We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PROVINCE

PROVINCE
Kungu Street 2, Riga 1050, Latvia
+371 67 222 566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 635 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: PROVINCE is a nice place, where to get to know the traditional Latvian cuisine.
Sandnes, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Great homemade cooking and charming atmosphere. Service is good and staff are a funny bunch. I had a tasty pea soup and beef stew. Everything seemed homemade and with good local produce. Hope to come back sometime!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    158
    31
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Very service-minded friendly staff who do their absolute best to make sure you have a good experience, excellent food (the fish cakes are the best I've had) and very good value for your money. Will definitely return!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good but not as good as Piejura next door!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had good meal - fish starter, then I had the potato cakes with salmon which was very tasty and my husband had beef stroganoff with potatoes. Good beer. However, smaller portions than Piejura. Also staff not as friendly. Worth a visit though!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Find an other retaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The place look nice, but the food was poor. My wifes stroganoff was two spons with meet, but the tast was ok. My pork was dry and with out any gravy.
The waiter was ok

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Nice food but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nice cosy Latvian restaurant with traditional music playing in the background. Attentive waiters. We loved the food but portions were very small especially compared to the meals we had in other restaurants in Riga. We shared chicken livers in cream sauce for starter, then beef stroganoff( in the same sauce) home made roast pork and as we were still hungry ordered another main of pork in a cheesy potato sauce. All meals were very tasty . They charge 4.50 for a glass of wine and if you want a bottle you pay this X 5 which is a little expensive . The whole bill came to over 50 Euro for two people . In high season you would probably need to book as the restaurant only has about 6 tables.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PROVINCE also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to PROVINCE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PROVINCE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.