We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food for a winters evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PROVINCE

PROVINCE
Kungu Street 2, Riga 1050, Latvia
+371 67 222 566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 613 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Latvian, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: PROVINCE is a nice place, where to get to know the traditional Latvian cuisine.
Reading
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food for a winters evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stopped here on our first night in Riga and had a great meal. Hearty, warm, traditional cuisine which was great for the cold winter evening. I had a pork stew with cheese, and my partner had the beef stroganoff - both were delicious. The staff were welcoming and we have a great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    178
    40
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Latvian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Situated by house of the blackheads
Offers very good value traditional Latvian food
My partner had a type of cottage pie topped with cheese and I had a Russian styled soup both very filling

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly little resaurant with authentic Latvian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I dined here one night on our recent trip to Riga.

The restaurant is very homely and comfortable inside - and the locally - based menu of Latvian food is very well cooked and tasty. I had the tasting menu - a little bit of lots of different foods, all well presented and tasty - although I must admit to not being a big fan of the Latvian dessert "Bread soup" - well done, nicely presented but not to my taste at all - at least I tried it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
“Positive place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

nice and friendly personell, really good food. Positive that all food is Latvian cousine. Will be glad to recomend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunleer, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my choice mmmmmmmmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

myself and my wife loved this place, lovely décor, friendly staff, food beautiful , went back to it three times that week, if u order the shoulder of pork don't order and side plates of food...................the waitress does tent to forget that you hav ordered a drink :-) ......but she was so friendly and smiley, you would just tell her its not a bother......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PROVINCE also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to PROVINCE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PROVINCE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.