic food, friendly waiters, good wine selection... Just faultless! Will definitely come back at my next visit in Riga!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilimanjaro also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilimanjaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.