We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience in Riga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salve

Salve
Ratslaukums 5, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
+371 67044317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 569 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience in Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I had a dinner at Salve. The first impression is the interior of the restaurant which is very traditional and relaxing. The waitress is very friendly and speaks good English. The food is nice, and the price is reasonable. What is more, the big surprise that I had from this visit is the lovely photo which the waitress took and sent to me via epost the next day. Thanks!

I recommend this restaurant for the visit to Riga!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    139
    42
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best dumpling so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Went to Salve for lunch, having recognised the name from searching TA earlier.
Service was mixed..... We asked for a table by the window to be told it was booked. Not a smile or another word from the grumpy lady that showed us to a table, but the window table was still free when we'd left! Young waiter spoke good English and was more helpful.
Homemade dumplings were the best I've had outside of Poland and better than those we tried in Lihtuania! The rest of the meal was good, but nothing special! Wine was decent and not too expensive.
Higher end Latvian cuisine, worth the extra over the normal stodgy dishes!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were a party of eight. From the fish cakes to the sausages, everything was delicious, as was the traditional starter of herring with beetroot stack, sprinkled with hard boiled egg. and the pumpkin soup.
Our charming waitress "Kate" was helpful and knowledgeable.
The prices were commensurate with the setting, and situation - near St. Peter's Church ( and the Information Centre).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice traditional place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, tasty local food. Nice atmosphere, can be recommended for families as well. Interesting wine list. We really enjoyed our visit to Salve restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The restaurant is located in a successful place. Great Latvian cuisine, service and decor. Not very cheap compared with other places. Nevertheless, I highly recommend!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salve also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.