We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My time in riga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub to your Saves list
Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub
Valnu Iela 43, Riga LV1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My time in riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

This is my first review I've ever written as I give credit where credit is due. Latvia is an amazing city with amazing women. There's lots to do and nightlife is amazing. The guy who owns it, John sorted us out with stuff to do and very helpful. Be warned its very cold in january. I'd recommend bob slieghing and a beer in the sky bar over looking the city. Also a massage very very pleasing:) we didn't see no trouble what so ever.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
5
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been using the pub and hostel here since they opened all those years back. I have stayed in many places around the world and for sure this place is not sterile or boring.

Not all of the light bulbs work but that just adds to the character of the space. Staff are fun and honest, just my advice to people looking for a hotel or a fancy flashpackers palace is to look elsewhere. This is a space for travelers, beer lovers and over 21s....

You are sure to love this place if you remember how independent hostels used to be before the days of internet bookings. I should point out I stayed here many times before I moved to Riga, have placed family and friends a like in their caring hands and have probably consumed far too much alcohol in the pub downstairs.

Not everything runs like clockwork but the bunks are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The first time I entered the place, it was not organised in any sense. Yes, John, the irishman is a little crazy, but quirky and nice once you get past the crazy appearance. My check-in was very quick and a little sloppy, half-way through the check-in something was happening outside and he almost ran outside with my passport still in hand from checking me in. Luckily he stopped at the door. I freaked out just a little bit.

I went up the 5 floors of stairs to my dorm, which was ok. The place in general could have done with a more thorough clean and maintenance. The functioning of the shower and toilet was good, but the bathroom could have a bit more time put into it. On top of that, the wi-fi advertised is very bad and didn't even work while I was there. Despite them letting people use the one computer with internet downstairs, one thing I look at when I book somewhere is whether they have wi-fi.

It is old and run down, and I probably would not have gone there if I knew it would be like that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I don't actually know anything about what this hostel is like on the inside because I didn't get past the obnoxious Irishman at the door, but I do now know that the staff are incredibly rude and unpleasant. I had to go and find somewhere else as a consequence. This place makes Fawlty Towers look friendly. Terrible. Just terrible.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

That place had really cool people staying there, fun party going on, drinks to early morning and dancing on the counter table. Great!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plzen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

i know the hostel for years as i used to live in Riga. i have also seen it with different staff and under different management. one thing has been consistent, the people working there have always been great, many became friends.

i also stayed there last year as i was visiting and had a great time, as always - john (the not-so-new-anymore manager) is doing a great job and is a lot of fun to hang out with. i just love this pub, can't you relocate the whole thing to the Czech Republic?? i miss having my beer and partying in the "backpackers pub".

what kinda makes it special is that it's not a touristy place, sounds weird but is true. you've got your set of travelers and backpackers and then a whole host of local guys and girls who frequent the place. and that's awesome because it gives you the chance to easily meet people from Latvia, find out which places are worth seeing, what other clubs and bars are fun at the moment, etc. , etc.

even if you do stay elsewhere while in Riga, check out pub, it is usually most lively during the eves with live music.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

if you go to riga, try this place!
john is amazing and you'll have a great time having a glass of kiss (or balzam, or beer, or...) at the bar...
great helpful staff. oooohhh! and you definitely want to try the apple pie :-)

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub

Address: Valnu Iela 43, Riga LV1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riga's legendary backpackers hostel & pub. Unbeatable location in Old Town. Daily Tours. 24hr Reception.- FREE Wifi through the whole building- FREE guide map on arrival- FREE underbed security lockers with pad lock- FREE towel on your bed- FREE luggage storage after check outALL BEDS HAVE 2 POWER POINTS AND A LIGHT !!ALL ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING !!WARNING: You will meet people if you stay here... :) :) :) that's what traveling is all about, if your looking for quiet nights this hostel is NOT for you!FREE BREAKFAST BEER EACH DAY (8AM-11AM)- New Bunk Beds- New Linens, Towels and Pillows- Enchanting Spiral Staircase- AWESOME STAFF that LOVE their job- No Hangovers (Not Guaranteed)WE DON'T HAVE ANY KITCHEN/COOKING FACILITIES.You can eat cheaply in Riga so there is no need to cook, our staff will give you all the recommendations on where to eat.WE DO NOT ACCEPT STAG PARTIES OR SCHOOL GROUPS. MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE OF 10 PEOPLE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.