We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a change from Vincents...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biblioteka No1

Biblioteka No1
Terbatas Iela 2, Riga LV - 1050, Latvia
20225000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 615 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you want a change from Vincents...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Were planning on dinner at Vincents, our normal "posh dinner" choice in Riga, but read in the local paper that Biblioteka No1 had come second in a recent survey so gave it a try! No surprise to find that the chef Maris Jansons worked with a certain Mr Ritins for many years at Vincents! Service was slightly haughty at first, but she thawed with time :-) Starters of gazpacho were tasty, I opted for "tuna pearl" which was beautiful - tuna sashimi style, large portion! Main was duck for me, which was soft, although skin could have been a tad crispier, but cherries were perfect. Winner for our party of four was the lobster meat with scallops and tiger prawns, although there wasn't a huge amount of the top billed lobster meat. Deserts were quite interesting, flavoursome sorbets, and works of visual art on the plate. Wide selection of wines (all Italian) with corresponding wide selection of prices - knowledgeable, polite sommeliers. Pleasant location sitting outside in the summer for dinner (but do book, place was full on a Weds night). Loos unisex and cramped :-( Overall a good experience, but doesn't get close to Vincents for me in terms of service, taste or value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    93
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
211 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice, especially the terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

During warm summer night,Bibliotek's summer terrace is the place to be. Good food, professional sommelier and daily special menus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Classy. Excellent food and service. If you have a special occasion this is the restorant to celebrate and remember. The interior is very elegant and modern. Courtesy drink from Maris at the end was just lovely!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice and plan on visiting it as often as I'm in town ;) It is at the moment my favorite restaurant in Riga, and some of the dishes I've tried are probably the best in their kind I have ever had. This is the type of restaurant I would happily take my business partners to, as I trust fully that the staff knows how to take care of guests and the chefs clearly know how to create dishes that both look and taste fantastic. Or I'd just as happily visit the place with my spouse as the restaurant deco is quite romantic!

The CLC goat cheese appetizer is extremely good, and for mains the veal fillet is definitely worth trying! It is an incredibly well balanced dish. As for dessert, I would recommend the conversion of CLC cheesecake. When I first had it and they brought it to my table, I wasn't sure what to expect as the dish looked unlike any other dessert I've ever seen, and it didn't really give anything away about how it would taste. But it was perfect - like fireworks in my mouth! The secret is (in my opinion) that they have added a lot of different textures so it's simultaneously crunchy, soft, sticky etc. But again, it's very balanced so everything goes very well together.

As for drinks - they have an extensive wine list and I would just recommend trusting the sommelier.

When it comes to pricing... It is definitely a bit more expensive than some other restaurants in Riga, but in my honest opinion, it's worth paying a bit more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent food & service. Decorations and furnishing were really interesting and beautiful. Unhappily prices were really high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biblioteka No1 also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Biblioteka No1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biblioteka No1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.