We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect guesthouse in interesting city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ezera Maja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ezera Maja to your Saves list
Ezera Maja
Ezera 39, Liepaja LV3401, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Goes, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect guesthouse in interesting city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

During our first visit to Latvia and Lipaya in wintertime we had a very comfortable accomodation in Ezera Maya. Charming decoration inside the house, good beds, bathroom and kitchen.
The ideal 'basecamp' to explore the photogenic city, surroundings and walks to and on the beach.
Normunds was very kind to arrange bicycles for us, so we could cycle around along the new cycletracks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jurmala, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was looking for a non-expensive place in Liepaja, to stay with my husband and 2,5 year old boy. It was my last minute choice but I do not regret it. As we stayed in autumn, it was very important that the place had heating and was not cold. The room was tidy, warm, big enough for the little boy not to get bored. Wide, comfortable kitchen. Herbal teas for free. Loved the details in interior. Very pleasant, friendly owners. In summer would be even better!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my last minute choice but I do not regret it. Location was perfect – in the middle of old building district, nice walk to seaside.
We rented triple room and had an opportunity to use veranda. Kitchen was wide and very well equipped. Room had interesting wooden bathroom.
Touch of artistic soul (that could be seen everywhere) I liked the most.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were staying in Ezera Maja at the begining of May, when birds are singing at night. My husband, our 10 month old kid and I occupied the room on the upper floor. I do not know if we disturbed our only neighbor, but we were not disturbed at all. The room is very spacious and clean, wooden floor is good for kid crawling, big kitchen is handy too. The location is very good for short walks to the city center and the sea and on a quite side street. Owners are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The owners are very friendly and will do everything to ensure that you feel at ease. The rooms are standard, but clean and spacious. I enjoyed the wooden ensuite bathroom. Free wifi is provided in the room. It is within walking distance from the Peter's market, the beach and the city centre

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, this is the perfect choice, or, as we call: Value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've been feeling bad about not writing a review ever since we stayed at Ezera Maja last July. I've not done one before, but this is the only place I've stayed that I've thought that everyone needs to know about. The whole family (4 children, 2 grandparents, my wife and I) still talk regularly about what a great time we had in Liepaja, and this is very largely thanks to our wonderful host, Normunds, and his outstanding house.

He picked us up from the station (after 3 hours or so on the train from Riga) and as soon as we went into the house, I felt happy. It is beautifully renovated, spacious and comfortable, with everything that you need. Plenty of space for playing and eating outside with some very comfortable hammocks and swing chairs. We took the whole downstairs apartment, and for some of our stay another family was upstairs.

They had some well-worn bikes in the shed which we used to get around - by far the best way to see this lovely and interesting town. The house is about a 15 minute walk to the beach straight down a quiet street. The daily market is less than ten minutes' walk, with lots of fantastic fresh, local produce.

Normunds took us on a day trip to a nature reserve down the coast where we saw wild horses
and an old farm - a very pleasant day out. His passion for his Latvian heritage and way of life, as well as for good healthy living, is all-consuming and provided a good insight into an important strand of Latvian culture. The beach is clean and very big, and when we were there in July the water was very good for swimming on most days.

Liepaja is a very chilled out place to spend a week or so, with enough to see to keep you busy if you really must be busy. The restaurants in Liepaja were not great, to be honest, but we cooked nice food from the local market most nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Liepaja is a beautiful place where you can enjoy the quiet leave. Tastes smell of the sea, which is located just 15 minutes walk from the homesteads.The Ezera house is perfectly decorated, comfortable, great. Location is ideal for walking, near the shops, public transport. Happy to return to the future yet...

Room Tip: room plenty of space for large family or a large circle of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ezera Maja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezera Maja

Address: Ezera 39, Liepaja LV3401, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Kurzeme Region > Liepaja
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Liepaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezera Maja - your home in Liepaja! Ezera Maja is situated on the only street in Liepaja that connects the Baltic sea and Liepaja's lake and is five minutes walk from the city center. This 100 year old house has been completely renovated and offers you all comfort with its homely, Latvian spirit. There are five rooms on two floors. Each floor has its own entrance and self catering kitchen. You will be enchanted by the decor of each of the rooms in Ezera Maja. Even the tiniest detail has been made with the special love of an artist's hand. The rooms are equipped using natural local materials, keeping the ancient feel of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ezera Maja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ezera Maja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.