We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located just outside of old town, quiet rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Riga
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Located just outside of old town, quiet rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location of this hotel was not in the center of the action, but a 5-10 minute walk. In my opinion, it was worth the walk to have a quiet room. I would recommend it to others who want a peaceful night's sleep. Something to note, you have to walk past a section of abandoned and construction sites on the 1.5 blocks leading up to the hotel. We never felt unsafe because it was light out quite late and there were many other people around.

PROS:
(1) Quiet room.
(2) Decent breakfast buffet: meats, cheeses, cereals, pancakes, eggs, potatoes
(3) Booked online to get free access to gym and a welcome treat of two dark chocolate bars and a mini bottle of cheap champagne.

CONS:
(1) Room-controlled A/C never really worked, it was probably about 78 degrees (F) in the room. Fine for the day but quite warm (for those of us who like it cold) at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    252
    104
    18
    18
See reviews for
79
226
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trebic, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nice and modern hotel in historical center of Riga - ideal location for tourists. Crew was friendly and informed. They answered all my questions and helped me with all my problems. Good in possibility to visit spa center and free gym in hotel.
Shortly ... my personal experience with this hotel is realy good.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

They Forget to send car to collect me @ Riga airport, no explanation when I arrived, arrived at my superior room to find a fold away bed, later discovered no towels in room. Next day room was cleaned by 16:30, afterwards discovered no toilet paper in room. Breakfast was great if you liked eggs. No breakfast Tea. Etc etc

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Vi were on a family trip and stayed here 4 nights. Nice and clean rooms. Nice breakfast buffet and friendly staff. The location was perfect for shopping and just minutes away from the largest collection of sidewalk restaurant I ever experienced. Latvian cousine must be among the best in the world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was so lucky to book a room in Old Riga Palace Hotel. It's perfect combination of price and quality. Amazing staff made me feel comfortable, like a princess in Old Palace. I would suggest to stay there if you are planning to go to Riga!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, and it was a really good experince. The location is perfect, it's just in the historical center, and close to all transportation (as well as bus to the airport). Personnel is very polite and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is great! The price is for sure appropriate to the service provided and justifies 4-start hotel name. We would recommend it to anybody travelling to Riga!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Riga Palace. It is situated on the edge of the old town where it is quiet but only a few minutes walk from all the sights, bars and restaurants. Our standard double room was very comfortable with all we needed. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.0 mi away
Wellton Gertrude Hotel
Wellton Gertrude Hotel
#34 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#53 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#59 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#12 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8 / 10 Minsterejas Street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#29 Business Hotel in Riga
#29 Family Hotel in Riga
#33 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel - chic and elegant. Since 2009 Wellton Old Riga Palace 4 star hotel has been serving business travellers and tourists. Hotel's 6-story Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms to the guests that are perfect for leisure and business as well, and has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.