We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Riga
mansfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Riga Palace. We liked its position on the edge of the old town yet within a few minutes walk of bars, restaurants and museums etc.

Our room was a standard double which was perfectly adequate for our needs. There is a kettle and tea in the room but no coffee or milk (but there's a supermarket within a few minutes walk). The bed was very comfortable and we did not experience noisy neighbours keeping us awake at night although I imagine it could be noisy if your room was near the lift.
The breakfast is plentiful and varied with something to suit everyone. The daily happy hour in the bar is also worth a try! The bar prices are very good and the minibar in the room is also reasonably priced

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    252
    104
    18
    18
See reviews for
79
226
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Superior room - Nice, large room with balcony . I liked the Coffee/thekettle and iron/ironboard. Perfect location in Old Town. Newly build hotel, but with a old style. Nice staff! Large breakfast,very tasty!
Some in our "extended family" wanted more TV-channels (I think it was enough....)
Next visit to Riga , we want to stay at same hotel if possible!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Hotel is located just a few streets from the city centre, on the 22 bus route from the airport, which is very convenient.
Despite the name, hotel is new and very modern, decorated with lots of marble. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, my only complaint would be the shower box, which is really small, on the other hand you can enjoy a very steamy shower, if you like.
Breakfast is served in the basement, actually there are three rooms there and while the first two can get crowded, third one is a bit concealed and thus always empty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel stands up to its 4* standard. Our room (double cosy) on the top floor offered us good comfort when the rainy October weather took over. The hotel is clean, comfortable and very close to many sights, museums, cafés, restaurants. The only minus we can think of is the soundproofness of the rooms. The walls and the doors seemed to be thin. We did not hear noises from the neighbours but whenever somebody passed our door, it felt like the people were in our room. Same thing with the elevator, which could be disturbing at nights.
Breakfast was very good, everything from fresh sallads and vegetables to local filled pancakes, pastries, dairy products. Everything seemed fresh and well prepared and there was plenty. No fresh juices though.
Good thing for those who are arriving early and leaving late is that the hotel offers a storage room for your luggage (free of charge). The hotel staff speak English but do not expect a friendly chat at the lobby disk. Professional and effective can sum up their attitude which is very good.
Staying at Old Riga Palace made our visit to Riga a very good experience. We can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My fiancee and I found the Old Riga Palace excellent value for money and well placed for exploring Riga's old town. It is a 5 minute walk from the old town center. The accomodation was very clean and well equipped with kettle, iron and a (reasonably priced) mini bar. Beakfast was buffet style with decent selection and quality. We also found serving breakfast until 11am was good after and evening on the Zelta lager!
Riga itself was good for a 3 day visit. It was very clean with a fair amount of sightseeing to be done. Wasn't into the local cuisine but plenty of other options available. Prices were similar to the UK. £2.00-£2.50 for a beer and £30.00ish for a meal for 2... All in all, we enjoyed our trip but Riga is not somewhere I would go back for a second time. PS - went midweek so avoided the stag do's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

First time to Latvia was made a very pleasant stay -as our hotel was so nice and very central. Returned to the bar most evenings for a night cap and was met with a friendly atmosphere. Would recommend this hotel as its position is fab for looking around the Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed in economy double for 2 nights the room was small but served its purpose as place to sleep and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is very easy to get to from airport by bus ( 0.70lts). Bus stop across carpark at airport. Get off at first stop after bus turns right after crossing river go through underpass turn right walk 150-200 yards hotel on street on left sign can be seen from road. The staff are helpful and the breakfast good and plentiful. Would stay at this hotel again if back in Riga.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Wellton Gertrude Hotel
Wellton Gertrude Hotel
#34 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#52 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#58 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#28 Business Hotel in Riga
#28 Family Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel - chic and elegant. Since 2009 Wellton Old Riga Palace 4 star hotel has been serving business travellers and tourists. Hotel's 6-story Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms to the guests that are perfect for leisure and business as well, and has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.