We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms a tad small but at these prices?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 102 hotels in Riga
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rooms a tad small but at these prices?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a standard double room. My one gripe would be the size. It was a tad cosy with a low bed I kept stubbing my foot on. Staff were friendly and efficient - no complaints on that front. The hotel is located on the edge of the old town so there were no noise issues but everything is within easy walking distance. The 22 bus stop is just over the road to the transfer from the airport was a cinch. There is a small bar in the hotel which was more than pleasant. Breakfast - large choice including sparkling wine and vodka shots. Would I stay again - yes, would I recommend yes definitely.

Room Tip: Some rooms don,t have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    211
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
48
162
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Old Riga Palace is a smart hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2013. Staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean and well kept. The location is convenient, but first impressions were a bit put off by the derelict building next door. I'd definitely stay again if I visit Riga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel - we stayed for 3 nights in December 2012. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and kept clean for the duration of our stay.

We had a room on the ground floor and despite complaints from other reviewers that there was lots of noise outside we didn't have any bother.

A couple of complaints with our room - 1) The bed was so creaky it kept us awake for our first nights stay, and for the next couple of nights we had to remember to not move around too much to stop the noise! 2) The room did have a slight smell of damp - though I couldn't see any anywhere!

The breakfast is good - plenty of options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I like to stay in decent hotels with a decent breakfast without paying over the odds. I like to strike a balance between quality and price. I would rather have the spare cash to enjoy the city than feeling like I have to watch every penny because the hotel has cost a fortune. This hotel allowed me to more than do that.
Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with a large bath and plenty of hot water. It had everything we needed - comfortable beds, safe, iron, hairdryer, umbrella, very reasonable priced mini bar, free wi if in rooms, TV (though make sure you request that Hustler channel is turned off if you have children!), extra heater - though it was not needed as the heating/air conditioning was very efficient. and a large decent bathroom. I really liked the location. It was in the old town and very close to some excellent restaurants which would appeal to all tastes. the city is small and as such all sites are within easy walking distance. Close to the market, the railway station and the bus station. Round the corner is a department store with a great, large food department store. A cinema is also within the same complex as the store and made a great option for what to do in an evening.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor with a balcony. Our room was great. Large, clean, plenty of hot wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and loved the place. It's a fairly large hotel right in the centre of the Old Town. Check in was easy and all the staff I encountered at reception, breakfast and room service were really friendly. It was cold in Riga when I stayed with snow on the ground but my hotel room was lovely and warm. There is a gym and a sauna but I didn't use these. Room facilities include a large TV, ensuite, great wifi, in room safe and mini bar. For once the mini bar showed realistic prices. Breakfast was included in my rate and it was really good. Lots of choice, hot and cold, sweet and savoury. And sparkling wine and vodka shots - a great way to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to all travelling categories.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can say all nice things about this hotel. We came as a group of three friends, and spent most of the time just enjoying what the city has to offer. And it has a lot to offer (I highly recommend going to the opera here). The hotel itself is conveniently located within the city center. Ask for a map at the hotel desk, and the city is easy to navigate anyway. Back to the hotel - our room was spacious enough, the service was great, the staff was nice. Breakfast left no complaints. There was even champagne and vodka shots for those in the mood to start their day this way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed three nights Jan 27-30 in a 'superior room', which was first class in every regard and extremely good value vis a vis UK prices. All staff were helpful and pleasant throughout with good English. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide choice of foodstuffs. The location could not be better for walking the Old Town, visiting the Central Markets or using the excellent tram system: in short highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior fifth floor room: well worth the extra (marginal) cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riga
#16 Family Hotel in Riga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel - chic and elegant. Since 2009 Wellton Old Riga Palace 4 star hotel has been serving business travellers and tourists. Hotel's 6-story Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms to the guests that are perfect for leisure and business as well, and has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.