We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goog choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Elefant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wellton Elefant Hotel to your Saves list
Wellton Elefant Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Kalnciema Street, Riga 1046, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Pskov, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Goog choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just one night. Our destination was Jurmala, so the location of the hotel for us is very comfortable. We didnt have any troubles to find this hotel, even without navigator.
Positive: new hotel, interesting design, cosy and very clean rooms, tasty breakfast with nice music.
Negative: we come at 13.10 and didn't get room because check in time at 14.00. We asked about room with one double bed, nevertheless we got room with two very small beds. Underground parking is 10 euro, we left our car on the side not far from the hotel.
In general the hotel is very good. We often use Riga airport (not far away from hotel) and next time definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us.
Every time reading new guest comments it leads us to reevaluate our performance and improve our guest satisfaction.
We are glad to hear, that enjoy Wellton Elefant Hotel interior and design as well our breakfast.

Thank you one more time about great comments and we will be more than happy to welcome you back at Wellton Elefant Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    85
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
63
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

NIce room. Free breakfast. Close to bus 22 from Old Town. (We took the bus back about midnight--one of the later buses). This hotel has many things to offer. I booked here since this was one of the closest hotels to the airport and we had an early morning flight. The hotel arranged for a cab to pick us up about 90 minutes before our flight and assured us that was plenty of time. When we got to the lobby for the cab, it had already left, ten minutes before we had even requested that they come. I was pretty worried since in the US it would be impossible to be this late for a flight. The hotel called another cab, which arrived just over an hour from our flight. The driver knew we were worried and I had one of the more exciting taxi rides of my life--but he got us there in six minutes and we had no problem at all making our flight. I think I'd prefer to stay in town if I were not catching a flight the next day, but this was ideal for our circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your letter and for your kind words regarding your stay at the Wellton Elefant Hotel .

We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standard, especially breakfast and room . I would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our team members who provided you with excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel for yet another relaxing holiday!


Sincerely Yours

Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my 8 year old son were staying in this hotel as a one night transit. I booked it based on positive reviews, price and closiness to airport. When booking on hotels.com, I choose a slightly pricier option "comfort room" vs cheaper "economy". I would like to know now, what economy room would be like, because our room was very small. But let start with arrival. Yes, they have a red carpet from the street to the entrance. But it is there because otherwise how do you know which way to get to hotel, since there is no car access to the entrance door. I was dropped of by a cab ( cost from airport about $15US excl tip) with multiple suitcases just me and a child in the middle of the street left to walk to the entrance, which is about 40m. Thankfully a bus full of basketball players came and they helped us to get to hotel. So bizarre. The check in was uneventfull. The trolley to bring our luggage into the room on 3rd floor did not fit into elevator (?!) a "boy" was called to help us out. Now another bizarre point-you need to use your room card to get to your floor with elevator. It is for security I was told. I get that. But the hotel has a build in large staircase with easy access to and from rooms with no card required, just walk few stairs up. In the way, anybody from the street could walk in and easily access the rooms. Not secure at all.
As I mentioned the room was very small. It was clean though. Bathrooms great, but sparecelly on towels and "complementary toiletries" are 2 disposals on the wall, one soap and other shower gel/shampoo. Not an issue for me, I always have my own toiletries packed, but is was not a 4 star hotel standard.
Very minimalisticly furnished. On the edge of cold and tasteless. Scandinavian style light colored furniture that unfortunately makes it look like a nice hostel but not like a good hotel. Large windows that you actually can open a bit. We liked that. Conditioner and water in bathroom were working fine. Btw, you have to take shower by getting into a large bathtop. This could be an issue for an older person. Also quite slippery when coming out.
We had 2 single beds. We travel a lot and usually have 2 queens, but singles worked ok. Only once I had to get up at night to cover my kid who's dovet fell on the ground. Mattresses were very comfortable though. Fridge comes full, but check the prices first. In the booklet they mention not to drink tap water and recommend to use water from the fridge. It is not complementary though. Little bottle about $3 US.
TV had multilingual channels. English, German, Russian...
The location of hotel was not of importance to us. We left in the morning. However, if you on actual tourist trip to Riga, I would rather stay closer to old town. This one is not walking distance and times when you paid just a few dollars for a cab have passed. I did not pay attention to neighborhood either.
Breakfast buffet was ok. They had something that looked like a salat bar without salat. tomatoes, cucumbers, quark, herring, olives... Had wienner style sausages (tasted great), omelet ( was good too). Bacon not crispy at all-passed on it. Porrage, cream of wheat, plain noodles. The other table offered good variety of fruit, cold cuts. You also had a cerial and granola. Coffee was terrible, which is a big point for me.
And the last point of analysis is service. The front desk girls did great job. The breakfast table people would pass by- no smile, no good morning , no inquiries if we need anything. Very unprofessional. Poor training. And the crawn event was when cleaning team rushed at 10 am into our room when I had a sign " do not disturb" on our door.
In total - this hotel does no deserve 4 star rating. They are a good 3 star hotel with still few things to work on. If I had to stay close to airport I would stay there again, but with lower expectations this time. Otherwise I would look for a deal to stay in old town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear,Vancouvermarina

