We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kolonna Hotel Cesis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kolonna Hotel Cesis to your Saves list
Kolonna Hotel Cesis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vienibas 1, Cesis 4101, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cesis
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good but basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First impressions are of a classy hotel as you walk through the main entrance into reception. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. The hotel lacks a bar, but there is a good cafe in the basement. Breakfast is good and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Classic interior gives your feeling that you in an old movie, red carpets and hangings in huge windows, lovely. You have everything that you need. Rooms were clean and quite big, existence of bath was also plus. The best thing there was a bread in the breakfast. It was the most delicious bread I have ever eaten, truly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. No ac but generally not needed. It was a hot night but we just left the window open. Hotel set next to a lovely garden and pond with fountains and resident black swans. Good breakfast.
Very close to old town and castle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located in a nice old style building just in the center of Cesis.We came here because all hotels in Sigulda área are full.We didn't regret.The hotel was nice.Not luxury,but good enough.Not very expensive.
Good room in 2th floor .No elevator..hehehee..The girl on the reception was very kind.
Very nice breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As others have noted this hotel is part of a chain and ticks all the boxes. We had few problems, the prounciation of the receptionist a little iffy - did she say 32 or 42 was the room rate? Actually it was 42 for a nice room on the first floor facing the front. The town is quiet so we had no trouble sleeping at night. The second night the hotel was full, so we would of had to move to a ground floor rear facing room. The manager was very honest and said it would be a little noisy from the pizza place on the terrace. We decided to stay at Province instead at 30 Lats at night. Breakfast buffet was fine, although I am not that fussy as long as there is good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed there two times. First about a year and half ago it is a lovely building and old style when you enter. It was good. However I stayed there is three months ago and was not very happy. My room was tiny very close to front door, remote for TV held with tape. Overall just not worth the money. Breakfast was good and lots of choices. Staff in dining area no expression, no eye contact, no smile nothing. Reception staff, I experienced three behind the desk and different times all robotic except one who actually smiled. The location is wonderful but I will not stay again. They have a really good beer and food area beside the hotel you can access from the street or inside the hotel. It is worth a visit and relax.

Room Tip: Just hope you dont get the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were staying on a really gloomy, dark day - that is why the contrast was really nice. We had booked the voucher (bought the room for the discount) and that is why i will not be able to say what is the price if booked for example in booking.com. But clearly the price that we pay'd was adequate quality. Breakfast was very tasty: the choice was from warm and the cold food - eggs, sausages, herring, a variety of cereals, cheeses, salami and so on (definetly best breakfast I've eaten a 3-star hotel).
The room was cozy - definitely not the biggest one, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wide and had a bath. View through a window was very beautiful - I suggest taking a view of the park (if possible). I do not know exactly what negatives to say, because except for a few small details like - television remote control that is not operating properly and wine bottle opener absence of room. Everything was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I suggest to go across the street there is a small chocolate/sweets shop called "Laima", it had a very kind and lovely seller. Actualy everyone in the town was quite friendly and helpful.
The only thing maybe i can not suggest you is going to the "restaurant". The price for the food was very high and kinda not worth it. We did not try out the "Cafe Popular".
The sauna and the hotel's other facilities we did not try out.
And as I said in my topic - this hotel had the best bed I have ever slept in a hotel. Wonderful!
P.S The Hotel has a Free of charge Parking zone.

Room Tip: Higher floor + View of park - You wont be sorry :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kolonna Hotel Cesis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolonna Hotel Cesis

Address: Vienibas 1, Cesis 4101, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Cesis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cesis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kolonna Hotel Cesis 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cesis is one of the most beautiful towns in Latvia with an ancient history and traditions. It has a unique combination of gardens and parks, historical buildings, narrow roadways, wooden houses and lovely squares. Kolonna Hotel Cesis is situated in the very centre of the town, near the city park. The historical scenery of the town is adorned by the Castle of the Livonian Order (1206), Cesis New Castle and St. John’s Church (1284). This hotel was built 1938 and its first name was Tervete. Later it was renamed Hotel Cesis. In December 2005, the hotel became a member of the Kolonna Hotels Group. Kolonna Hotels Cesis offers 40 rooms and can accommodate up to 77 guests. For the guests comfort, hotel offers cozy and comfortable sauna and solarium. The hotel accepts payment in Latvian lats, major local and international Credit Cards: Euro Card/ Master Card, American Express, Visa Card, Visa Electron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kolonna Hotel Cesis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolonna Hotel Cesis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.