We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly but not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Apple Hostel

Green Apple Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Apple Hostel to your Saves list
Green Apple Hostel
Aspazijas bulvaris 22, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Nearly but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a very cosy little hotels in the old town.. The location is great, just a few steps from , the old town's street, which makes all sights easily reacheable on foot within just a few minutes. The hotel itself is very friendly. The rooms are not huge, but cosy and warm... Wifi signal was not adequate.. Poor sound insulation, heard voices from the next room... well okay I suppose: nothing special but nice enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
2
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I didn't like the place at all. There is only one kitchen for a lot of people...and it's very dirty most of the times.
I got bitten by bedbugs when I was there...and the manager wasn't very pleasent with me when we were trying to solve the problem.
It's well localized, It's the only good thing I found in the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was living almost 2 months in green aple and I must say that at the check-in the lady of reception sold to me a magnetic card that cost 5 Lats , she said" It was necessary to enter the hostel" , after some days I found that no one had that card , almost everone enter with a code , or by the front door hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just got back from a few days trip at the green apple in riga. My main issue for the poor review was we had an hour and a half wait to simply check in. Lots of term students checking in was the reason for the delay but shouldnt have made us wait so long. The room was very basic, i dont ask for much but i think a little more could be done. Hard beds, little amenities. The halls are very very dark, think horror film and you have the right direction. Speaking of direction, its a little hard to find as number 18 is now a deserted building, the door is behind a market stall so is a little confusing and slightly worrying start to a vacation. Not the worst hostel but i wouldnt be recommending it any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just got back from Riga, this hostel is in an excellent position for the Old Town and overlooking the Opera House and the Beautiful park and canal.The room was large and basic but clean except for the toilet pan which looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages, hardly saw any staff but the kitchen area was always clean and tidy. it is within very easy walking distance of all the attractions of the Old Town and the park is amazing, look out of the window at sunset to see the starlings flying in to roost, amazing sight.
Will definitely go back again later in the year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front overlooking the park, not much to see out the back except the building op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel clearly ran out of money in retro-fitting the Riga hotel to a better standard, and attempted to make a youth hostel with the last floor. It's an interesting idea (regular hotel on first three floors filled with rich old people, hostel filled with poor young people, thus bring the average age down to 25). However, you do get a good feel of what Riga was like under Soviet times! They really should market it like that. Fun for the whole family.

Essentially, it's a relatively clean place to sleep. That's about it. I had the room cloest to the communal bathroom, TV and kitchen. It was noisy and annoying. The shower and drain was useless, and within seconds the tub was filled with water. There was also a fire alarm that needed a battery change, so every 10 seconds, a loud beep would emit from the central area.

Walking into the hotel, it feels slightly like god's waiting room, but hands down, the central location for the price can't be beat. I did have a view of the central square and the opera, and the free WI-FI is nice. The picture is slightly deceiving, as it is a room with a bed, desk and chair. That's it. Bring earplugs. You'll need them.

Room Tip: Stay away from the kitchen, bathroom and TV area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Very good hostel in nice central hotel. Lovated in the heart of Riga - Old town. Check-in only from 3 p.m., but it is not problem, as you can go arround the Old town if arrive before 3 p.m. We got triple room in 6 floor with nice view to the Old town. At night was little noisy, as at this time was Riga city celebration. But no problem for us about it. Very good value of price and quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Apple Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Apple Hostel

Address: Aspazijas bulvaris 22, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Green Apple Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Apple Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.