We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Opera Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raina Blvd 33, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, a great experience!

The staff is nice and friendly, the rooms clean and nice looking and the spa is good. We had a superior room, with access to the spa area for 1.5 hours a day ( treatments are not included). If you plan to relax at the hotel this is worth the little extra amount of money you pay.

The breakfast buffet is ordinary, neither a positive or negative experience.

What makes this hotel special is the relaxing atmosphere. The staff is great, and small things like making your bed ready for the night and placing a chocolate at your pillow while you're out dining in the evening, gives the extra touch that makes you want to come back!

When you get all of this, and have walking distance to everything in the center of Riga, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in downtown Riga!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    137
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
109
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I visited Riga for the first time last week and stayed one night at Opera Hotel. The hotel was excellent, rooms (facing the park, Opera, and old town) elegant, beds great, Spa clean and beautiful, and staff in the hotel, restaurant, as well as in the Spa very nice and helpful, speaking fluent English. That was the case in all restaurants and cafes I visited in Riga.

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have a view. It is better to have one facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed three days to explore the city, the location is perfect. Breakfast buffet is very extensive and fresh! The beds were good and there was no noise coming from the station (which is next door). The only problem we had was the sewer-smell in our bathroom, and the lack of a curtain for the shower. But overall we were really enthusiastic and if I ever come back to Riga I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

we were with my wife in a Cosy room under roof. We could open fully roof window and see astonishing view of Riga. Very friendly staff. Good location, few minutes from old town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here with friends and we had a good time.

The location is good - it is very close to the train station, close to the bus station (a walk even with heavy cases) and close to the old town. We walked from the bus station, as we had travelled from Tallinn, and it took us about 10-15 minutes! You pass the hotel on the way, and therefore it is easy to navigate your way by foot.

The hotel is very nice inside, definitely a modern feel. The rooms vary in size, we had 2 room between us, completely different layout. Our room was smaller, but the layout was better. All room have wifi - or should have. We had a room at the end of the corridor and it was out of reach of the signal. Apparently, this was just a problem for the weekend we were staying, but I have my doubts. Our friends had a room on the 4th floor and this was hit and miss with the wifi also. The rooms are very clean. The bathroom looks great, but it is impossible not to flood the bathroom floor - so watch out for that!

The staff are friendly at the reception desk.

The breakfast was good. There was quite a variety of things and the croissants were warm, always a good sign.

You have to pay yo use any of the spa facilities, even the pool, although the cost is quite minimal. You do have to book if you want to use it - as the pool / sauna / steam room area holds no more than 10 guests.

We visited the Occupation Museum, which was very interesting. Lots of detailed information regarding both the Soviet and German occupation. Similar story to the Estonian occupation, obviously, but the museum here was presented in a better way, and was much bigger.

Riga was lively in the evening, perhaps due to the fact it was the weekend and there were many hen and stag parties. Lots of music was played live in different areas of the old town, so worth finding one of these spots for drinks or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed for a night at the hotel. I booked a superior room, but received a room with a standard size. When I asked why I was given a standard room, the staff confirmed it was a superior room, just a smaller one. I still wonder why the homepage then states that all superior rooms are 30-30m2 in size...I feel betrayed.
The room itself was ok. The bed was cosy and clean, mattresses were clean, so was the bathroom. Though they should dust more carefully and the bathroom would need some renovation (paint chipping along the sink, bathtub and door).
Breakfast buffet was ok, could have been a little bigger.
The staff was friendly and the location was very good. Just a short walk away from the old town and bus station.
I would stay in this hotel again, in case I really get what I booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Excellent staff and very good location. Clean & quiet with small but cozy SPA and good food - exactly what you need after a busy day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Address: Raina Blvd 33, Riga LV-1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riga
#13 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Business Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#33 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Riga
Opera Hotel And Spa
Nordic Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.