We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and stylish boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Justus to your Saves list
Hotel Justus
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jauniela 24, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming and stylish boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Justus for a couple of nights in January. The hotel is charming; very funky decor with all the mod cons. It's centrally located to Riga Old Town, and surrounded by good restaurants (highly recommend Restorāns 1221 despite the apparently high prices). Beds were firm, rooms were clean, and reasonably spacious. We had a standard room; he suites must be huge.

Would highly recommend you consider this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    135
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
139
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Justus for 1 night in January 2013

Situated right in the middle of Riga's Old Town, Justus is a perfect little boutique hotel for exploring Latvia's capital. The hotel has so much character, it's really unique and interesting as well as perfectly located.

If I had to mention an area of improvement, I would say that the walls are a bit thin so you can hear people snoring/laughing and other things late at night. A minor issue though - all in all I couldn't recommend this place more if you're spending a weekend in Riga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend in April 2012 for 4 nights. We were first timers in Latvia though were thoroughly impressed. At such a low price I never expected the hotel to have such character and charm .. loved the raw materials used and exposed brickwork. The location is excellent too!

The staff were friendly but not in your face and leave you to it. The rooms were romantic and beds sumptuous and soft. The breakfast was varied and inspired locally. I am vegetarian so stuck to the eggs mainly. When it poured with rain one day the hotel has complimentary umbrellas which I thought was cute. WiFi was good and the downstairs lobby area was chilled and relaxed for business or personal space.
Remember to visit " I love you bar " and skyline bar in the Radisson hotel !! Grab a map from the hotel reception & staff will talk you through how to navigate around. You can get anywhere from the street " kungu iela" as it's central to most of the streets.

Would revisit and definitely stay here again
Enjoy x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the middle of December. It was cold, but really Christmassy so well worth the trip. All the staff at Justus were really friendly and helpful, to the point of offering late checkout without even being asked. Additionally, the staff were always smiling. Rooms were very clean and delicately furnished with no ikea!
The location is right in the old town,so perfect for exploring, plus its about 2 minutes walk from the airport bus (number 22 costs 0.50 lats a ticket and takes about 20 minutes).
Breakfast cannot be faulted, different every day and a wide range. We had dinner in the restaurant one night. It was ok, but not as good as expected- maybe it was due to it being in the off season?!? For good Latvian food, look for the Lidos- it's not very imaginative but the food was genuinely amazing.
All things considered, I can't fault Hotel Justus therefore a well deserved 5*.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Splendent location in the old town. The breadfast was good, but not excellent and the staff was very helpful. The room was clean, cosy and wifi works well. If you are looking for something different and historically, Justus would be the right choice... and YES, I would go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location to explore Riga.
The hotel is in the old town within walking distance of almost everything including the railway station for trips further afield.
The building and decor suit the location.
I was booked into a single room which was fine but I personally prefer a double bed (or bigger). I found the single room a little too small, but a move was possible after a couple of nights for a little extra which was well worth it.
The hotel has wifi but be warned it's a little hit and miss in rooms on the edge of the property. If wifi is a factor for you make you sure they give you a room in the centre of the building.
The breakfast was good, lots of variety.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Charming hotel, very well converted historic building with imaginative touches thoughout. Excellent location in the Old Town.

I stayed for a short stopover for the Christmas Markets, which were small but very uncommercialsed and unspoiled. The city is beautiful and I would happily visit again.

Breakfast has fine (a notch above average but not stunning). Staff were mixed - the girl on the desk for my check in was efficient but not very welcoming. The two young men during the day were much friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Address: Jauniela 24, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Justus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.