We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service at a great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanza hotel

Hanza hotel
Elijas Street 7, Riga, Latvia
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 635 Restaurants in Riga
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

great service from all staff, huge clean rooms with comfortable double bed. bathroom with power-shower. good heating, good breakfast with large choice..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“FRAUDULENT use of my credit card”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hanza Hotel fraudulently charged my debit card over $700 on NOvember 24th 2013, and claims I authorized this use. I did not. I was told by booking.com that I was "holding" a reservation while I worked out whether I would need those dates at their hotel. I have written several emails to them trying to rectify this issue, and they still refuse to refund my money, though they were not authorized to use charge my card.

This is BAD business practice. I am a frequent traveller and I have never been so poorly treated by a hotel chain. Be careful - DO NOT book at this hotel!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in Hanza for 2 nights, we had a great time! The hotel is just 8 minutes from old town, 4 minute from bus station and train station, very well located!
The rooms are big and clean!!! The bathroom was great, clean and updated. Staff is really helpfull, very good breakfast!

I love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We don't usually eat at hotel restaurants, but ended up eating several meals here due to the quality, selection, and value of the menu choices. In fact, our meals at the Hanza Hotel's restaurant were some of our better meals in Riga!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Oh dear, very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Called the "Hanza Pub", it is in the basement of the hotel with a terrace in the street outside the hotel. It is decorated with nets and sails hanging from the ceiling.
Having read the reviews of others we were really looking forward to our meal.We arrived shortly before 7pm and, after being ignored by the 2 bar staff who were busy chatting (yes chatting because we could hear their conversation) we selected our own table and I obtained menus from the staff station. At this stage the restaurant contained a stag party (at final drinks stage), a couple eating desert and four elderly gentlemen eating their main course.
Eventually a waitress came to take the order. My wife asked for a grape juiceand was asked "Do we do that?" We indicated it on the menu and were told "OK then"
Some 45 minutes later our main course arrive (we skipped a starter).
It looked very good (artistic nouveau cuisine) with a duck breast on a thin layer of spinach and water cress beside a thin tracing of pureed carrot and four 1.5cm boiled potatoes.
Didn't take long to eat and the waitress whipped the plates away, five minutes later we were brought a desert menu, another five minutes and we were asked what we would like.
Two more couples arrived and the waitress went to deal with them. It took15 minutes for our tiramasu to be delivered.
As we left a party of seven arrived - heaven help them if they had other plans fot the evening
There was little evidence of planning "front of house", no evidence of urgency in the kitchenor restaurant. Food good, customer service criminal.too much chat not enough action.
One visit was enough,not going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanza hotel also viewed

 

Been to Hanza hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanza hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.