We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink Hotel Riga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink Hotel Riga to your Saves list
Tallink Hotel Riga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Riga
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good, central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and Riga old town is a 10-minute walk away. The rooms are not exceptionally big but are comfortable and warm.
Internet was free and good. Great breakfast selection as well.
If the staff smiled then it would be an excellent choice but that seems to be a common problem in Riga.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    189
    43
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
133
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

As part of a tour of the Baltic states I stayed here for three nights, two nights at the start of the tour and one night at the end. The quality was constantly very good both in room allocation and service.
The breakfast on offer had plenty of choice and large mugs for coffee which is always welcome!
The staff were very helpful with my questions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for wonderful comment on our property and service!

Hotel is open for 2 years and we take great proud of keeping our service level on a constant superb level.

Once again thank You for sharing Your experience on Tripadvisor! Hope to welcome You back as our guest in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Good:
The hotel is clearly new, and is beautifully decorated and very clean. We splashed out on a suite and the lounge area was large and comfortable, the bathroom very large and beautifully tiled with high quality fittings, and a tropical rain shower and deep bath.

The Bad:
The website advertises free high speed internet. This should actually be free limited web browsing, as the internet access comes from their head office in Estonia and various ports on it are blocked. You won't be able to play any Diablo 3 for example, and possibly any other non-web browser internet access type of programme.

The Ugly:
The bed in our suite was of the 'blancmange' or 'jello' variety. It might be fine for a single person, but with two of us, each time one of us raised an eyebrow or twitched in our sleep the other would be jiggled awake. After a dreadful night's sleep, I looked at what we had been lying on. A box spring type base that you could bend down with about two fingers of pressure, with a 2 inch mattress topper on it. I made a point of telling the check-out staff the bed was awful - they hadn't asked how our stay was and showed little interest in this information beyond a 'really?', with no hint of apology or concern.

The rest:
The location is ok - a 15 minute walk from the historic old town, and not in the nicest part of town, but it is quiet at night (friends staying in the old town had a worse night than us because of all the street noise throughout the night). The tea and coffee making facilities (only in the suite) were pretty poor - a kettle with instant coffee, tea and powdered milk. Also we arranged a late check-out but were charged 25 Euro for it, which is always a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We just stayed for one nite in this hotel so we were not so fussy .. otherwize I think the room was very very smallfor a couple, the beds were comfortable but they didn´t have any alternative to the big fat covers so we had to sleep with the sheets only! ( In the hotell we were before had summer blankets for those who prefer a cooler alternative). The chair in the room was without backsupport so were do you put your clothes? Bathroom nice!
The location was good and central, breakfast buffé was Ok! But no coffée facilities in the room - that´s a big minus!

Room Tip: If you´re staying more than one nite you really shoild ask for a bigger room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel clean and warm we were there in march and still very cold outside, we ate out while in riga so not able to comment on food in hotel but very good choice of food for breakfast. hotel is in a good location not far from old town which has good choice of pubs and restaurants.
one problem with hotel was on return from evening out we asked for a cup of coffe in lobby but we were told there was no one was available to help us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for wonderful comments and compliments on our location. We are situated in heart of Riga within 5 minutes walking distance of Old Town and shopping areas, 10 minutes walk from Jugent style district.

Our restaurant Elements provide great choice of food for breakfast -freshly baked bread and pastries, wide choice of cheese and meat, fresh fruits, cook-to-order omelet etc.

Once again thank You for choosing Tallink Hotel for Your stay in Riga and for sharing Your experience on Tripadvisor. Such wonderful comments really motivate Tallink Hotel Riga team to work with even more effort!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this in 2010 opened hotel, nearby the Central Station. The Hotel has ca 250 rooms and is spacious. The standard room is standard in seize but comfortable, with flatscreen tv, minibar, rain shower, free wifi and aircon; the only minor detail was that the window cannot be openend. The breakfast buffet is good, with very nice marinated salmon. The Staff was efficient and spoke fluently English; our request for a early wake up call and taxi reservation were handled well. From the hotel you can easily walk to the old town and other parts of Riga, in and around the hotel are a few good restaurants and the Hotel Bergs restaurant, according to tripadvisor the best in Riga, is 100 metres away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallink_Hotel_Riga, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank You very much for Your great review on hotel property and our services.

Hotel is open for 2 years and we take great proud of keeping our property in superb condition.

Restaurant Elements not only offers enhancing breakfast buffet with wide selection, but although serves a la carte menu with delicious dishes of our Chef de Cuisine Svetlana Riskova.

Thank You for sharing Your experience on Tripadvisor. Hope to welcome You back as our guest in the very near future!

Best regards,

Anastasija Muzira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Ok, location is very good, close to old town and across the street from central station. The hotel itself is quite new and therefore very fresh and it feels very clean.

I personally think it is too designed. Rooms are quite dark and you actually need to walk to the front desk to borrow a lamp if you want to read since the lighting in the rooms are more mood light than normal useful lights. Bathrooms are very nice though.

Restaurant is quite deserted, very few people there and i would say food is average. Breakfast was ok, not more. Gym was small but ok if you are alone there.

Hotel seems to have many guests from the ferry/cruise ships, so there are plenty of children nd older people compared to other hotels with more business people.

Stayed August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink Hotel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Hotel Riga

Address: 24 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink Hotel Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mere five minute walk away from Riga’s unique Old Town and business centre you will find a brand new and modern hotel with a touch of history – the Tallink Hotel Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tallink Hotel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink Hotel Riga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.