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are sad to hear that generally you were not satisfied with your stay with us and we appreciate all the feedback we are receiving from our guests. We like to explain that all Comfort type rooms are 22 sq.m, but for those guests who would like to stay in more comfort we always suggest to choose Superior or Deluxe class rooms – as these rooms are spacious and offer more comfortable stay, comfortable seating area and additional bathroom amenities. Restrictions for elevators are due to our guest safety – you can always use your card to use the elevator and we never had any troubles with it. Guests or their visitors also can use stairs – stairs, halls and all the public areas are under surveillance and we have 24 hour security located in the hotel. We are constantly improving our services - including personal training and our product supply quality as well. Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services , and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments . Our guest thoughts are important for us, that’s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards

Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We entered hotel in style..... On the red carpet! Very nice hotel, clean rooms and good breakfast. We stayed over just for two nights so unfortunately we could not enjoy the spa. Parking outside free and safe. Bus stop a few meters away, where you can also find an excellent shopping centre, SPICE. Enjoyed our stay, we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear, Blustatos

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and even more for your outstanding comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that generally you were more than satisfied with your stay with us an we appreciate all the feedback we are recieving from our guests.Our guest thoughts are important for us, that`s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel aigan and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Kindest Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vologda, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

An excellent hotel! Located between the airport and the old town. Clean, spacious rooms. Excellent Breakfast with champagne. Paid underground Parking. You can Park for free in a neighbouring street. Quite safe. I liked everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear, Vladiz

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that time who spend whit us was good and satisfaid your desire.Our guest thoughts are important for us,that`s how we may know where our services are in need improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

2013.07.06 front desk personel not helpfull they give to fulfill visitors cards and it seems you again enter 20th century USSR with KGB !!! till they was preparing our rooms(at 13 h!!) we was waiting for bar service in summer terrace for 30 min and did not have it.so we need to go inside and order our drinks from there(unless front desk girls say go outside and waiter will come)
Rooms not impressed.A beat worn out.beds with wheels so be aware in the night!!! Room on 5 floor all the day and night is noisy.it seems a turbo jet engine is working on top of your room.As well all the night and day you hear a running water in your room!!! Breakfest buffet not impresed !!!Cold omlet!!!IIn Riga even 3 star hotels have better breakfest buffets.And location.They declare they are in green part of the city.The greenest possibly is petrol station next door and main higway from Jurmala to city center!!!! The staff next morning was pretty helpfull.

Room Tip: do not book rooms higher then 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear, Valeri I

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. We are sad to hear that generally your were not satisfied whit your stay with us and we appreciate all feedback we are recieving from our guests. We like to explain that check in at our hotel begins at 14:00.Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services, and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments.Our guest thoughts are important for us, that`s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga , we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon


Kindest Regards
Assistant Marketing Manager
Matiss Cesnieks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with excellent restaurant, however breakfast could be better. Room was too hot and air conditioning was not managing. Staff were very friendly with good service. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Wellton Elefant Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Snowy-kub

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are cerainly glad and satisfaid that your stay was pleasant at our Wellton Elefant hotel.We like to say that at our hotel we constantly improving our services- including personal training and our product supply quality as well. Please accept aur apologies for caused inconvenieces regarding the services, and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments. Our guest thoughts are stricly important for us, that`s how we may know where our services need more of improvement.
We understand that next time , when you will visit Riga, would like to try other hotels, but we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellton Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Elefant Hotel

Address: 90 Kalnciema Street, Riga 1046, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Elefant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellton Elefant Hotel - contemporary business hotel Wellton Elefant Hotel is located in the rapidly developing area and just few minutes away from Riga International Airport and the heart of Riga city - Old town, frequent public transportation service will not leave you disappointed as well. This unique modern hotel offers individuality blended together with high service standards - and of course the Great Elephant - symbol of wisdom, luck and loyalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellton Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Elefant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.