We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price of success” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rigensis

Rigensis
Tirgonu 8, Riga, Latvia
(+371) 67 22 30 50
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 635 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Menen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The price of success”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location is great and the variety of bread, buns, cookies and pies makes it difficult to make a choice. I saw the 3 members of staff smoking in some courage around 8.45 in the morning on the outdoors sitting area. By the time I came around 17 o'clock to grab something against the munchies on the returnflight they were all out of courage. Fortunately there was still a lot of baking galore to chose from. But not even a paldies or Luudzu could bring the faintest of smiles upon the staff.
This place is flooded by people coming for the great coffee and cakes. The dream of every shopowner. The staff clearly dispise the work this brings with it. At some point something will have to give, because I can't imagine the owner of the store to be happy with this staff or else I've just haven't been around Riga long enough to grasp the meaning of true Latvian hospitallity.
btw, I call them staff because waitresses bring stuff, these types spillingly fling coffee across the 2 meters it takes from the coffeemachine to the counter and aim cookies into a bag as if they were handling biohazardous material that eats away at their nailpolish running up their beautyparlour bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best cherry strudel ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice local bakery with lots of cakes and tasty coffe. Best dessert during our weekend stay in Riga. Recomended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good coffee and lovely cake and pastries.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the bakery has a nice atmosphere and much space. it is centrally located and therefore a nice stopover during the day. The cakes were really tasty. I liked the cheese cake and the rhubarber pie. the coffee was also better than at some other places. So it's definitely worth a stop. We would come back any time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“a tea break in centre Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The place was very suitable to stop by and have a tea break enjoying some local specialty cake and bakeries. Many of their cakes are lovely and tasteful especially those made with red cherry.

The place is often crowdy and the service a bit rush and expeditive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It's just an average bakery cafe, with self service by the way. The staff was not really friendly or willing to help you with the choice of treat. There is quite a good choice of bakery, cookies or cakes but they are really nothing special. You can meet all them in any other cafe and of the same taste/quality. I ate a pie with custard cream, a chocolate cookie, and my friend took carrot cake. Nothing special really.The plus is that it's not expensive. I paid 3.5 LVL (about 6$) for 2 items and cappuccino (also average, btw). I read about the cafe in the Internet as being the oldest and one of the best. And was disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rigensis also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Rigensis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rigensis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.