We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location for first visit to Riga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Opera Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raina Blvd 33, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great central location for first visit to Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks in late August/Early September 2012. The staff all appeared young (20's/30's) and everyone - from reception to restaurant to housekeeping - were professional. A well-run, clean and modern hotel.

From Riga International Airport, we took the no. 22 bus from the airport to a stop across from the hotel. The fare per person was 70 santims (less than 1 Lat). The Origo mall (with a Rimi supermarket) and the central train station are across the boulevard. It took a couple of attempts to learn to navigate the pedestrian tunnels under the large boulevard intersection. Carrying our luggage up and down the steps from the tunnels without a ramp was a bit of a challenge, but not a big deal.

It's less than 5 minutes to walk from the hotel to the National Opera. The Freedom Monument and Vecriga are just a minute or two more.

Our first night, after about 15 hours of flying from the U.S., was in a "deluxe" corner room on the third floor, with three windows on a curved wall overlooking the busy boulevard. The room was quite spacious, with a large bed and high ceilings, but after a very spotty sleep due to jet lag and what we thought was too much street noise, we asked about availability of a quieter room. We spent the rest of our stay in room 431, a "standard" room. Even though the room was right next to the elevator, we could barely hear it in our room and it never bothered us. The view of this room was of a service courtyard, and a neighboring building - nothing to look at. It was much quieter, however, allowing us to sleep with the window open all night - which we would not have been able to do in our first room that overlooked the busy boulevard.

Although the size was small (by U.S. standards), the modern decor, lighting, plumbing fixtures, mini-bar/fridge and decent closet storage worked very well for us.

Breakfast was available until 11:00 each morning in the first floor restaurant. There was a good selection of buffet items, both hot (eggs, potatoes, pancakes, beans) and cold (cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, toast and pastries).

On departure, reception assisted us with making a reservation for the the Airport Express. The price per person was 3 Lats.

We would certainly consider this hotel for our next visit to Riga.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the non-view courtyard may be quieter than street-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    186
    47
    19
    5
See reviews for
63
128
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from our weekend trip to Riga, and have to say this was a superb hotel.
Breakfast was excellent and our room was nice and clean. More than likely we will choose this
hotel next time we have an opportunity to travel to Riga.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sometime's there's simply not much to say. All was perfect during my stay here. Staff? Friendly, proffesional and fluent in English. Rooms? Clean, modern and big enough. Breakfast? Excellent. Location. Walk a few minutes (literally a few) and you're in one of the most beautiful towns of northern Europe. It's a joy to come here!

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Opera Hotel & Spa just for one night during the layover between flights. Anyway it was enough for me to fall in love with this cool hotel.

Location is perfect: near the large mall and end station of the airport bus, close to the old city, large parks and lots of cafes and restaurants.

Room was incredibly large (especially in comparison with other hotels in EU) featuring spacious cabinet for clothes and stuff, good working area, comfortable bathroom with shower cabin. I'm not a huge fan of the design (just prefer something more minimalistic) but everything looked brand-new. Very clean and comfortable bed, I had really good sleep there and finally missed my morning flight :)

Staff was very friendly and informed me about all the services available. Own taxi service was helpful when getting to the airport and not so overpriced. Restaurant with summer terrace serves really delicious dishes, waiters are fast and well-trained.

I'm quite sure that the hotel has positively influenced on my impressions of Riga. Real 4-star quality, worth staying.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle on tyne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we have just returned from this hotel
it was really lovely. our room was so comfortable
the hotel staff were all so friendly, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning
we had a drink in the bar before going out every evening
the staff were so helpful with the information we needed to visit places
we would love to go back again

Room Tip: our room was lovely, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for one night before our flight home and İ looked for something close to the bus terminal and city centre. For the money we paid we couldn't ecpect better- quick check in, baby bed within few minutes after that, options for airport transfer and great restaurant service. Room size is ok and very comfortable bed indeed. Someone here mentioned bathroom glass door, but it's fine for family. İf you're with colleague or co-worker on business trip it could bother. Thinking to go back if they won't change prices. That 10 min walk to the centre is nothing as you are passing lovely park and Opera Hall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is very central and just across the street from the train and bus station, but it certainly isn't your average "train station inn"... It is clean and quite upscale in terms of its decor - the art nouveau theme is well balanced on the outside and on the inside.
Our superior room was nicely renovated and furnished. It had a safe, a flat screen tv, a jaccuzzi, and free wifi. No problems with sound-proofing there, which is nice.
Now the drawbacks. I simply dislike both the no-door and the glass-door policy to the bathroom in hotels. Some things are private for goodness sake. The air conditioning did not work well - it was hot in the room with barely 24 degrees Celcius outside. We had to open the windows and facing a busy street you simply don't want to do that. The breakfast was OK, although not too much attention paid to juices (only 1 or 2 and warm, come on!) and the desserts - one type of comb pastry only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#20 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Riga Centre
Mercure Riga Centre
#12 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Address: Raina Blvd 33, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Riga
#11 Spa Hotel in Riga
#17 Family Hotel in Riga
#24 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel And Spa
Opera Hotel Riga
Nordic Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.