We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find near Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Oil Trading Co.

Olive Oil Trading Co.
Pils laukums 4, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
+371 29 533 523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 613 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, International, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: One of the most visited Italian restaurants in Riga has now reopened in new, larger premises.Designed like a 1930s' Italian mafia bar in America with a well thought out design and charming, comfortable surroundings.Home-made pasta, home baked bread, fish and grill are all part of the very fine Italian cuisine. Chef's daily menu is something to consider too. A wide range of wines, cognacs, aperitifs, digestifs and classic Italian cocktails.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find near Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have one of the best meal we have ever had at a restaurant. A special was risotto with blue cheese deep fried and to bite into was divine. Around the corner from the Grand Hotel, this was a real delight. Everything -- food, service and wine were the best

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    50
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Olive Oil Trading Company is on the edge of old town Riga but is worth the visit. The patio is quiet, clean, and a relaxing place to get a meal. Service at the restaurant is top notch as compared to other restaurants in Riga that in my opinion don't live up to western standards. The 1 thing that I would recommend on the menu is bruschetta.

While I would consider this to traditionally be a scenic spot to eat from, the Riga Castle had just had a fire so that took it down a notch, not the restaurants fault though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Meal out in Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I selected Olive Oil because of its rating in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The tagliatelle carbonara was very good as was the pizza. The waiter was friendly and the classical guitarist a bonus. A lovely relaxing evening after a full days walking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mohito ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Dinner in september 2013. Good pasta. Their Mohito was surprislingly good! The best we ever have tasted. Cost a little bit more than other's Mohito, but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had dinner there in August 2013 with 2 children and 2 adults. I had white fish filet with beans- it was very good. The others had pasta. Our son loved his pasta with chicken and sundried tomatoes- it really was wonderful.
Overall it was a very nice place to eat and would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Oil Trading Co. also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Olive Oil Trading Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Oil Trading Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.