We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victory Pub

Victory Pub
Tirgonu 10, Riga LV-1010, Latvia
+371 29 228 310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Pub in the Old Town. Offers more than 20 varieties of beer on tap. Good quality food and generous servings. Sports TV , pool table, smokers room & juke box. Karaoke nights on Thursdays every week.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We popped into the Victory Pub for a beer on the way back to our hotel, which was round the corner. It was early evening on a Saturday so there was a good atmosphere, but it wasn't too busy yet so we got a seat. I liked that it was British-themed but had lots of different beers available - we felt we had to try a local beer instead of sticking to a British one!
It's quite dark inside but cosy and well-decorated. We coincidentally ended up sitting next to a picture of Newcastle upon Tyne, where we live!
I'd recommend for a drink or two if you're passing by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review, we recently changed out identity to become less of an English/British Pub and more of a Pub where anyone can feel relaxed and at home...almost like your local away from home, so to hear that you sat down next to a picture of your home town makes us very happy :)

We hope to see you here again soon, we hope to have some more local beers and more international beers too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hang out place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Popped in there for couple of beers and snacks. Latvian beer was lovely and so was the meat plate. At some point for no apparent reason the staff raised the volume of the music so it was impossible to talk but shortly after they noticed that people around did not like it and turned the volume down again.

Conclusion: nice bar, slightly overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, as we always say its really important to hear what we are doing well and things that we can improve on. I am pleased to hear that our staff realised the situation was no appropriate for loud music, we like to think that all of our staff are open and approachable for this reason.

Although we cant take credit for the Latvian beer (we would love to try) we can take credit for the way its poured and served, I am pleased this was a good experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Place to visit for many reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The favorite pub in Riga for sure.
I met some amazing people in the Victory pub.
Live sports, great choice of the beer and staff.

Back in May!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hey, thanks a mllion for your kind review...it means the world to us knowing that our staff and Beer (the 2 things we care about most after you the customer) are making your trip one to remember. Come back soon and in the mean time spread the word
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place and athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was the part of the pub crawling organized by travel2riga.
I enjoyed it most!
It has great choice of beer, nice food and the best staff.
Thanks!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review, a number of bar crawls stop by The Victory Pub because it has such a great atmosphere...people also love the Karoke nights :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“small and dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

small and dark pub but a friendly pub with quick service.
nice staff who speak very good English.
Does food and its reasonably priced.
Shows live sport on the screens.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoryPub, Public Relations Manager at Victory Pub, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, we think that the low lighting adds to the atmosphere of the pub ;)
We will also pass on your kind comments about the staff, they like to know when there is a happy customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Pub also viewed

 

Been to Victory Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.