We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aleks

Aleks
24, Jauniela, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
+37167212416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Aleks Restaurant opened in February 2011 and is located in one of the buildings with a hundred years old history. Cozy furnishing, personal approach and sincere Latvian hospitality will amuse any time of year.Chefs of the restaurant Aleks created an extraordinary menu. The combination of rustic interior, as well as elements of traditional and modern kitchen, creates unmemorable moments of solitude that can distract you from the big city rush and transfer into a world where you can enjoy the dishes from high quality Latvian products. Wine list geography will surprise with its variety and quality every refined client.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“A good meal at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We found the food here to be delicious and the prices were quite reasonable. The highlight was the black balsam cocktail though - yum!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality with taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

A resturant of quality great intrior with a selection of quality meals - The sweets proved a great hit

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good, very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very friendly staff, that cares about the guests! Situated in a very nice place (quiet street, nice Jugendstil-building, a little apart from the tourist area although in the very center of the town). Had an excellent soup (cheese soup) and a good dish (~meat tortellini with white sauce). I would definitely go there if I were in Riga again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Accidental but Great Choice in Old Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We happened upon this relatively new restaurant whilst looking for the former 'Le Crabe'.
It appears that a group of friends has taken over the adjoining Hotel Justus including the new Aleks Restaurant. They have done a great renovation job!
We arrived for an early dinner having just arived in Riga.
The waitress, Sanda, greeted us warmly and looked after us exceptionally well.
My wife had the potato pancakes with smoked salmon which she said were spectactular and reminded her of those cooked by her Latvian Oma in Melbourne many years ago.
I had the soup of the day which was a thin fish soup with salmon, potatoes and leek; delicious.
We both went for the Turkey breast fillets in creamy mushroom sauce on a bed of potatoe mash for mains. Great choice and nearly too big to finish.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleks also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Aleks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.