We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Place to Stay in Tartu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel London to your Saves list
Hotel London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruutli 9, Tartu 51007, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Adequate Place to Stay in Tartu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was spacious, but a little tired looking. Typical of Estonia hotels, the room included breakfast at the hotel's designated area. The breakfast was below average, with very basic items offered to guests, nothing noteworthy such as fresh fruit, but this is Tartu and it might be the best place to stay in Tartu.

There is a parking lot across the street for Hotel guests to use, which was very convenient, since we had a rental car this trip.

Overall, the hotel's location is very central to Tartu, so the location was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
25
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice hotel for a short business trip. Lovely breakfast. Clean.
Nice rooms and bathroom.
Close to centre, pubs and restaurants.
Good and free WIFI.
Only few minutes away from bus connection to Tallinn.

Room Tip: Not road side in summertime. Noisy because of pubs nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A really good spot. Good breakfast and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was very clean and fresh hotel in a perfect location with all the cafes, restaurants and bars just next to it. Because of warm and sunny weather during the summer time, our room was quite warm. We kept the windows open quite often, but due to the good location with everything just next to the hotel, this meant that the sleep quality wasn't perfect. I think there was also a fan in the room.

I would recommend the hotel to others and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The street side was a bit noisy and warm during the summer (no traffic, just people). Nothing too ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
288 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice old hotel in the old part of town with the pedestrian only streets with restaurants and café’s close by. Friendly reception by staff, they speak good English.

Nice, clean room with large bathroom. The TV was OK but I was a bit surprised by the limited number of channels among which were some foreign channels. (CNN, Euronews) A hotel of this class and price tag should be able to supply a range of channels. Free WiFi internet worked in my room but was dead slow with around 120kB/s download speed.

For some reason my room was very warm without any heating on. Maybe it was next to some main central heating duct. A ventilator on the desk was probably a hint to the warm room. So if you see one ask for another room.

Opposite the hotel is a pub and they started the music around 11:00 PM. Not very loud as there were few people around (see below) but loud enough for me to be forced to close the double windows. It's probably better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was nice with a good selection of tasty food. I was at breakfast with a large group from Germany but staff was very good with refills so there never were empty plates. Very good.

When I was there, on the midsummers weekend, the town was a ghost town with all but a few restaurants and pubs closed. It was explained to me that this was because all the locals had left for their summer houses. If you want to see some life in the town you better avoid to be there on these days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid the noise from the pub opposite the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed one night and Got very nice room with two ceiling windows. Very nice room and colors. Everything worked well. Breakfast could have been better with some of the items missing i.e. no boiled egss.

Hotel has nice style and friendly service. Would come again when visiting Tartu.

Room Tip: 4th floor has at least one nice room close to elevator that has two ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The London Hotel has an excellent location in Tartu. You could find everything you need close by. The service was good, the hotel lobby very cool and well designed.

The rooms were nothing special, but props for the clean and big bathroom. Breakfast was not included in the room price and I think it was bit a small / lacking for the price it was.

I would recommend London Hotel to Tartu travellers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.0 mi away
Antonius Hotel
Antonius Hotel
#1 of 19 in Tartu
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#3 of 19 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorpat Hotell
Dorpat Hotell
#4 of 19 in Tartu
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotell Pallas
Hotell Pallas
#5 of 19 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Draakon
Hotel Draakon
#8 of 19 in Tartu
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tampere Maja
Tampere Maja
#2 of 19 in Tartu
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel London

Address: Ruutli 9, Tartu 51007, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel London is a four-star hotel, which is oriented towards guests who appreciate quality,privacy and a personal approach. The hotel includes 60 rooms: 49 standard rooms, 8 double deluxe rooms and 3 suites. The rooms situated on 4 floors with the view to the old town or to a quiet courtyard. In hotel London there are rooms for quests with disability and allergies. Hotel London is situated in the very heart of the old town allowing you to reach Your desired destination less than 15 minutes. New and modern restaurant-lounge Polpo at the hotel London invites you to pleasure paradise with Estonian traditions and Southern European temperament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.