We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cow Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Cow Hostel to your Saves list
Blue Cow Hostel
level 3, 4-2B Torna Iela | Old Town, Riga LV1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just one word : this is perfect !
Located in the heart of Riga old town, a few blocks from the Parliament, this is place is very comfortable, very clean and staff is really helpful.
You can stay there without any fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hostel. It's located in very nice corner of the old town and the place just superb value. Very clean, modern and well run guesthouse. I would definitely recommend this for backpackers or couples exploring riga. Stag party groups hopefully stay in some other guesthouse as i valued the quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hostel is great-perfect location, really clean and the three-person en suite room is huge. We didn't hear anything from the bar/restaurant downstairs, and the staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels I have stayed at. It's on the same street as the War Museum, above a resteraunt. Its an apartment/loft style place with a big communal lounge/kitchen; and then a few dorm rooms on the lower floor (sharing big clean bathroom/laundrey) and a few dorms with their own private ensuites. Upstairs are the private double/triple rooms all with private ensuites. Really nice view from our upstairs room and it was massive for 3 people. There is a fridge with drinks for sale in the kitchen for 1L to have predrinks, bargain. Marika the manager annotates a map of Riga with all the best places so easy to find your way around. It's not a "party" place - you do so much of that at the venues in Riga that it's good to come 'home' to your hostel and chill out and be able to sleep. I'd definately recommend Blue Cow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

4 days i have spent in Riga. This is the place to stay if you are looking for a cheap quiet clean spacious place.

Place is peaceful and this street will be one of the safer streets at night. Away from pubs, drunkards & loud music, so you get a good sleep. If you like pubs, try the Naughty Squirrel hostel instead.

No shoes policy ensures a clean carpeted floor. They have a spacious living room with bean bags and sofa. A fully equipped kitchen, free use of the washing machine & free wifi. Excellent for claustrophobic clean travelers.

Blue Cow is not the nearest to the train station & bus station. But the old city is not big (15 mins walk from one end to the other). Anyone with basic map reading skills will be able to get here.

Marika, the hostel manager, is an excellent host. Cheerful, helpful & informative. Pretty much a one-stop service - tours, pub crawls, rentals can be arranged here.

Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is warm, comfortable, clean and is in a perfect location. The common room, kitchen facilities and staff are top-notch also. They have thought of everything!

There is sometimes a bit of noise coming from bars downstairs, but nothing excessive. Get a room/bunk away from the stairwell to avoid this.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay when visiting Riga. The hostel is very modern spotless clean and the staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#4 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cow Hostel

Address: level 3, 4-2B Torna Iela | Old Town, Riga LV1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Backpackers Hostel in Riga's Old Town. If you want some Extra Comfort, Clean Facilities, Social Atmosphere and a GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP we are the place for you! Come and make our 'Apartment Style' Hostel your backpacking home while in Riga. Full Kitchen, Free WiFi and No Stag Parties!! We have 24hr Local Staff that Live In the Hostel, Free Internet and Printing, The Whole Hostel has Free Wi-Fi, Free Guide Maps, DVDs and Cable TV, Quality Tea, Premium Coffee, Pre-Made Beds, Fresh Linens and a Fresh Towel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Cow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cow Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.