We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and friendly place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dodo Hotel to your Saves list
Dodo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jersikas 1, Riga LV1003, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“nice and friendly place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

very comfortable hotel, friendly staff (russian/english speaking), nice rooms with modern design. 6 min to centre by tram or 15-20 min by foot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    145
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
41
113
41
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Tner hotel is ok. You get what you pay. But the location is awfull.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very nicely appointed (though rather small) rooms. Tram about 7 min. to center, stops right in front. No elevator, which didn't bother me though. Some very loud voices outside our room every night; we kept the windows open because otherwise it got stuffy. Didn't really bother me too much though, as I was so tired at the end of every day. We found out from our tour guide later that we were right in the middle of the Moscow district, where all the Russians used to live and where, at one time, only wooden houses were allowed because in case anyone tried to take the city, the area could be burned as a buffer zone. Which explains why there are so many abandoned wooden houses all around. We grew quite affectionate towards our neighborhood towards the end of our 4 night stay; it seemed more 'real' than the touristy (though lovely) old town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Perfect place for spending your time in Riga.
Great hotel, not far from the center, helpful staff, just ask!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights 22-24 of July.
Although the hotel located a bit far from the old center of Riga, but there is a tram stop near the hotel and it takes 5-7 minutes to get to the Historic Centre.

Responsible staff, new furniture in the room, not noisy neighborhood, free wifi in the room.
But rooms are not equiped with air-conditioners, so it could be the problem during some hot summer days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in Dodo Hotel a couple of nights in July, and although we found the hotel itself very clean, modern-looking and comfortable (considering that it is an economy hotel), our major disappointment was the total lack of soundproofing. We could hear everything from the room next door and everytime someone walked on the corridor it felt like our whole room was shaking. So that much for privacy then.

Otherwise I would recommend Dodo Hotel if you are looking for a cheap-yet-value-for-money -hotel in Riga (and additional noise doesn't bother you). As we were travelling by car, we also used the hotel's guarded parking lot every night and paid almost nothing for it. But we could have might as well parked in front of the hotel for free, since the area - although shabby looking - was quite peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Paid £18 per night. Tram stops outside the hotel to the city centre, or in the other direction to that wonderful eatery "The Lido". Area is very rundown and best not to look into house windows at night or you might get a view on a world that could be very unsettling for you. Having said that we never had any problem apart from people cadging fags of me. Staff were ok, Rooms small but nice. Shower good. No lift but its only three floors. Two local shops one of which is friendly and the other seems to be only for "Local people". I will let you find out which is which! Can't really fault the place, and for £18 per night its a bleeding palace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Address: Jersikas 1, Riga LV1003, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#35 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Oldc Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dodo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.