We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Index Cafe

Index Cafe
32 Brivibas Boulevard, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
+371 67 28 77 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 566 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Bakery, Vegetarian, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The world famous coffee LAVAZZA from price starting as low as EUR 1.30!Fresh salads, wok food, tortillas, sandwiches, pastries, croissants, cakes and much more... WiFi free of charge!
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stylish Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

It's very stylish with fabulous staff and outstanding service. Well balanced business lunch option and value for money. Has almost every time pleasant tunes on ranging from jazz to blues, house and lounge music. I'm a frequent customer for the last 4 years and go usually for lunch and sometimes for evening snacks. On top of it, it's home of the best espresso in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great espressos & refreshing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were looking for a cafe that opened a bit earlier than the rest on the weekend and would have been happy with just average coffee in an average cafe - we didn't expect to stumble across Index Cafe with its warm and friendly early morning service, great espressos and comfortable modern interior. And to boot, they serve up healthy minded foods, which we will definitely return to to try again since we had such a positive experience here.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Okay coffee, but don't bother with the brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The coffee here is okay, but I wouldn't bother with the brunch. I've been twice to the Pārdaugava Index for brunch, and both times I've noticed that portions of the tastier items (smoked salmon for example) are very limited, and when they end (before noon both times) they are replaced with things such as potato salad. It's also full of children at the buffet table putting their hands all over the food and people bringing dirty plates to the buffet to get more food Yuk.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

One of those cafes promoting a healthier lifestyle in Riga. They offer mininalist but high quality food at reasonable prizes. There is business lunch consisting of three courses below 5 lat. The muesli is especially delicious. Tastes a bit like they preserve the fruits somehow in whatever. Ambience also rather minimalistc, audience rather young folks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“Very nice cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've been to all three Index Cafes. The one on Brivibas has especially good cheese croissants and good baristas ensure good coffee as well as friendly service. Their business lunch has improved and now includes a vegetarian option. They also have a vegetarian eggplant sandwich which is good if you want to grab something to go when you are in a hurry. I usually ask for the lunch special without sour cream but one time it came with sour cream and when I mentioned it, they took it away and brought me another one. That kind of excellent service is pretty rare because at some places not only will they not take any special requests, they will get mad at you for even asking. On another occasion I had the tom yum soup and since it was my first time trying it, I didn't know it came with shrimp, so I removed the shrimp myself. When they came to take away my bowl, they said that next time, they could make it without shrimp without my even having said anything. Really great service.

I've also eaten Sunday brunch at the Index Cafe at Panorama Plaza by Spice Mall. The brunch is good and usually if I am going to Spice and it is a Sunday I will stop first and eat brunch there. I appreciate that they put the chicken in the chicken caesar salad in a separate bowl from the lettuce so that people can add it, if they want to but vegetarians can also eat it without the chicken. The dressing is also on side which is nice so that people can add as much or as little dressing as they want. They also put the feta cheese for the Greek salad off to the side so that if someone is vegan or lactose intolerant, they can have the Greek salad.

Index Cafe has many nice vegetarian options for dinner such as vegetables with various types of sauce such as teriyaki, various curry sauces, etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Index Cafe also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Index Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Index Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.