We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Elefant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wellton Elefant Hotel to your Saves list
Wellton Elefant Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Kalnciema Street, Riga 1046, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Handy location in between the airport and the city centre, with the 22 bus stopping just outside and going to both. Friendly and helpful staff (Julija was particularly pleasant to talk to) and a reasonably priced bar with a good selection of snacks and meals (although a pretty poor choice of appealing vegetarian food). The breakfast was decent, with a good selection of food- although I recommend just waiting until they bring out the pancakes, then stocking up. They go fast!
The room was fairly cosy, but nothing out of the ordinary. I'd recommend this hotel for business trips or short breaks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    85
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
63
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've stayed there for 2 nights in November for business visit. I like it very much.
Pleasant personnel always ready to help, professional and affable either on reception or in the bar or in the restaurant. Room was always perfectly clean including lavatory seat and bath in bathroom. The breakfast is rich and with many many options. But the most of all I liked the location - in the very middle way between airport and the city. And all this for more then reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberalm, Austria
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Got a nice room on 5th floor for just Eur 38 via booking.com The staff is very helpful - any wish come true! No annoying girls in the bar. Thats a stay it should be. About a 5 Eur trip into old town of Riga.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Modern and very nice hotel. Very friendly and service-minded staff in reception and in bar. A hotel need to be Clean and fresh. It also need good staff. This hotel is super Clean, has superb rooms and a modern arcitecture that you just have to love. And besides that it also has the staff that make it all to a 5 star experience. From reception to the bar - amazing nice and friendly and profferssional people. Nothing is bad here. All is good. Even the food late in the evening was great. The downside, is the location - about 10 minutes to the city. But the bus stop is near the hotel and a taxi to the center of the town cost about 6 Euros. BUT all the other things is so good so the location is something you handle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel is quite away from downtown, on left side of the river. This makes it unconvenient for turists, but perfect for business, as you are at the airport in mutes.
I had a very comfortable Deluxe room, and it was really OK.
Price is definitely competitive.
The only very bad thing is breakfast, but even not breakfast in total, the eggs!
I have never ate something like that: it is a fluffy, foamy kind of omelette, 3 cm thick, totally tasteless: why not to prepare some good, traditional scrumbled eggs?!?!?

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms. Wide and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaceLea, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Manu_pavia,
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your room and overall quality of our service. As for the eggs – we try to cater our breakfast as varied as possible to satisfy different needs and tastes of our guests. Also, breakfast menu changes from time to time. We do hope you'll enjoy your meal next time you stay with us!

My very best regards,
Dace Lea Briede
Wellton Hotel Group Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great personnel, Very professional and cheerful. Clean room, good sized. The breakfast has many many options, including chapmagne! The location is close to the center, public transport is very close. Close to airport too, just 10 mins.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaceLea, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Nataly,
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our stay with us! Thank you for your review, and we'll be looking forward to seeing you again in one of our hotels.

Kindest regards,
Dace Lea Briede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Be careful with children in family room, they could easily access porno movies on local hotel cable TV!!! We was with 9 years old boy, he just entered room number on TV and watched porno till we came back from the breakfasts.
Stuff with the smile looked at me, when I explained situation and heroic announced that I should have to pay 10 Lats. Finally they didn’t charge, but I’m sure they do not understood subsequences which get our kid.

Wifi all the time was inaction.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaceLea, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Euka,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear you had such accident. In our hotel, access to the adult channel is restricted, and the code to activate it can be obtained only in the reception. To avoid unauthorized access, we do not leave the code printed in rooms or anywhere else. We assure you, granting access of adult channel to a child is way out of our policy, and it must have been an error in the TV device or system that let this happen. We will look through it to make sure such situations are avoided in the future.

We sincerely hope to see you again in one in our hotels.

Kindest regards,
Dace Lea Briede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellton Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Elefant Hotel

Address: 90 Kalnciema Street, Riga 1046, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Elefant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellton Elefant Hotel - contemporary business hotel Wellton Elefant Hotel is located in the rapidly developing area and just few minutes away from Riga International Airport and the heart of Riga city - Old town, frequent public transportation service will not leave you disappointed as well. This unique modern hotel offers individuality blended together with high service standards - and of course the Great Elephant - symbol of wisdom, luck and loyalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellton Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Elefant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.