We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aleks

Aleks
24, Jauniela, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
+37167212416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Aleks Restaurant opened in February 2011 and is located in one of the buildings with a hundred years old history. Cozy furnishing, personal approach and sincere Latvian hospitality will amuse any time of year.Chefs of the restaurant Aleks created an extraordinary menu. The combination of rustic interior, as well as elements of traditional and modern kitchen, creates unmemorable moments of solitude that can distract you from the big city rush and transfer into a world where you can enjoy the dishes from high quality Latvian products. Wine list geography will surprise with its variety and quality every refined client.
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I like this restaurant.the service is nice and food is great. Although the soup is a little salty for me ,I will still recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The restaurant is attached to the Justus Hotel and serves a very nice breakfast. I also went for dinner. I had the starter of peach carpaccio with parma ham and raspberry sauce. It was a variation on th fruit-with-parma-ham theme that was inventive without being goofy. I really enjoyed it. For the main course I had the roasted duck breast on a bed of snow-peas. The peas had a chestnut sauce and were perfectly cooked. The duck had a cherry sauce that was very nice, but the duck itself was over-cooked. The atmosphere and service were boh good. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We liked the interior design. It was executed in 30s style and supplemented with different antique Latvian household articles. Personnel was friendly, but a bit overloaded as it was a holiday. About the food we have different impressions. My husband liked the pork, it was juicy and low-fat with redcurrant sauce. I had a grilled turkey garnished with grilled zucchini, but I didn't like it at all, I think the meat was not fresh or maybe even tainted, I couldn't eat it. Zucchini wasn't much. Dishes were well decorated with different sauces and thyme. Prices are fair, Riga average.
If I didn't have trouble with turkey, I would love this place.

Here is a website of the restaurant:
http://www.hoteljustus.lv/partners.html?l=4

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenerife
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We had the business lunch here, it was very good. We tried the two salads on the menu to start, good size and very flavoursome. We then had the pork with minted potatoes, it was the best pork I have tasted. The complimentary bread and butter was nice and fresh too. With wine (2 glasses each), the bill came to just over 20ls, so it was also good value. We would have eaten here again but there were so many other places we wanted to try. The staff were also very friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit bland.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've had heard a lot of good reviews about this place, so we tried Aleks for dinner. My seafood pasta was perfectly cooked and creamy, but I had to add loads of pepper & salt. My boyfriend ordered pork, which was surprisingly not so fatty as elsewhere in Riga. The meat was tender and soft, but again very bland. There was some sauce with it, but it didn't save as much as it could have. The mint potatoes were interesting.

As for dessert I had a cheesecake. Tasty, but sadly it tasted very not-made-by-hand. The sweet pesto was interesting and went well with cake.

Service was quick, efficient and friendly :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleks also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Aleks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.