We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“posh-packing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cow Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Cow Hostel to your Saves list
Blue Cow Hostel
level 3, 4-2B Torna Iela | Old Town, Riga LV1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“posh-packing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A hostel for the upper class of the backpacker community! Absolutely beautiful hostel located in a nice quite area of the old town. The hostel couldn't possibly be cleaner or more modern. The one woman army Kristine, who does everything by herself does an incredible job! Can't fault a thing...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed in this hostel for three days in April 2013. Hostel is clean, rooms are cosy, bathrooms are big and clean too. The stuff is great,helping you wıth anything you need and explaining any info about the city. During my stay i felt like it was my home and didn't want to leave. I would stay there if i visit Riga again someday. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here 2 times, in summer and on new years eve and both times were excellent. This place is more like home rather than hostel. Warm carpets, nice furniture, perfect location, very open and friendly staff.
Dont hesitate what to choose if you want lovely, quiet vacations. Btw they have "brother" hostel with parties and clubbing facilities

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On june 2011 I was strolling through the old town looking for place to stay. The unusuall name of this hostel atrracted me from the very first moment so I jumped in to take a look and decided to stay. I stayed there two nights only because of the train for Moscow which I had to catch but Riga old town and Blue cow hostel definitely will stay in my memory for long time and for sure I `ll go back there. I have only the best words for the host (guy from Australia and his good looking wife from Latvia) they were really like some friends from across the hall, their staff is great and combine this with ocean of good beer in pubs of old town, good looking chicks and great market in the gray part of Riga, those are the best things I am looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed two nights in October in a eight-bed room, but I miss it so much! 10 minute walk to the bus and train stations. It is really a boutique-type hostel, which is like if you stayed at your friend abroad who has quite a big family. I can only confirm the best words of other reviewers.
I could not imagine why I would stay anywhere else if I can go back to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and were very happy with our overall experience. The espresso machine brewed great coffee and the wifi was fast. There's a computer and printer for use. There are drinks and beers for sale for 1 Lat. Gunni was so very helpful in helping us find things to do. She provides maps and brochures too! It was very comfortable and immaculate. The location is in a great area in old town where most of the interest points are. Definitely will stay here again if we come back. Thanks Gunni;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

While Riga itself was a beautiful experience, the Blue Cow Barracks made a stay in the city a pure delight. The hostel is located very much in the center of Riga, in a vibrant neighborhood. It was super tidy, and the staff was extremely helpful. We stayed in the private rooms, and these provided 3 if not 4 star comfort. We really really liked this hostel and wish that there are more such places which we can visit.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family or close friend circle, we recommend the private rooms, where you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Cow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cow Hostel

Address: level 3, 4-2B Torna Iela | Old Town, Riga LV1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Backpackers Hostel in Riga's Old Town. If you want some Extra Comfort, Clean Facilities, Social Atmosphere and a GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP we are the place for you! Come and make our 'Apartment Style' Hostel your backpacking home while in Riga. Full Kitchen, Free WiFi and No Stag Parties!! We have 24hr Local Staff that Live In the Hostel, Free Internet and Printing, The Whole Hostel has Free Wi-Fi, Free Guide Maps, DVDs and Cable TV, Quality Tea, Premium Coffee, Pre-Made Beds, Fresh Linens and a Fresh Towel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Cow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cow Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.