We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added London Hotel to your Saves list
London Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruutli 9, Tartu, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

When I told the driver of the Tartu airport shuttle bus that I needed the London Hotel, he said 'ah, good, you'll like it - it's the best hotel in Tartu', which was a promising start. I was dropped off right outside the hotel, which is right in the center of town. The streets were beautifully decorated with Christmas lights and the Lobby was nicey decorated and inviting. The staff at check-in were among the most genuinely welcoming I have experienced anywhere. My room was the deluxe double, which proved to be large and clean, if a little lacking in 'luxury' or character. But everything worked, the bed was comfortable and there was free wifi, which is good enough for me.

If you like a full English breakfast, you might be somewhat disappointed here, as the hot food is limited to eggs, porridge, frankfurters and bacon. But there is a good selection of sliced meats and cheeses, fish, bread, pastries, fruit and cereals, which means you certainly won't go hungry.

Overall, a good hotel in an excellent location with very friendly staff. I would certainly be happy to stay here next time I'm in Tartu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
19
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed here for one two nights while attending a conference at the University. A moderate walk from the bus station. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming on arrival. Free wireless without password (and this seems to be typical in Estonia). Nice reception area. My room was on the top floor - no real view because only a Velux window. Facilities and decor not ultra modern but quite acceptable. A few awkward corners in the room. Breakfast downstairs was in a very nice restaurant and there was an excellent selection. We also had a lunch here which was fine.

All in all a great stay - I can't comment on the price because I did not pay for the room. But I would recommend the place if you are ever lucky enough to be visiting the fabulous town of Tartu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Polska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A simple, nice hotel in the very city centre of Tartu. Clean and big rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have found a very friendly Staff of this Hotel. The best time to come to
Tartu is definately winter when even being eastern Europe, I have found the snow
in the evening lights very beatifull. Winters are cold in Tartu, but in this hotel temperature
is warm. All important places of Tartu are very close to the Hotel.
A shuttle Bus service runs from and to the Airport which is very convenient.

Room Tip: Any selection can be considered as a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel does not resemble the pictures in the hotels own website, but the location is excellent, breakfast very good, the rooms are clean and functional and the hotel has its own free parking area beside the hotel in the very centre of Tartu.

Last time we stayed in hotel Dorpat but will choose London also next time because of the location. (both are equally ok when traveling with dogs.)

The staff was very nice and took great effort in helping us with a incident with our car (the open area beside the hotel was being closed and our car was going to be jammed behind the barricades. The car was saved and we were able to park safely in their own parking area.)

Pets are allowed, but there is a 15 € extra cost per night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed couple of days for business in Tartu. This place was both close to university and in the center of old town. Personnel was very friendly, breakfast was very good. Rooms are ij, nothing very special in them, but as I needed to work there, it was fine for that. Wireless access, refrigerator, good table and chair are what I need and that's what they had.
Unless you are looking for upscale, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights for business. The meeting was arranged at the hotel and it worked very well. Was given a smoking room first night and had to sleep there because the hotel was fully booked. Received a non-smoking room for the last night, which was ok. Food was good/acceptable and the personal was very friendly. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Hotel

Address: Ruutli 9, Tartu, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel London is a four-star hotel, which is oriented towards guests who appreciate quality,privacy and a personal approach. The hotel includes 60 rooms: 49 standard rooms, 8 double de luxe rooms and 3 suites. The rooms situated on 4 floors with the view to the old town or to a quiet courtyard. In hotel London, there are both smoking and non-smoking rooms,as well as rooms for quests with disability and allergies. Hotel London is situated in the very heart of the old town allowing You to reach Your desired destination less than 15 minutes.New and modern restauran-lounge Polpo at the hotel London invates You to pleasure paradise with Estonian traditions and Southern European temperament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.